Tydd St Giles Golf & Country Club

Tydd St Giles Golf & Country Club, Wisbech: Address, Phone Number, Tydd St Giles Golf & Country Club Reviews: 4/5

Tydd St Giles Golf & Country Club

Tydd St Giles Golf & Country Club
4
Write a review
About
Enjoy a different lifestyle in our beautiful country estate set in the heart of the stunning Cambridgeshire Fens. Nestled on the Lincolnshire & Cambridgeshire borders just 15 minutes from Kings Lynn and the gateway to North Norfolk, Tydd St Giles Golf & Country Club is also near to Spalding and Peterborough. On offer is an exclusive community of luxury holiday homes that has been created around a stunning 18 hole, par 70 golf course with serene fishing lake which is available all year round. Our brand new £2m leisure complex includes an indoor heated swimming pool, gymnasium, sauna, steam room and fitness suite. Our leisure and fitness centre will help you unwind or burn off any excess energy.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Popular mentions

4.0
121 reviews
Excellent
65
Very good
27
Average
12
Poor
9
Terrible
8

lucymayhooker
Felixstowe, UK36 contributions
Apr 2022 • Family
So the resort was lovely BUT it isn’t for children there is no play area plus this place is in the middle of nowhere. We managed to have a good time but it is for adults, even the site is full of older people. If you like golf, fishing and a relax this is your place. Also get all your food and drink in as there isn’t a shop for miles or onsite for a pint of milk. Like someone else said facilities are lovely and clean.
Written 27 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, thank you for your review. We have passed your feedback onto our the park team. Kind Regards.
Written 6 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ali W
6 contributions
Apr 2022
Staying here for a family holiday was so impressed with the pool, sauna and steam room.
Superbly clean and staff so friendly and helpful.
Written 19 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, thank you for your review. We are delighted you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay at Tydd St. Giles and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards.
Written 22 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jane W
Wisbech, UK19 contributions
Apr 2022 • Couples
Excellent Sunday carvery today - thank goodness they have a new chef at long last - the talented Martin Weed. Three choices of meat - beef, pork or gammon. My husband had the beef and he said it was really nice. The other choices looked good too. The yorkies were spot on as were the roasties! Nice choice of additional veg and stuffing balls. I'm vegetarian so Martin prepared a scrummy butternut squash tart which was great. Did ring ahead to let them know. Long may it continue 💜
Written 3 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday carvery, we are very proud to have Martin as our new chef and hope to see you again on park soon. Kind Regards.
Written 4 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

johnsonslincs
Barnard Castle, UK53 contributions
Feb 2022
Don’t give these people your email address. It’s nigh on impossible to get them to remove you from their database system.
Written 2 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, thank you for your review. Were sorry to hear that you think this, if you send your email over to marketing@pureleisuregroup.com, I will make sure it get's removed for you. Kind Regards.
Written 17 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Gary D
Manchester, England, United Kingdom43 contributions
Oct 2021 • Family
We booked a lodge via a private owner earlier in the year to celebrate both my wife's birthday and the October half term week on the assumption that our two young children could go swimming every day and I could play golf. When we arrived we were informed by the management that we should have pre-booked two weeks in advance due to their current restrictions on numbers in the pool. To say we were disappointed was an understatement especially as all the management could state was 'if you had booked through us direct we would have advised you and your private owner should have informed you' - well try telling two children under 8 that they can't go swimming. In the end we managed to get them into a swimming session on the Wednesday (5 days after arriving - and then found the chlorine was too much for our two). In fact we felt like second class citizens from the outset, especially when the management also stated that owners should not be letting out their golf membership to their guests - which from the 1st Nov they have changed their rules and all guests have to start paying the green fees. The golf course itself was good though I had to book very early tee times to avoid competitions and senior events - though arriving at my alloted tee time I then found 8 members waiting to tee off - obviously staggered tee times appear non existent.
The club house, although I imagine was once immaculate, certainly looks tired in places and requires cleaning. Spikes bar was a joke. A pint of cider and two lemonades for my daughter's came to £10.10p and I could not even enjoy the expensive drink due to the foul mouthed golfers in the bar who were oblivious to young children being present.
The venue is obviously catered for mature couples and not for families with young children. There is literally zero entertainment for kids under 10 and we basically had to keep visiting the local leisure centre in Wisbech for them to even swim.
All in all it was a huge disappointment and speaking to some private owners on site they have all stated that standards have dropped.
In summary, if you enjoy golf, want peace from children, enjoy over priced food and drink and love listening to RAF jets screeching across the skies from 7.30 am every day, then this is the place for you.
There is nothing for younger children to do in the area and you have to travel 30+ minutes in every direction to find any form of entertainment.
This is the first holiday where we actually cut the holiday short. It was just such a let down.
Written 29 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Good morning, we are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Tydd St Giles, and that the poor behaviour of other guests affected your experience. We continue to limit numbers in our pool for the health and wellbeing of our guests and team, and can only apologise that you were not made aware of these measures in advance.
Written 2 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

KASHMAC
York, UK196 contributions
Aug 2021
We stayed at 10 Augusta Sunset, one long weekend in August. Ourselves, our son & his girlfriend & their dog. The lodge/ caravan was clean, presentable & reasonably well equipped for our stay. We all slept well during our visit.
We stayed here because the men play golf and we like to go for walks with the dog. After walking around the outskirts of the site we realised that our lodges location was possibly one of the best available. We were by the lake at one of the widest parts, half way down from the tea on the golf course on the opposite side. So little chance of being hit by a stray golf ball while we were sitting on the deck ! We saw a few stray balls flying about when we were on the course !! We really enjoyed sitting out there or on the lower fishing deck area, just watching the fish & water fowl. We also had a hot tub which was well used during our time here.
The golf course was good value and it played well. They are both low handicap golfers & found the course quite testing. Unfortunately they didn’t realise until the second day that the golf fees were in with the price of the stay. They could have played a bit more. The only downside was the limited amount of trolleys available to hire, so they had to hire a buggy & found the round on the Saturday morning slow.
There isn’t a great deal in the immediate area to do, so a car is always needed.
Our son & girlfriend used the pool facilities on the Sunday & enjoyed the relaxation. We had a good time during our time here.
Written 22 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and you had a great time with family. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards.
Written 26 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jo L
2 contributions
Oct 2021 • Couples
Had a wonderful stay at Wentworth Dreams and the grounds and leisure facilities really are lovely but unfortunately Spikes bar let's the club down. After settling in my partner and I decided to go for a drink... on the patio area was a lot of broken glass and on entering the bar the girl serving had the company of 3 others drinking wine in the 'bar galley' which I assume to of been staff? This isn't my issue at all but anyone familiar with the golden oldie film of American werewolf in London and the Slaughtered Lamb pub will understand how uncomfortable it was that we strangers should enter the premises! The next day we decided that first impressions may not always be correct so we thought a nice meal in there could redeem our thoughts so I rang to book a table and enquire as to if they cater Gluten free and the lady took my number to get someone to call me back...yes, our stay is over and I'm still waiting on the call.
As I said a truly wonderful place to stay but maybe a little more training on hospitality and the very quiet pub could be thriving.
Written 19 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, thank you for your review. All staff will offer all owners, golfers or holiday maker the best welcome and service when entering and using our facilities, we however can only apologies that you feel this was not the case and have passed your feedback on to our Food & Beverage Manager. With regards to the broken glass, accidents do happen and once our team are informed they would ensure that this is cleaned up immediately. Kind Regards.
Written 26 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Derek K
1 contribution
Oct 2021 • Friends
The bar only does food limited hours and closes really early in the evening! Do not expect any kind of service after 8pm really poor service
Written 5 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, thank you for your review. We are sorry you feel that you weren't made aware of the opening times but these are on the website and in the welcome pack you receive on check in. Kind Regards,
Written 7 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

JamesLumley2013
London, UK117 contributions
Aug 2021 • Family
There are so many amazing places to stay in the U.K. and I strongly recommend going somewhere else. I would also be cautious when Hoseasons who we booked with and clarify exactly what you are booking. We were promised a hot tub, lakeside views and local facilities including swimming pool with top end platinum accommodation. We booked with Hoseasons.  This was a relatively expensive holiday.  What we got was a clean, relatively new lodge with occasional patched up paint work, overlooked on all sides, no views, no hot tub, no access to the swimming pool, no towels or soap and a location that lacks access to anything useful without a long drive.  More like a 3 star than 5 if I’m kind. We phoned Hoseasons to complain which I’ve never done before. To their credit they refunded us a small amount as a discount voucher on our next booking with them. Apparently some Platinum level lodges have hot tubs and others don’t but this was not made clear at booking.  The site owners (golf and country club) said they’d told Hoseasons the swimming pool must be booked two weeks in advance but Hoseasons never passed that message on to us and we couldn’t use it.  The photos are very misleading, please look at mine and realise there are no lakeside views. In fact I’ve not yet seen the lake.  For a platinum lodge there’s also a lot missing such as towels, soap and any kind of welcome pack. That’s ignoring the neglected patio furniture and patched up paint in one bedroom. After complaints the staff at the golf and country club took pity and found some towels for us or we’d be off to buy some before a shower.  That would be a long drive as there’s very little in the local area to help. On the plus side the tiny TV works although I have to squint and WiFi is good.  Sadly the whole idea of getting the teenagers off their phones into the hot tub or swimming has failed to help this feel like any kind of holiday. And the TV is so small a family movie will be a struggle.  So I’ll have to join them on the WiFi and write this review. Good points -  There are some beautiful walks along the coast if you can drive there. But honestly I’d avoid this place a find someone closer to anything else. The Norfolk coast is a good start. This site is mis sold and there are simply so many better places to stay.  Please don’t book unless you want to play Golf all weekend.
Written 22 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, thank you for your review. We have passed your feedback to our management team. Kind Regards.
Written 7 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Hollie
2 contributions
Aug 2021 • Family
Lodge was lovely, spacious and clean and the views were pretty. However I would not recommend as a family holiday. Came here with family and my 6 year old and there is absolutely nothing to do on site, everyday we were travelling 30+ mins to find something to do. There was not even a little shop on site or near by so when we ran out of milk had to drive 20 minutes to get some!
Swimming had to be pre booked which I understand due to covid however there are a limit of 6 children in the pool although whenever we went there was maximum 3 children and we were told it was constantly fully booked! The pool was also not suitable for children as it was all one depth so the children that aren’t strong swimmers couldn’t really go very far. The changing rooms were tiny and no privacy, anyone could walk in while you are getting changed as there were no private cubicles.
Took my 6 year old to the pond behind the restaurant and bar to see the fishes only to get shouted at and told to leave as it is ‘private property’ although there were no signs claiming it was private property and thought considering we were paying to stay on site we would be able to go to the pond? There were signs around the site saying no ball games so my 6 year old wasn’t allowed to play with his ball.
Restaurant and food was nice but we were the only people there, bar not very welcoming.
Felt like we were a nuisance to staff as had eyes rolled when asking if we could book swimming with a child, felt very much like they only care about their residents and not the holiday goers.
Written 29 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment during your recent stay. Tydd St. Giles is a Golf & Country Club and we do accept families to stay at the park we don't advertise that there is many activities for children on park. We have passed your feedback onto our park management team regarding the swimming pool changing rooms. Kind Regards.
Written 1 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 120
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tydd St Giles Golf & Country Club



Attractions near Tydd St Giles Golf & Country Club: View all attractions near Tydd St Giles Golf & Country Club on Tripadvisor