Wymondham Heritage Museum

Wymondham Heritage Museum: Hours, Address, Wymondham Heritage Museum Reviews: 4.5/5

Wymondham Heritage Museum
4.5
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Monday
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Friday
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Sunday
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM
About
Wymondham Heritage Museum tells the story of Wymondham, the daily lives of its inhabitants, the town's heroes and villains and great events from its past. Situated in the Bridewell which, has served as a prison, police station and courthouse, it is full of history that can be enjoyed by all the family. Explore Wymondham's colourful history and learn about its people from Prehistoric times, the Iron Age, the Romans and Saxons to Wymondham's beautiful medieval Abbey. Learn about the Bridewell from its beginning in 1785 as a 'model prison' and see what life would have been like for a prisoner in the recreated dungeon. Follow the story of Robert Kett, leader of Tudor England's most inspiring rebellion. Find out about Wymondham's Great Fire of 1615 and how a new Market Cross was built. Learn about farming and shopping before mechanisation and supermarkets and visit a recreated Wymondham 1930s grocery and general store. Hear the story of Wymondham's brush industry and operate a working brush-making machine. There are also displays on Victorian Wymondham and the two World Wars, DVD films and sound presentations and a variety of things for young visitors to do. Open March to October Mon-Sat 10am - 4pm Run entirely by volunteers who will be pleased to welcome you. No trip to Wymondham is complete without a visit to this remarkable museum.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

4.5
34 reviews
Excellent
20
Very good
12
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Thank you for such an interesting visit
Oct 2019
This was our second visit this year, and it was just as interesting as the first! So much to see, you can't take it all in in one go. In fact we'll probably visit again next time we stay in Wymondham. What a fascinating history the building (and the town) has - and it has all been depicted and laid out very well. I am a glutton for leaflets and came away with a whole handful, and a dinosaur keyring for the little boy where we were staying, which he was delighted with - so something for everyone! We found the little grocers shop particularly interesting, as we remember so many of the makes and items, and also the vast collection of irons and other electrical appliances. One of the best town museums we have been to. Thank you again.
Written 16 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of our museum and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. It is especially encouraging to hear that you are a repeat visitor and have found something new to interest you each visit. Over the winter, we are planning to redevelop our grocer shop display to make it more relevant to specific shops within the town rather than just a general display. So, if you do visit the town again in the future we hope that you will come and see us again.
Written 21 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

David H
Norwich, UK388 contributions
A history of Wymondham shown with good exhibits
Sep 2019
The story of Wymondhams most well known character Robert Kett is told here by both an exhibition on the wall and by a virtual reality experience.There is a good insight into the buildings past history.with a cell to retain prisoners awaiting trial and a dungeon!.There are other exhibits telling storys of Wymondhams part in the war and a good exhibit of it's brush making past.The staff were nice and there is a cafe.
Written 22 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our museum and we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Our museum is entirely run by volunteers and it is always encouraging to receive such positive feedback.
Written 26 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Karen H
3 contributions
Fun for all ages
Aug 2019
We spent several hours working out the Big Bridewell Trail and all of us learnt something new that day. Don’t forget to visit the tea rooms for some lovely refreshments. All the Staff were extremely helpful and gave us a warm welcome. The youngest in our group was 10 years old and he dropped a penny down the well and made a wish. The eldest was 68 and was in her element upon seeing the old fashioned switchboard.
Written 21 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
We are so pleased that your family enjoyed their visit to our museum and tea room and many thanks for taking the time to post such a great review. As we are all volunteers, it is always encouraging to receive positive feedback and we hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Written 26 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

EasternWarbler
Norfolk, UK2 contributions
Interesting Town Museum
Aug 2019
On entering, the staff were fantastically friendly and engaging. They are superb with children. There is plenty to see. Wymondham has a varied and exciting history. The brush filling machine is fun to operate. The current installation of the Kett's Rebellion Virtual Reality headsets really bring the rebellion to life: It is great to see how Bishop Bridge looked in 1549.
Written 5 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a great review of our museum and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Our museum is run entirely by volunteers so it really encouraging for us to receive such positive feedback.
Written 7 August 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lindylou129
Stafford, UK51 contributions
Prison life explained and why there are so many ponds near farm buildings?
Jun 2019 • Couples
Found this museum on a wet day and we were glad that we did. Only cost £3 for the older generation but well worth the money. A trip to the dungeons gave us something to think about but also who would have thought the manufacture of brushes could be so interesting. The story of the Kett rebellion was something we had never heard of and the brick made of straw and clay gave me the answer as to why there are so many ponds around farm buildings, you must visit the museum to find out! Well recommended.
Written 12 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a great review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. The museum is run entirely by volunteers and it is very encouraging to receive such positive feedback. Each year we change some of our displays to tell a different story about of town so we hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Written 14 June 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

anna h
Thetford, UK265 contributions
Killing time
Jun 2019 • Friends
This is the first time I've been to the town & the museum had been open

As it was only an hour before closing we got in for a reduced rate.

The tea shop wasn't opened. We could have done with a hot cuppa as it was a cold rainy day.

A lovely little museum, with some interesting local history.
Although from the outside I was expecting more than the ground floor & the basement. I thought they'd be a second floor

Written 11 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. However, we are sorry that the tea room was closed when you visited. The museum is entirely run by volunteers and, because we have trouble attracting enough people to help, we have to limit the tea room opening times to Monday to Friday from 10:30 until 15:30 and there are times when, because of a shortage of staff, we are not able to open the tea room at all.
Written 14 June 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Piglet47
Abingdon, UK270 contributions
An interesting and enjoyable visit
Apr 2019 • Couples
An amazing amount is on display in this small museum. The local history will be of particular interest to those who are fans of C J Sansom’s novel “Tombland”.
The time lines showing the history of the town and the Kett rebellion are well presented and artefacts from the town’s past, including the brush factory, are very interesting.
Staff are friendly and approachable, ready to answer any questions, and there is a pleasant coffee shop on site.
Written 4 April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. All of our team are volunteers and it is very encouraging when we receive great feedback.
Written 8 May 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

samkenny44
Perth, UK95 contributions
Unusual Venue
Sep 2018 • Friends
Passing the time in this town ( awaiting one of our colleagues who had a meeting ) we happened upon this unusual venue. On entering, we received a warm welcome from the two people behind the registration desk; that is till we tried to pay the admission fees with some Scottish bank notes ( we had travelled south from Perthshire ). No highlighting the fact that the Bank of England was originally founded by a Scotsman changed the mind of the two receptionists ( now smiling with their mouths and not their eyes ) and so we reluctantly paid for four with a bank card. The museum ( ? ) itself was very basic and showed Wymondham in all it's glory through a proliferation of different brushes ( it, I believe, was famous for Brushes... Basil please note ) leading on to an extensive collage of photocopied history of the town spanning at least fifty years. Finished and out of the ' museum' in 20 minutes. Toyed with the idea of asking for our money back ( thinks) " Can we have that back in English pounds, please ?" ( I think not )
Written 22 September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for posting a review and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to our museum when we pride ourselves for, in most cases, receiving positive feedback. The museum is run entirely by volunteers and our only source of income is from visitors so it is important that we provide an informative and worthwhile experience. In this case we seem to have failed to meet your expectations and I would like to address your concerns. You are correct that we should accept Scottish currency, our stewards should be aware of this and this will be addressed so that there is no confusion in future. Apologies for this. We are surprised that you say that you paid using a bank card because we do not provide the option of card payments due to the prohibitive transaction costs. It's disappointing that you only spent 20 minutes viewing our displays as most visitors tend to spend well over an hour. Perhaps you missed the history of the building as a former prison prominently displayed in our reception area, our new display this year telling how Wymondham women supported the war effort in WW1, the display telling the story of Kett's Rebellion and, in the main gallery, the displays telling the story of our town from the Iron Age until the present day. Most of these displays have been produced by companies used by many National Heritage establishments to ensure a professional finish. Unfortunately many displays include textual descriptions which is vitally important to read to fully understand the story. You did view our brush making display but somehow did not pick up that it is not just a collection of brushes but the story of a major industry in the town from its beginning as a centre for wood turning to its height with two major companies operating in the town involving a large proportion of Wymondham townsfolk. If you are ever likely to be near Wymondham in the future please let us know and we would be pleased to provide a volunteer to show and explain to you the real story of Wymondham's past.
Written 8 October 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

John B
458 contributions
Full of interesting facts
Aug 2018 • Solo
From J Boy of Derby
Very interesting museum full of local information with a whole room dedicated to the making of brushes for which this area is famous.
You can visit the cells where prisoners were kept in horrendous conditions, and the dreaded remand cell where the sentences were announced.
Another area covers the vital work given by local people in the World wars. This was interesting but I thought this was more of an interest to local people rather than visitors(due to not knowing any of the names involved.)
Very friendly and helpful staff and very nice tea rooms lovely tea and scones served by a very friendly couple.
A good way to spend a few hours.
Written 2 August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. As the museum is run entirely by volunteers, it is very encouraging for us to receive such great feedback. If you visit Wymondham again, we hope that you will pop in and see us again.
Written 5 August 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Claire S
3 contributions
Disappointed
Aug 2017 • Family
We visited Wymondham to meet up with family on our way to Norwich and saw the sign for a tearoom outside so decided to combine the museum with a drink and something to eat with three hungry children and four adults.
When we told the lady on the desk we were going to the tearoom she told us to go through but, when we got there, it was closed and had been all day. Not a problem, we decided to look round the museum instead. At this point the lady appeared and told us if we wanted to look round she would be charging us! The fact is we would have paid on the way out but she was quite rude about the fact we had to pay first (returning back to the entrance) so we decided to leave - in fact we were escorted our, presumably in case we tried to look at anything.
Such a shame as the museum looked excellent bit we were put off returning after lunch by the fact we clearly weren't welcome.
A little customer service goes a long way.
Written 15 August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review but we are very sorry that your visit was spoilt and that you felt that you were not welcome. Our museum has been open for over 20 years and, to my knowledge, this is the first time we have had this kind of complaint. Normally our stewards are rated highly for their friendliness and knowledge so it is very disappointing to hear that you had such a bad experience. As I do not know the date and time of your visit, I can only comment in general about the issues that you have highlighted. Our museum and tearoom are manned by volunteers and, unfortunately, there are times when we do not have enough staff to operate the tearoom. Our museum stewards should always be aware when the tearoom is unmanned so this should have been brought to your attention at the start of your visit. However, we are currently hosting an art exhibition in the tearoom which is free to view so it is possible the steward thought you had come in to see that and that is where the misunderstanding arose. The museum is entirely dependent upon admission charges to cover the running costs, we receive no other funding. If visitors to the tearoom would like to view the museum, it is expected that the entrance fee is paid to ensure that the museum can continue to operate. The only till for museum admissions is in the reception area so it would be expected for one of your party to return to pay but it seems that, in this case, our steward may have been a bit over-zealous when requesting payment. We can only apologise that your visit was spoilt and we take the comments about your experience very seriously so we will follow them up to ensure that any shortcomings are addressed. It would help us if you could contact the museum to let us know the date and time of your visit, you can do this by visiting our web site and selecting the Contact Us link.
Written 18 August 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 34
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Wymondham Heritage Museum

Wymondham Heritage Museum is open:
  • Sun - Sat 13:00 - 16:00


Restaurants near Wymondham Heritage Museum: View all restaurants near Wymondham Heritage Museum on Tripadvisor