Adventure Island
Adventure Island
4.5
About
Adventure Island Fun Park is the U.K's No.1 FREE ADMISSION Fun Park. Situated on Southend-on-Sea's famous seafront we have over 40 fabulous rides and attractions including the outrageous RAGE roller coaster! You don't pay to enter, you ride the rides with our great value all day ride bands, or visit everyday that we are open with our annual pass membership.
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
See what travellers are saying
  • Alex P
    Cambridge, United Kingdom3 contributions
    Would not recommend
    The park itself is OK, has some fun rides. However there was only one ticket office open so we had to go through the whole park to see a huge queue there... Try to explain to a 6yo ADHD boy why he can't have a ride. There are no signs or directions to the ticket office as well. You need to stay in a huge line just to know how much rides costs..
    Thank you for your review. We take on all customer feedback to help us improve for the future. Our members of staff are always happy to help, please ask for directions and any questions that you may have. Pricing and opening times are all advertised on Adventure Island website and updated daily across the social media pages. The admissions desks are located in three locations across the park, with two being open for Christmas Wonderland experience. We will pass your comments on to the management team, and hope to see you return in 2023.
    Written 27 December 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited December 2022
    Travelled with family
    Written 24 December 2022
  • Squirrel
    Benfleet, United Kingdom11 contributions
    Brilliant day out
    Amazing to have this on our doorstep. Always getting new rides and improvements. And kids simply love it. Pay and go rides and no need to travel to the big parks, great day out.
    Hi there, Thank you for getting in touch. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us. See you soon!
    Written 27 December 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2022
    Travelled with family
    Written 25 December 2022
  • Andi B
    2 contributions
    Disappointing Grotto
    We went for the winter wonderland/ Santa's Grotto and were very disappointed, although the decorations were good the Elves and Santa were terrible, no joy or enthusiasm. Santa doesn't give a present or even the token for the present and even though it is very expensive you aren't allowed to take photos and must purchase them if you choose, also the £5 game card applies to maybe 5 of their 50 games none of which are suitable for my son who is 2 so that was of no use to us. Overall it was a real disappointment.
    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your experience with us. We have passed on your feedback to the Management Team.
    Written 5 January 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited December 2022
    Written 30 December 2022
  • Sophie D
    2 contributions
    A fun place but wristbands might not be value for money.
    We enjoyed the park but it would have been cheaper if we had bought separate ride tickets rather than the wristband. The website doesn’t really make it sound like that might be a sensible choice but we only went on 6/7 rides and we would have needed to go on 9 or more to make the wristband worthwhile. My advice? Think about whether you need the wristband.
    Hi Sophie, Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear you didnt find value in our wristbands - for future reference we do sell half price wristbands from 5PM that you may find more value in for the remainder of your evening. I hope this helps and we see you again soon!
    Written 16 February 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited February 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 15 February 2023
  • Sue H
    United Kingdom11 contributions
    Great day
    Always a great day out. Grandkids love it. Such excellent value although the food is a tad pricey. Had our youngest with us, 18 months old. Disappointed the baby changing that I used was in the sink area, not pleasant for others waiting and no privacy for him! Also couldn't use the toilet myself as couldn't get the pushchair in with me. There may be other better facilities but I didn't find them.
    Hello, Thank you for your review - we are glad to hear you had a good day! We are sorry to hear you may have had a negative experience in the toilets, we currently have 3 sets of toilets open so we apologise if you weren't made aware of these. We do hope to see you again soon.
    Written 16 February 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited February 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 15 February 2023
  • Stephen E
    1 contribution
    Kids were Disappointed
    Phoned adventure Island to find out times of opening Saturday 4th March they said they close at 6pm & you can get half price wrist bands from 5pm which I find ridiculous!!! as I have 4 children all different ages so you couldn't possibly get any value of the half price ticket in an hour as it not as if they can all go on the same rides so that hour would run out very quickly I feel if they are closing early they should start half price wrist band a little earlier so at least you can spend sometime there & get a bit of value. during the summer month you get nearly 5 hours for half price so don't see how they can charge thevsame money for one hour don't get me wrong it is a great place & the kids love going there & half price wrist band are great value normally But not for an hour I will be amazed if anyone actually bought any tickets after 5pm hopefully they will review this in time
    Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you experienced a problem. Our half price wristband time is our permanent time regardless of what time we are closing that day. We still advertise it just to make people aware to give our visitors and customers the option if they do come later they can get a better value instead of being changed full price. This is also why we advertise our closing time the morning of the day to let our visitors decided on the day what they would prefer to do. So if we are closing earlier on one of our low season days it gives the freedom for you to choose. We do take our feedback very serious and we will pass this on to our Board of Directors. We hope you can restore your faith in us and we hope to see you back again at Adventure island soon.
    Written 7 March 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 4 March 2023
  • Jessica R
    1 contribution
    Not great
    I bought an annual pass online, then spent 30 mins in a que of only 6 people to get my daughter’s wristband …. Everyone else was also fuming. The park its self was great but the whole experience was messed up by the tick office.
    Thank you for your feedback, we will ensure this is passed on to our management team.
    Written 9 March 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 5 March 2023
  • Rafal B
    1 contribution
    Great fun
    Great fun , spend there whole day with my boys they’re lov it . Super friendly staff . The only minus was a food spent like 40£ for cold hot dog and burgers
    Thank you for your feedback. We will ensure this is passed on to our management team.
    Written 21 March 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 20 March 2023
  • Becs S
    4 contributions
    Fab day out
    Spent the afternoon here yesterday with four 10 year olds. They had a fab time! The Weather wasn’t great but this was probably an advantage as they spent to longer than 10 minutes in a queue. There were plenty of rides for them to go on and the staff were lovely, having a little laugh and joke with them before the rides started. Only negative was the wait at the ticket office, I’d pre booked but we queued for quite a while to be seen. All in all though a great afternoon out.
    Thank you for your positive feedback!
    Written 5 April 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited April 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 2 April 2023
  • Ken205726
    Hockley, United Kingdom47 contributions
    Great local treat for grandchildren but several rides disappeared!
    We have bought annual passes for us and our grandchildren fror several years and had a great time. This year we have been disappointed at even more favourite rides disappearing, Screacher, Timemachine plus several other rides stripped down for maintenance. With the Vortex going last year all the spinning rides have gone which makes if far less appealing for the grandchildren. The new Big Wheel looks very impressive and probably gives a great view. Rather an issue with loading and unloading, as all big wheels. Take sandwiches if they are allowed on! The extras are also gone - Speedway and Dodgems. Is it all a transition or a cutback!
    Thank you for your feedback, we will ensure this is passed on to our management team.
    Written 5 April 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited April 2023
    Written 4 April 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4,440 reviews
Excellent
2,751
Very good
1,045
Average
336
Poor
109
Terrible
199

boz
Carshalton, UK2 contributions
Nov 2023 • Family
I purchased tickets for Saturday 18th November for me and my family , We arrived at the fair to find out it was shut until February. Spoke to customer services and they won't refund - only transfer tickets to 2024, this is not good enough, I want my money back, you are not open and your website should not except bookings for this year when you are closed.....
Written 20 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review. Adventure Island is now closed until February 2024, however the tickets purchased can be used from this date and all of next year. We have passed this feedback onto management.
Written 24 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Joanne N
London, UK1 contribution
Nov 2023 • Family
We love this fair and we’re bought wristbands online and travelled 2 hours to get there on Saturday only to find it was closed even though it said it was open on the website and llallowed me to but wristbands which are not cheap. When I called they said to email them and they would refund me nor they are now refusing to refund. Do not buy tickets online for this place
Written 20 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review. Adventure Island is now closed until February 2024, however the tickets purchased can be used from this date and all of next year. We have passed this feedback onto management.
Written 24 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Louise O
9 contributions
Oct 2023 • Family
Annual pass is great for making the most of the park with toddlers. You can keep coming back, rain or shine, doing a few rides at a time. Best value at 100cm+ tall
Written 10 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your honest feedback! We hope to see you again soon!
Written 11 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Carlie Lovegood
Chatham, UK14 contributions
Nov 2023 • Family
First time going here today for my brother's 18th birthday day out (his real birthday is on the 5th).
Anyway, we had an absolute awesome time with fabulous thrilling rollercoasters (yellow rollercoaster, brown rollercoaster, blue rollercoaster and orange rollercoaster), rowing boats, Pharoh ride, spooky ghost Train, high sky drop, swinging chairs, carosel, cute elephant ride. There were so many rides we went on. It was amazing.
I will say though, I didn't really enjoy the sky drop. It made me feel sick lol.

There was also an arcade which we enjoyed and were were given game cards.

Defiantly will never forget Southend. Me, my mum and brother enjoyed it.

Written 4 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you Carlie for the great review! We are so glad to hear you had an amazing time and we hope to see you all back again soon. Happy Birthday to your brother!
Written 6 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sky E
11 contributions
Oct 2023 • Family
My history with adventure Island began when I was a child and it was called Peter pans, it was an incredible place to go to, then when I became a dad we took our girls to adventure Island, once again an amazing place. This takes us to tonight, we took our Granddaughter to adventure Island, sadly no longer an amazing place. First off is the extortionate prices, do they know there's a cost of living crisis? With the amount they are charging probably not. £28 for a 20month old to go on no more than 10 rides, they also omitted to say that any adult can go on the rides with the baby regardless of which adult has the band, perhaps hoping that people will be fooled into purchasing another £28 one.then there's the food prices! £10 for a quarter pounder? Really? £9 for a hot dog?, a child's meal will set you back £7. Utterly ridiculous. This leads me onto my next niggle, as a photographer I brought my camera to take some nice photos of my granddaughter on the rides, unfortunately I was told that I couldn't use my camera because it has a zoom! Erm can anyone explain this? I also have an iPhone with a camera that wait for it..... Has a ZOOM. Yet despite seeing dozens of people with phones taking pictures I cannot unless I go to customer services and get a blue pass. It's trivial I guess but its just another bit of nonsensical bureaucracy from poorly informed people who really do not understand. Unfortunately what should have been an amazing day out at a place we have visited many times in the past was somewhat tarnished by what has become nothing more than a place run by very greedy people. We will think very hard about ever returning.
Written 21 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your honest feedback, we're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience. We will ensure this is passed on to management for review.
Written 22 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Steven A
Ipswich, UK2 contributions
Oct 2023 • Family
Good range of rollacosters and you can buy tickets to go on each ride or buy wrist bands for the day/annual passes. The wrist band seem a little expensive. Shame about use of the city wheel. We were told we would go round 2 or 3 times. Only got to go round one loading round and not at all without stopping as a manager wanted to assess someone letting off people. We highlighted the issue but no one cared. Manager should get a zero mark for bad customer service. Clearly wanted to just rush and get the job done.
Written 21 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your honest feedback, we will ensure this is passed to management for review.
Written 22 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Gemma Q
1 contribution
Jul 2023 • Family
My visit my whole experience with this company has been awful, I will never return. It said online that if you book online you get a discount of £4 which I decided to do as my younger sister was paying. We got to the park and got our wristbands from the window. To our surprise there was different groups of school kids taking over the park, it was so busy full of the school children and their teachers. Baring in mind the park is free to walk around which we should of done as we wouldn’t of paid for any bands. We left to go for a walk hoping it would calm down, after a hour we came back and there was a lot coaches up the road. We had another walk around the park and was still over crowded. We left again and retuned we then decided to leave it was impossible for us to have a good day there. This complaint isn’t about the school children having a day out but it said nowhere that this is what we would 10x busier, I have been refused my refund also 🙃
Written 9 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi there, Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent experience with us. We have passed this feedback onto the Management Team to consider.
Written 12 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Roberta D
Romford, UK2 contributions
Sep 2023 • Family
Best place in essex for a day out with children. Lots of rides for any age group. All staff members are friendly and helpful . Lots of kiosks with ice cream , candy floss, coffee, pancakes . For lunch there’s burgers , nuggets and chips but to be honest they all served quite cold and not so tasty, so if you can bring your own food .
Biggest rides like axis have height and AGE restrictions riders should be both 1.3m and 10years old .

On a sunny summer weekend queues are very long so I advise to come at least 15 mins prior opening on a busy days.
There’s plenty of parking spaces around.
There’s picnic tables.
Dogs are not allowed
Smoking and vaping are not allowed.
Written 24 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Robert! Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great and detailed review! We hope to see you again soon.
Written 25 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ayotomiwa M
1 contribution
Sep 2023 • Family
Adventure Island upgraded! We really had fun.. I would go again and again, the staff are so polite and always ready to assist. The rides are so much fun and you don't really need to pack anything as there's a lot to buy and snack on and it comes hot at affordable prices... An extra discount with your yearly pass...
Written 24 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi there! So glad to hear you had an amazing time! We hope to see you again soon now that you have an Annual Pass. Maybe visit us during our Spooktacular Fright Fantastic Event over the October Half Term? See you soon.
Written 25 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

L F
London, UK4 contributions
Aug 2023 • Family
We went - two adult & two 5year olds. We purchased our tickets online, so made a little saving. The children are not very tall, but there were ample rides for them to chose from & go on. The rides where they were not quiet tall enough for, where an adult had to go on too, we were able to ride for free.

We took a packed lunch, this worked really well as the children didn't really want to stop for food & we could eat on the go. We did stop for hot doughnuts, which were well priced, cooked in front of us & enjoyed by all!

Facilities were plenty, well sign posted and clean. The park was very well maintained, lots of staff around and everywhere was clean!

We spent around 5 hrs there, well enjoyed, two very tired, but happy 5yr olds!

We will be returning, time & money well spent!
Written 19 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your day! If you think you might come back within the next 12 months, we would definitely suggest upgrading to our Annual pass for the cost of a second visit! All you'd need is your online booking reference or your receipt and day wristband. Hopefully see you again soon!
Written 20 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 4,408
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

ADVENTURE ISLAND: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Adventure Island


Restaurants near Adventure Island: View all restaurants near Adventure Island on Tripadvisor