We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Victoria Avenue, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6EX, England
Phone Number:
+44 1702 212511
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sat 10:00 - 17:00
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Description:

Re-opened in it's new home on Victoria Avenue, Beecroft Art Gallery sits...

Re-opened in it's new home on Victoria Avenue, Beecroft Art Gallery sits beside Central Museum and showcases the best in art and costume.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 21 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 2
    Excellent
  • 11
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Fashion gallery

I liked the fashion gallery and the other modern galleries but the staff on the other hand weren't very polite.

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 November 2016
Ed E
,
Portsmouth, United Kingdom

Similar Things to Do in Southend-on-Sea

Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 21: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dull sparse and thoroughly uninviting What a waste of a great facility poorly executed as a gallery visit the pallant gallery in Chichester see how a gallery should feel and look. Am ashamed to think of visitors to Southend even contemplating a visit. For goodness sake find someone to fulfil what a gallery should be.

Helpful?
Thank Angela R
SouthendLibsMus, Promoton & Events Team at Beecroft Art Gallery, responded to this review

Dear Angela, Thank you for your review- we always appreciate feedback. Your comments will be passed on to management for future planning. Kind regards, Promotion and Events Team. More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,492 reviews
783 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2016

I liked the fashion gallery and the other modern galleries but the staff on the other hand weren't very polite.

Helpful?
Thank Ed E
SouthendLibsMus, Promotion & Events Team (Libraries & Museums) at Beecroft Art Gallery, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review of Beecroft. We are glad you enjoyed the gallery, but are sorry to hear of your experience with our staff. Your comments will be passed to management so they can investigate further. Kind regards, Promotion & Events Team More 

Boksburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016

I always used to visit this venue at its previous venue and it was wonderful to visit it in its new venue. This new venue is great for loght and airy and it is great to walk around and enjoy the space.

Helpful?
Thank HelenChristmas
SouthendLibsMus, Promotion & Events Team at Beecroft Art Gallery, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for your review - we are so glad you found us again and enjoyed your visit to Beecroft Art Gallery. Pop in any time! Kind regards, The Promotion & Events Team More 

UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2016

Very, very disappointed. An exhibition of BIBA fashion was on display information was in the museum next door and the costumes in the Beecroft, why not amalgamate the two and have it all in one place. Very small exhibition, they could have done so much more than they did.

Helpful?
Thank BranstonLB
SouthendLibsMus, Promotion & Events Team at Beecroft Art Gallery, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We always want to find ways to improve and will pass your comments to our curators. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Kind regards, Promotion & Events Team More 

Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2016

It's a free art gallery in a huge space of the old library, It's a shame that the space is not utilised a little better, if it had more displays, a nice cafe and a decent gift shop it could be a real crowd pleaser. One member of staff was very nice and bought a childrens activity trail pamphlet for... More 

Helpful?
Thank tatania4
SouthendLibsMus, Promotion & Events Team at Beecroft Art Gallery, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are sad to hear you felt uncomfortable during your visit - we will pass your comments to the management team who will investigate further with the staff. We hope you will come back to see us again in future. Kind regards, Promotion & Events Team More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2016

Was curious about a vintage display advertised but no posters or signs at the venue, turned out to be just a part of a bigger (Biba) exhibition I'd already visited. Three staff showing no interest in the very few (four) visitors I saw that day (Sat 27 Aug) and avoiding eye contact; too busy chatting to take an interest in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dee G
SouthendLibsMus, Promotion & Events Team (Libraries & Museums) at Beecroft Art Gallery, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. There was due to be a Vintage Clothes Fair at Beecroft Art Gallery on 27th August - however, the event had to be cancelled at very short notice as the collector could not attend. Posters for the event were therefore removed and our social media channels were updated with the news. We appreciate your frustration... More 

South Ockendon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2016

We followed up our trip to the Central Museum with a quick tour of the Art Gallery next door. The lift is currently out of order which prevented my father from going off of the ground floor, but hopefully this will be fixed soon. Upstairs there was an exhibition of fashin from BIBA which compliments the display in the museum... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2016

I loved it when this was our library and now it's an art gallery there seems an awful lot of empty space. Ca'nt say I would visit again after the once

Helpful?
Thank Beverley W
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2016

Niki Cornish, a talented Essex photographer, has taken excellent portraits of local people reflecting their emotions with intriguing captions. The exhibition titled "Silent Stories" aims to raise awareness of mental health. This gallery is a relaxing place to visit and ideal for exhibitions due to the large open-plan architecture.

Helpful?
Thank patrick m
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2016

We visited the Beecroft Art Gallery today and were immensely impressed, not just with the collections on show, but also with the proactive engagement of the gallery organisers with local art colleges to encourage young artists as well as with the friendly helpful staff. It was a very inspiring and lively atmosphere and a real pleasure to visit. I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Val P
SouthendLibsMus, Promotion & Events Team at Beecroft Art Gallery, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us at Beecroft Art Gallery, and very much hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Promotion & Events Team More 

Travellers who viewed Beecroft Art Gallery also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Beecroft Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Beecroft Art Gallery staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?