Kelmscott Manor
Kelmscott Manor
4.5
Speciality MuseumsHistoric SitesArt Museums
Thursday
10:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
10:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:30 AM - 5:00 PM
About
This Tudor farmhouse, located adjacent to the River Thames, was built of local limestone in 1570. Later, the Manor became the Cotswold retreat of Victorian designer, campaigner, socialist, author, William Morris and his family, friends and colleagues. When Morris first saw the Manor in 1871, he was delighted by this 'loveliest haunt of ancient peace'; he signed a joint lease for the property with his friend and colleague Dante Gabriel Rossetti, the Pre-Raphaelite artist. The Manor is open from April to the end of October on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays.
Duration: 2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience Kelmscott Manor and nearby attractions

See what travellers are saying
  • Patricia H
    Birmingham, United Kingdom6 contributions
    Disappointed by the recent 'resoration'
    Staff were welcoming and informative, and of course the exterior was as lovely as ever. But having visited several times in the past (all previous visits over ten years ago) I was profoundly disappointed by the changes that have been made to the interior. So much of the warmth I have always associated with Kelmscott Manor has been lost. I was told by the guides that the changes were made in order to comply with requirements for securing Heritage Lottery funding (which required it to be restored to reflect more closely how it would actually have looked when Morris lived there). That is all well and good, but as a result of the removal of so many of Morris & Co.'s wonderful artefacts, the spirit of what Morris was trying to achieve has somehow been lost. It has been rendered spartan, and there is no sense of its having been a 'lived in' house now at all, for me. A classic case of 'in striving to do better, oft we mar what's well,' alas!
    Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your visit as you felt that the interiors were not warm. As part of the reinterpretation of the rooms we have gone back to original sources to layout the spaces as they were when May Morris lived in the manor. This was then a family home and not a showcase of Morris and Co fabrics which you probably saw on your previous visits. We display the unique items from our collection which were handmade by William Morris, Rossetti, Jane & May Morris and others rather than the manufactured fabrics which can be found elsewhere. Contrary to what you were told, it was not a requirement for securing Heritage Lottery Funding but our decision to try to explain to our visitors what it was about Kelmscott and the surrounding landscape that inspired William, his family and associates.
    Written 17 October 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 1 July 2023
  • Patricia B
    Borough of Brentwood, United Kingdom32 contributions
    A Victorian Inspiration
    We visited on a Wednesday as part of a Tour Group. A quality Lunch was laid on in the Barn as part of our organised visit. The home made biscuits for morning coffee were divine. The house is owned by the Society of Antiquaries and benefitted from a lottery grant to restore the legacy of William Morris. The tour guides are very knowledgeable about WM, his family and the Arts and Crafts movement. The garden where he drew his inspiration is free to explore. Situated in a small village there is car park a short stroll away with a free mini bus for those who require assistance. The family grave is in the Church yard near the Car Park. Kelmscott is well worth a visit if you are interested in Morris and by association the Pre Raphaelites. Everyone on site was keen to share their enthusiasm and there was a gift shop where I happily bought a Tea Towel Gift…100% Linen and Made in the UK.
    Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your coach group visit.
    Written 17 October 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 27 August 2023
  • Alison L
    3 contributions
    I wouldn’t bother!
    When we arrived, the lady explained it would be an hour before we could enter the house. Seemed a bit odd and like she was explaining we might be bored. She was right. Very underwhelming gardens and small tea facilities with such a large queue we couldn’t be bothered. We sat for 45 minutes just waiting for house entry. Although beautiful outside, the inside is sparse and the blinds were down so it was too dark to see anything anyway. Not at all the experience we were expecting. Very disappointed.
    Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit. The Manor house has small rooms so we have to control the number of visitors in the house at any time. This is why you had to wait before seeing the house itself. The rooms have been laid out to reflect how they were when May Morris lived at the Manor using contemporary drawings, paintings and photographs where ever possible. We also have to control the light levels in the rooms to protect the collection, especially the unique fabrics. Our volunteer stewards in some rooms have torches to help see parts of the collection if you feel it is too dark.
    Written 17 October 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited September 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 7 September 2023
  • Mike Hughes
    Mynydd Isa, United Kingdom179 contributions
    Not great value.
    Beautiful Manor house set in a quiet rural location. Grounds have some lovely plants, and the house is 'ok'. If you go to the tearoom then be prepared to que up as there was only one drinks machine being operated by 3 people! Overall, it was a nice place, but I do not think it was worth the entrance fee.
    Thank you for your review. We are sorry that it didn't meet your expectations.
    Written 17 October 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited September 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 8 September 2023
  • Daryl C
    23 contributions
    A very enjoyable visit.
    I`m a huge Morris/Arts & Crafts/ Pre Raphs fan, so having been to his birthplace in Walthamstow, Kelmscott House in Hammersmith, and The Red House in Bexleyheath, this was a must. I can see why Morris chose Kelmscott Manor, it`s in a lovely setting, a short walk from the car park, which somehow adds to the experience. I had pre booked on-line and the pdf was scanned on arrival at my allotted time. I was not disappointed by the house and garden and the exhibits, and the guides were friendly and keen to share their knowledge. I would n`t have known where the Morris grave is for example ( in the churchyard by the carpark). I really enjoyed my visit.
    Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit.
    Written 17 October 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited September 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 19 September 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
404 reviews
Excellent
252
Very good
109
Average
30
Poor
7
Terrible
6

Gastrogran
Somerset, UK16 contributions
Sep 2023 • Friends
The first time we had visited since the refurbishment. What a wonderful experience. The walk from the car park is a must (it does take about 10 minutes but is all on the flat) as it sets the scene for this remote manor farm in its unspoilt landscape. The absence of cars parked all around is a great joy. The garden is charming, slightly unkempt but productive (medlars and quinces when we visited). The sense of the Morris family is everywhere, their taste and talents, their socialist views, their humour and love of animals (see the lovely story boards in the old stable ). Much more is made of the Morris women now - which has been long overdue. Excellent shop and tea room. A buggy back to the car park - all a wondefully inspiring few hours. Thank you.
Written 1 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your five star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and what we have achieved with the refurbishment. Over the next few years we will be highlighting more of May & Jane Morris so we hope you will return again in the future.
Written 17 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Daryl C
23 contributions
Sep 2023 • Family
I`m a huge Morris/Arts & Crafts/ Pre Raphs fan, so having been to his birthplace in Walthamstow, Kelmscott House in Hammersmith, and The Red House in Bexleyheath, this was a must.
I can see why Morris chose Kelmscott Manor, it`s in a lovely setting, a short walk from the car park, which somehow adds to the experience. I had pre booked on-line and the pdf was scanned on arrival at my allotted time. I was not disappointed by the house and garden and the exhibits, and the guides were friendly and keen to share their knowledge. I would n`t have known where the Morris grave is for example ( in the churchyard by the carpark).
I really enjoyed my visit.
Written 19 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit.
Written 17 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

lambs1
Gainesville, GA204 contributions
Sep 2023 • Couples
Lovely spot, and was so interested to learn more about William Morris and his family and friends. My only complaint is it was so hard to see things in many of the rooms. They have to keep the light down to preserve the fabrics, but bring a flashlight.
Written 15 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit. We do have to keep the light in some rooms low in order to protect the collection but our stewards do have torches in those rooms to assist visitors. We will look at how we can inform visitors more easily of this.
Written 17 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mike Hughes
Mynydd Isa, UK179 contributions
Sep 2023 • Couples
Beautiful Manor house set in a quiet rural location. Grounds have some lovely plants, and the house is 'ok'. If you go to the tearoom then be prepared to que up as there was only one drinks machine being operated by 3 people! Overall, it was a nice place, but I do not think it was worth the entrance fee.
Written 9 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that it didn't meet your expectations.
Written 17 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alison L
3 contributions
Sep 2023 • Family
When we arrived, the lady explained it would be an hour before we could enter the house. Seemed a bit odd and like she was explaining we might be bored. She was right. Very underwhelming gardens and small tea facilities with such a large queue we couldn’t be bothered. We sat for 45 minutes just waiting for house entry. Although beautiful outside, the inside is sparse and the blinds were down so it was too dark to see anything anyway. Not at all the experience we were expecting. Very disappointed.
Written 7 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit. The Manor house has small rooms so we have to control the number of visitors in the house at any time. This is why you had to wait before seeing the house itself. The rooms have been laid out to reflect how they were when May Morris lived at the Manor using contemporary drawings, paintings and photographs where ever possible. We also have to control the light levels in the rooms to protect the collection, especially the unique fabrics. Our volunteer stewards in some rooms have torches to help see parts of the collection if you feel it is too dark.
Written 17 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Patricia B
Borough of Brentwood, UK32 contributions
Aug 2023 • Friends
We visited on a Wednesday as part of a Tour Group. A quality Lunch was laid on in the Barn as part of our organised visit. The home made biscuits for morning coffee were divine. The house is owned by the Society of Antiquaries and benefitted from a lottery grant to restore the legacy of William Morris. The tour guides are very knowledgeable about WM, his family and the Arts and Crafts movement. The garden where he drew his inspiration is free to explore. Situated in a small village there is car park a short stroll away with a free mini bus for those who require assistance. The family grave is in the Church yard near the Car Park. Kelmscott is well worth a visit if you are interested in Morris and by association the Pre Raphaelites. Everyone on site was keen to share their enthusiasm and there was a gift shop where I happily bought a Tea Towel Gift…100% Linen and Made in the UK.
Written 27 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your coach group visit.
Written 17 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Patricia H
Birmingham, UK6 contributions
Jul 2023 • Family
Staff were welcoming and informative, and of course the exterior was as lovely as ever. But having visited several times in the past (all previous visits over ten years ago) I was profoundly disappointed by the changes that have been made to the interior. So much of the warmth I have always associated with Kelmscott Manor has been lost. I was told by the guides that the changes were made in order to comply with requirements for securing Heritage Lottery funding (which required it to be restored to reflect more closely how it would actually have looked when Morris lived there). That is all well and good, but as a result of the removal of so many of Morris & Co.'s wonderful artefacts, the spirit of what Morris was trying to achieve has somehow been lost. It has been rendered spartan, and there is no sense of its having been a 'lived in' house now at all, for me. A classic case of 'in striving to do better, oft we mar what's well,' alas!
Written 1 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your visit as you felt that the interiors were not warm. As part of the reinterpretation of the rooms we have gone back to original sources to layout the spaces as they were when May Morris lived in the manor. This was then a family home and not a showcase of Morris and Co fabrics which you probably saw on your previous visits. We display the unique items from our collection which were handmade by William Morris, Rossetti, Jane & May Morris and others rather than the manufactured fabrics which can be found elsewhere. Contrary to what you were told, it was not a requirement for securing Heritage Lottery Funding but our decision to try to explain to our visitors what it was about Kelmscott and the surrounding landscape that inspired William, his family and associates.
Written 17 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ronniesmum2018
Melbourne, Australia86 contributions
May 2023 • Couples
Heaven on earth. We picked a beautiful day, admittedly, but we loved the house with all the William Morris references, wallpaper, furniture, etc.

The cakes in the cafe were excellent - we had a proper Victoria sponge and lemon drizzle cake.

Oh, and the shop has some gorgeous items, too!
Written 13 June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit.
Written 17 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Marisa R
15 contributions
Jun 2023
Lovely house restored to how it was when Morris and his family and their many friends lived there with the furniture, textiles and wallpapers used in the rooms. Staffed by friendly and knowledgeable volunteers who were happy to answer any questions. Definitely worth a visit, especially if you have an interest in the Arts & Crafts movement.
Written 3 June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit.
Written 17 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Patric D
Sandbach, UK945 contributions
May 2023 • Couples
Kelmscott Manor is tucked away, but it's worth manking the effort to go there.
Don't be put off by having to park some distance from the house ... there is a free shuttle bus that will take you to the house, or if you are able, it's a lovely 15 minute stroll through the (almost) traffic-free village centre.
There are some nice grounds to explore, but the main attraction is, of course, the house itself, and you get a great insight into the lives of William Morris, his family, and his friends. If you can mange the staircases, it's well worth going to the attic bedrooms.
If you have time, you can also visit the village church (adjoining the car park), The Morris family grave is there, and the church itself is a delight to explore.
Written 30 May 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit.
Written 17 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 397
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

KELMSCOTT MANOR: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Kelmscott Manor