We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Poor Farmers Market

We had friends visiting from Scotland, and we were very excited at the prospect of visiting the... read more

Reviewed 8 October 2018
normaj506
Some Lovely Long Walks

The house is interesting, whilst not overly large. However, the estate itself, has some lovely long... read more

Reviewed 27 August 2018
revdmike
,
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Read all 261 reviews
61
All photos (61)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good25%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“wedding venue”(11 reviews)
“heavy horses”(4 reviews)
About
Hylands Estate is a prestigious grade II* listed public park encompassing 574 acres of historic parkland. The beautifully renovated Neo-Classical elegant villa Hylands House can be hired for any occasion including Weddings, Celebrations and Business...more
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
London Road, Chelmsford CM2 8WQ, England
Website
+44 1245 605500
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
138
67
28
10
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
138
67
28
10
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedding venue national flower heavy horses stable yard grade listed building beautiful house second hand bookshop farmers market stables cafe coffee shop lovely grounds dog walk for sale free entry great park cakes play area
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I took my toddler to Hylands Estate. The gardens are beautiful and the park was great. We enjoyed feeding the ducks while the sun shined. Unfortunately the cafe was poor. Slow service and once I did get served at 11.35am I was told they don’t...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Sazzle198428
MichelleM9396, Manager at Hylands Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review. Really pleased you enjoyed the park and gardens. I will pass your feedback regards to the cafe to Churchills catering.

Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

Grade 2 listed building so should be around for many years to come. To do that we need to see it and pay our fee. Weddings shows, exhibitions, markets and fairs. Staff are friendly and welcoming and knowledgeable. Coffee bar is really good very good...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank A3303XQpaulh
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

The service is so slow! The staff are asleep. No trays and the worst cup of tea ever made. This used to be a brilliant cafe in the stables.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Stephen P
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We had friends visiting from Scotland, and we were very excited at the prospect of visiting the farmers market - a complete waste of time!! There were about a dozen stalls, all selling nice products, but not worth a 30 minute journey to get there...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank normaj506
MichelleM9396, Manager at Hylands Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Many thanks for your review. Our Farmers & Crafts Market grows each month, we were unfortunately let down by three traders at the last minute but we usually have around 10 to 18 stalls. On Sunday Hylands House was open for free to the public,...More

Reviewed 19 September 2018

I attended my friend's wedding at hylands house a few weeks ago. The Dj couldn't perform well because the sound limiter threshold was set too low 90db. The guests couldn't hear the music. The power cuts off when the DJ raised the volume a little....More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Homeslopogas
MichelleM9396, Manager at Hylands Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Many thanks for your feedback. The sound limit at Hylands Estate has always been set at 90 decibels and it's never been an issue. 90 decibels is very loud! It's the bass that triggers the sound limiter hence why we always advise the DJ to...More

Reviewed 27 August 2018

The house is interesting, whilst not overly large. However, the estate itself, has some lovely long walks and the garden (again not huge) is improving every year, and is quite enjoyable. The courtyard area has a good cafe/restaurant and a few craft and gift outlets....More

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank revdmike
Michelle M, Manager at Hylands Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Many thanks for your lovely feedback.

Reviewed 10 August 2018

We spent a lovely sunny afternoon on the Hylands estate. This was our first time visit and certainly won't be our last. Beautiful well kept grounds, great for picnic. Beautiful house & gardens. A few stalls were selling homemade food & gifts. Well stocked pretty...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank SunnySlainey
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We visited on a day when the House was open. Decided to join a guided tour and were glad we did. Our guide Dianne was excellent - incredibly knowledgeable and all delivered with a cracking sense of humour. It was an incredibly hot day so...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank ldal1
Michelle M, Manager at Hylands Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Many thanks for your review. I'll pass your feedback on to Diane. We look forward to welcoming you back (after RiZe!).

Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

We had our wedding at Hylands House in July 2018. The team we worked with were amazing. We had seen many venues before and most of our interactions with other venues were mostly negative (I.e. rude staff, poor attitude of venue etc.) When it came...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank CeyAy
Michelle M, Manager at Hylands Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review. The Hylands Estate team work hard to ensure every wedding runs smoothly and exceeds your dreams. We really appreciate your kind words. Many thanks, Hylands Estate

Reviewed 25 July 2018

Called in after going in park. House had painters in so was shut. Nice stables with food and shops. Lake at bottom bit of a trek to get to it in the hot sun. Large grounds so make sure you plan where you are going...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank nikndel
Michelle M, Manager at Hylands Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback. Hylands House is open to the public for free on the first Sunday of the month (excluding December when it's open on Sunday 16th December). Each month there is an exhibition relating to the Estate and the Farmers' & Crafts...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 nearby hotels
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
445 reviews
1.68 miles away
The County Hotel
771 reviews
2.11 miles away
Chelmsford Serviced Apartments
68 reviews
2.13 miles away
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
676 reviews
2.15 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 430 nearby restaurants
Olio On The Green
212 reviews
1.32 miles away
Rose and Crown Pub
75 reviews
1.39 miles away
Robyn's Nest
7 reviews
1.37 miles away
Ingatestone Saddlery Cafe
45 reviews
1.41 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 101 nearby attractions
Hylands Park
551 reviews
.07 miles away
Natural Foundations
10 reviews
1.29 miles away
Grey & Son Wheatsheaf
16 reviews
1.42 miles away
Ceramics On The Hop
8 reviews
1.39 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
nifter1
15 August 2018|
Answer
Response from MichelleM9396 | Property representative |
Hi, the Writtle entrance off Greenbury Way is the closest entrance to the adventure castle playground. Please note it's closed until Tuesday 21st August due to the RiZe festival.
1
Vote
petal2728
28 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from MichelleM9396 | Property representative |
Hylands Estate has it’s own website, it’s easy to find!
0
Votes
Susan L
24 May 2016|
Answer
Response from MichelleM9396 | Property representative |
Yes, bikes on the paths are permitted. Enjoy!
0
Votes