We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Salford Museum & Art Gallery

224 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Salford Museum & Art Gallery

224 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Recommended experiences in and around Salford
from US$69.62
More Info
Full view
Location
Contact
Crescent Peel Park, Salford M5 4WU England
Getting there
AnchorageManchester Metrolink19 min
LangworthyManchester Metrolink22 min
Get to know the area
Manchester Music Tour (with NEW self distancing)
Cultural Tours

Manchester Music Tour (with NEW self distancing)

So, you arrive in Manchester and want to know all about our music history.<br>You have 3 choices available to you.<br>1. Go on a guided tour and see all those sights you read about before you came.<br>2. Walk around aimlessly hoping that the Gods of tourism will guide you.<br>3. Go to snikkit dot com and see what like minded locals want you to see about their home. <br>Snikkit dot com will show you everything about a place.<br>The main sites<br>The history<br>The people<br>But also the small stories, the best pubs and bars, where the locals eat and much much more.<br><br>This is your tour at your own pace and at your convenience. We have done all the homework for you and found and researched all the stories and facts you need for an enlightening self guided tour of Manchester's music and arts.<br>Once logged in you are the boss, you decide what you want to see and when you want to see it.
US$8.02 per adult
224Reviews8Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 132
  • 76
  • 9
  • 4
  • 3
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
paul11Manchester wrote a review Sep 2020
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom107 contributions364 helpful votes
We went today, as online stated Open. No disable parking available, all scaffolding up. Husband went in spoke to a lady she stated we could go in for half an hour to see the street only just for half hour slot, and have to pay £3 Parking. What a laugh. Decided to give up. Might try again when all up and running.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from SMAG01, Manager at Salford Museum & Art Gallery
Responded 9 Sep 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. As you say we do have a limited offer at the moment and are running a pre booking service as we are under going a phased reopening from lock down whilst keeping our social distancing measures in place. We hope to be able to welcome you back when the museum is fully open again and when our building works have been completed. Whilst our accessible parking spaces for blue badge holders are currently closed we do have plenty of spaces in front of the museum at the moment, and will be putting temporary blue badge spaces in as the car park gets busier again. We will pass your comments on to the team.
Read more
Danielle Yohan wrote a review Sep 2020
4 contributions7 helpful votes
Other than the parking it's well worth a visit. My family and I visited during the summer and it was great experience!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SMAG01, Manager at Salford Museum & Art Gallery
Responded 9 Sep 2020
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience. We will pass all your comments onto the team.
Read more
Hshaw wrote a review Aug 2020
5 contributions10 helpful votes
Booked tickets for 3.30 Sunday. Drove 3 hrs to get here. No disabled parking had scaffolding on the spaces And You have to pay for parking via an app. So I popped in to say i had booked but was just sorting parking.After a complete nightmare to download app to pay a ridic £2.50 I then went in to museum to be told they were SHUT!!Lady on the desk didn’t tell me this and I had wasted my time on stupid parking rip off nonsense!Don’t waste yr time going here why let me book tickets and then I can’t go in.Not right and not right ripping Off disabled people who have blue badge
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SMAG01, Manager at Salford Museum & Art Gallery
Responded 9 Sep 2020
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry you were disappointed by your visit. We do have extensive building work at the museum at present and due to our phased return from the covid-19 lockdown we do only have the ground floor open, hence the booking system in place to make sure it is as clear in the information that we aren’t at full capacity yet and have reduced opening hours. However we will review the information online in light of your comments to make sure it is clear for future visitors, we are sorry if you did not find it so. Our accessible parking bays are currently closed for the building work but we do have lots of parking spaces outside the museum at the moment – all visitors are asked to pay for their parking which helps us to keep the museum free entry and support our work. As the car park gets busier again we will be putting in temporary accessible parking bays for blue badge holders. We do encourage visitors to use the app or phone number as it is contactless so safer in these times, but it does take coins as well as another option if visitors do not wish to download an app or phone up. Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review and we will pass this on to the team.
Read more
IAN D wrote a review Mar 2020
Wigan, United Kingdom17,950 contributions3,110 helpful votes
+1
Very good local museum with its biggest attraction being the Victorian Street. Really liked its authentic look. The large hall displaying portraits also worth a look.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SMAG01, Front Office Manager at Salford Museum & Art Gallery
Responded 8 Mar 2020
Thank you for your review- and lovely photos. Glad you enjoyed your visit
Read more
Sveta_Dimitrova wrote a review Mar 2020
Varna, Bulgaria11 contributions3 helpful votes
Very impressive exposure. You must have time for this place. There is really something to surprise you. You will see a real English street of crafts and immerse yourself in the old days.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SMAG01, Front Office Manager at Salford Museum & Art Gallery
Responded 8 Mar 2020
We're so glad you enjoyed your time here and felt immersed in Lark Hill Place. We hope you'll come back some time soon! Thank you for your review
Read more
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Salford Museum & Art Gallery