We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lakeland Wildlife Oasis

Features Animals
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Better than expected

It's taken me a little while to write this, the Red Squirrel attraction was opening later in the... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Stephen D
Small but good

The staff here were lovely & enthusiastic right from the get go. Kids (& adults) particularly... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Nuttynana
via mobile
Read all 337 reviews
293
All photos (293)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good29%
  • Average10%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“snow leopard”(37 reviews)
“fruit bats”(15 reviews)
“red squirrels”(13 reviews)
About
Established for over 25 years, the Lakeland Wildlife Oasis hosts an incredible collection of insects, fish, amphibians, reptiles, birds and mammals. Perfect for families, the zoo is an all-weather attraction combining lush tropical halls and outdoor...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Hale, Milnthorpe LA7 7FE, England
Website
+44 15395 63027
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
164
98
36
22
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
164
98
36
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnow leopardfruit batsred squirrelsbeautiful snowthe main attractionunusual animalscouple of hoursgift shoplovely little placeoutdoor exhibitsfew hourstoastiesbig zookeeper experiencelemur enclosureleaf cutter antsstaff were friendly
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited here en-route to The Lake District. From the car park it looks very small so we were pleasantly surprised by the size of it - it is a lot bigger than you think. All the animals are very well looked after and the...More

Thank SJL75
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's taken me a little while to write this, the Red Squirrel attraction was opening later in the day and I think it was in March. Even though the two 'children' who we took were perhaps a bit old for a zoo we had a...More

1  Thank Stephen D
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thankyou for your review - we are continually improving and developing the zoo site for the benefit of our animals and visitors! We are happy to see this is being noticed.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The staff here were lovely & enthusiastic right from the get go. Kids (& adults) particularly enjoyed watching the leaf cutter ants & their nest. It is only a relatively small place but very interesting & does have links with Chester Zoo.

1  Thank Nuttynana
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thankyou for your kind review. I will ensure this is passed on to our team.

Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

When we pulled on to the car park we thought this looked small and we would only be half an hour - we were wrong, we spent 3 hours here. It is really organised and a good flow to the attraction, there are some hands...More

Thank Walkers31
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us - I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the staff and volunteer team here at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis.

Reviewed 27 May 2018

Being greeted by very friendly staff was just the start of a very pleasent experiance at this little oasis. Then walking around and seeing how well cared for all the animals were made it an even better experiance. I am not usually a fan of...More

Thank elainesteedman
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're really pleased to hear you had such a good experience with us. We are always looking at ways of improving our animal enclosures and developing naturalistic set ups is one we do it....More

Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

We were bought this experience for Christmas and made a week of it as it was a long way to go from south coast. We went to Whipsnade Zoo the day before which was hands down the best big zoo I've ever been to. However...More

Thank WillySkins
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Its great to hear you enjoyed our snow leopard and fossa feeding experience so much and I will ensure that Jo is shown your positive comments. We are a small but diverse collection and...More

Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

We recently went to enjoy the wildlife oasis but to no avail! We got turned away at 3.52! Even though it states open till 5pm, the receptionist was very rude when i asked why it was open to 5pm then,i think the staff here were...More

Thank tat01
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm really sorry to hear you were turned away before our last entry time of 4pm. If you could please contact us directly on our email address I will investigate why this situation happened....More

Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

From the outside there doesn’t look much to this place, however inside there’s all what’s needed to entertain the family for 90 minutes to 2 hours. The attention is the snow leopards, they are amazing and have been seen on every visit (4xs) Nice little...More

Thank ianmccabe143
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're pleased to hear you keep returning to us and appreciate our snow leopards, we love the so much they're on our logo. We will looking forward to seeing you again and keep your...More

Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

My wife and I were booked in to feed snow leopards here as a gift. When we arrived in the car park we were a bit hesitant but that was completely unjustified. We had a couple of hours before our experience started and had a...More

1  Thank xBobcatx
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Its great you not only enjoyed your snow leopard feeding experience with us but also the zoo as a whole. I will ensure that your positive feedback is shown to Jack.

Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

Spent a good couple of hours here this afternoon . Although a small place we found there was plenty to see . Quite a wide variety of animals and the path around the outside enclosures was well set out to give you a full view...More

Thank BRYAN A
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Despite being a small zoo we have nearly 100 species to see so we're glad you appreciated seeing them all. We'll hopefully look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
chrisflhall
10 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from manxmanpaul | Reviewed this property |
What did the staff say when you enquired about them?
1
Vote
Beryl R
5 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from manxmanpaul | Reviewed this property |
It's open & well worth a visit
0
Votes
sezzlepops
18 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from haylo83 | Reviewed this property |
I did this last year... You visit all the animals (except the big cats). Tell him to be prepared to be covered in monkeys and lemurs! It Includes insects and reptiles too. It's a fantastic day. Hope this helps!
0
Votes