We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Onley

Closed Now: 10:00 - 22:00
Open today: 10:00 - 22:00
Review Highlights
Village gem

Found The Onley by chance on Booking.com whilst searching for somewhere different to go for a night... read more

Reviewed 27 November 2018
CaptainFredTours
,
Colchester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Lovely pub in a undeserving Village

Everything about The Onley is amazing! The food is so tasty and good portions. There is an amazing... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
bigeateryum85
via mobile
Read all 156 reviews
45
All photos (45)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good17%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(12 reviews)
“sunday lunch”(9 reviews)
“three courses”(4 reviews)
About
The Onley is nestled in the idyllic village of Stisted, Essex. Located on the site of The Black Lion, which burnt down in the early part of the 19th century, before being rebuilt as The Onley Arms by Mr Onley. Re-Opened June 2016 after an extensive...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 - 22:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
The Street | Stisted, Braintree CM77 8AW, England
Website
+44 1376 325325
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
75
27
26
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
75
27
26
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub sunday lunch three courses beef sea bass cask ales food was fantastic last night potatoes lovely meal lovely decor cheesecake large booking tzatziki wine list visited with friends evening meal
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff are great - food ok - prices expensive - no parking - management nowhere to be seen even sending a waitress to cope with a complaint rather than deal with it herself. Have visited often and what is missing is the meet and greet...More

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank lhughessmith
Onleystisted, Manager at The Onley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I thank you for your review. I would simply like to point a few key facts that unfortunately you haven’t been party to within our business that are very relevant to some points mentioned: 1. “Staff are great, however they also ignore you!! Staff changed...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Everything about The Onley is amazing! The food is so tasty and good portions. There is an amazing choice of drinks. The staff are friendly, helpful and always smiling. The decor is superb you get the modern vibe with great music. It's just a shame...More

Date of experience: December 2018
3  Thank bigeateryum85
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What an incredible place, beautifully refurbished, Lovely decor, Great food I don’t think I’ve ever had a bad meal. Helpful staff nothing is too much, great wine list, gin menu and delicous beers on draft. Just a shame people who have probably never been to...More

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank Likestotravel1205
Onleystisted, Owner at The Onley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are pleased that you loved our pub!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Village is nice. But you have to pay separately for your veg with your steak. The owner is a total knob... He drives a Range Rover with "BO55" as the numberplate... Need I say more?

Date of experience: December 2018
12  Thank TronkeypX275YS
Onleystisted, Owner at The Onley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Clearly your not a pub lover, may I suggest McDonald’s your find it on Galleys Corner, Braintree. That’s as long as your Moped can make it that far !!!

Reviewed 15 December 2018

had an amazing time at the Onley, it is definitely a hidden gem. Shame to hear it is closing down as I would visit time and time again Would recommend going before it closes!

Date of experience: December 2018
3  Thank jessiewoodrow
Reviewed 15 December 2018

I recently visited on Saturday 14th December for a work Christmas party. The food was amazing considering how many people were there. Singer was also fantastic. There was such a good atmosphere all night. Shocked to hear that the pub is closing, it is such...More

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank Jamiesmithy081
Reviewed 14 December 2018 via mobile

Had a wonderful evening at The Onley tonight. Fabulous food and entertainment for our works Christmas do. We all had a great time. Thank you so much. Keep up the good work guys. Merry Christmas.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank Kelly T
Reviewed 14 December 2018 via mobile

Fabulous place. Fabulous food. Fabulous drinks. Fabulous staff. What more can be said in the little village of Stisted a hidden gem.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank kazzahaken33
Reviewed 12 December 2018

Stayed on a Sunday as had a wedding in nearby Gosfield Hall. No reception and had to go to the bar for help which wasn’t good. The room was very nice and comfortable, we were alone in the whole place and when we left for...More

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank Minihexi
Reviewed 27 November 2018 via mobile

Found The Onley by chance on Booking.com whilst searching for somewhere different to go for a night away that wasn’t too far from home. We were not disappointed. The bar area is fab, new, modern with an industrial/loft style that really works. Sometimes that kind...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank CaptainFredTours
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 nearby hotels
Premier Inn Braintree (A120) Hotel
520 reviews
2.14 miles away
Premier Inn Hotel Braintree Freeport Village
552 reviews
2.25 miles away
White Hart Hotel
493 reviews
2.84 miles away
Essex Golf & Country Club
368 reviews
3.25 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 146 nearby restaurants
The Dolphin
494 reviews
.95 miles away
Fowlers Farm
732 reviews
2.23 miles away
Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant
119 reviews
2.28 miles away
Greenstead Green Barn Cafe
85 reviews
2.25 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 38 nearby attractions
Gosfield Shopping Village
70 reviews
2.47 miles away
Braintree & Bocking Public Gardens
83 reviews
2.29 miles away
Gosfield Gallery
8 reviews
2.39 miles away
Coggeshall Clock House and Clock Tower
21 reviews
3.37 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ann B
10 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from andrewfU264ME | Reviewed this property |
We had a taste card so it was half price, but if it helps we had a three course meal and it came to about £25 for two of us . Very good value .
1
Vote
jennisamson44
8 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Lynn E | Property representative |
Yes food is served until 9pm the Sunday roast finishes at 6pm and thereafter the choice up until 9pm is from the full menu. We really look forward to welcoming you tomorrow if you are able to make it and once again I am... More
0
Votes