Buckler's Hard

Buckler's Hard, Beaulieu: Hours, Address, Buckler's Hard Reviews: 4/5

Buckler's Hard
4
Historic Sites • Scenic Walking Areas
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
On the banks of the Beaulieu River, in the heart of the New Forest, you will find the peaceful haven of Buckler’s Hard, the unique and picturesque village where warships for Nelson’s navy were built. Visit the historic cottage displays recreating 18th century life, take a delightful riverside walk or enjoy a cruise on the tranquil Beaulieu River. Gift shop and Captain’s Cabin Cafe. Open every day (except Christmas Day).
Suggested duration
< 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
Popular mentions

4.0
1,833 reviews
Excellent
791
Very good
697
Average
211
Poor
85
Terrible
49

Mark B
Hampshire, UK18 contributions
Sep 2021
We have been going here for a number of years. The museum is small, but interesting and enjoyable. The living history houses are a fascinating window into the past. The avenue of houses provide a picturesque foreground to the beautiful Beulieu river. Although the accessible path to Beaulieu is open, it is a shame that the smaller riverside path is closed, although it is appreciated that this is to protect the Site of Special Scientific Interest. It is a wonderful place to take a picnic and just watch the boats coming and going up and down the river on a hot sunny day. The staff are friendly, the coffee and cakes in the café are good.
Written 6 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

872simonv
Portsmouth, UK5 contributions
Nov 2021 • Couples
I thought this would be more interesting and informative than it was. One House to see which took 5 minutes, that's it.
Could have been so much more but it's not worth the £5.00 to park the car.
Spend your time and money elsewhere is my suggestion
Written 21 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
It was disappointing to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit to Buckler’s Hard. As well as the Maritime Museum, the Shipwright’s Cottage, the Captain’s Cabin Tea Rooms, and St Mary’s Chapel were open to visitors at the time of your visit. We have removed the admission fee for entering the village's outdoor areas, but to enable to us maintain this historic site, we have introduced a charge for car parking. The parking charge goes towards the upkeep of this important heritage area for future generations to enjoy.
Written 23 December 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

NoSpoonRequired
Yorks7 contributions
Nov 2021 • Family
£5 to park. Someone came out to let us know we couldn’t go in until 10am, it was 9:59. There’s nothing here but a path to Beaulieu. An extra £5.90 to go in a tube room ( museum). Money to burn these southerners.
Written 6 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry you did not have a more enjoyable visit. To enhance your visit and learn more about the special heritage of Buckler's Hard, you have the option to pay a small admission charge to explore the Maritime Museum, however, the grounds of Buckler's Hard village, the Shipwright's Cottage, St Mary's Chapel, and the Captain's Cabin Tea Rooms Hotel are free for everyone to visit. The parking charge goes towards the upkeep of this important heritage area for years to come.
Written 23 December 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

BT3rd
Datchet, UK5,743 contributions
Oct 2021 • Couples
We went here and paid £5 to park as the venue is open all year round. Wha they don’t tell you is other than the row of cottages and a tea room there is nothing else open. The walk by the river cannoned completed due to the path being covered in impassable water.
So not really what was expected. The best bit was meeting a herd of very large cows meandering along the road. So you can see how easily pleased we are and very disappointed with Butlers Hard.
Written 22 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We were sorry to hear that your visit to Buckler’s Hard did not meet your expectations. As well as the Shipwright’s Cottage and Captain’s Cabin Tea Rooms, the Maritime Museum, St Mary’s Chapel, and the River Cruise were open to visitors at the time of your visit. We are sorry if you were not aware of this, however, we do advise checking our website in advance to plan your day.
Written 27 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Steve6244
Chatham, UK625 contributions
Oct 2021
Lovely location. Lovely place to walk to/from Beaulieu along part of the river and through the woods. Interesting old village with a snapshot museum of how people lived. Boat tours available but we opted not to. Plenty of space to sit, rest and picnic plus of course cafe. Car park fees are expensive unless you're here all day.
Written 21 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sharon S
South Carolina95 contributions
Sep 2021
Very interesting tour. Love seeing how people used to live in olden days actually touring the small homes, how did they do it? The Museum was very interesting and we soaked up all the detailed information. Definitely worth a visit
Written 18 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your fantastic review. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed discovering the history of Buckler's Hard. We hope to see you again soon.
Written 27 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

JLM3080
Bognor Regis, UK1,099 contributions
Aug 2021
step back in time, very interesting, and a lovely location as well, plenty to see and learn for a couple of hours, and the boat trip is also worthwhile
Written 15 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for joining us! We're delighted to hear that you had a great day, and enjoyed a tranquil river cruise across the Beaulieu River.
Written 27 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Phillaur
Romsey, UK8 contributions
Oct 2021 • Couples
Lots of informative displays. Very clean. My low score is because Bucklers hard was founded from money from sugar plantations in the 1700s and has gained it's wealth from the slave trade. This fact was not acknowledged in any displays. Also I went as a group leader for a school group. They provided our packed lunch of egg sandwiches! No choice, just egg sandwiches. 22 out of 30 children wouldn't eat them and went very hungry having only a packed of biscuits and a packet of Cheesy Wotsits!
Written 13 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for the review following your recent school trip visit with the Countryside Education Trust to Buckler’s Hard. Firstly to address your specific point about Buckler’s Hard and its establishment using funds from the slave trade. We do know and acknowledge in our exhibition and guidebook that John, the 2nd Duke of Montagu, founded Buckler’s Hard in the early 18th century as a free port for the import and export of sugar from the West Indies. Whilst he did attempt to establish a Caribbean settlement in St Lucia in 1722, the new colony failed within one month as they were ordered to leave by the French. This was also the case in St Vincent. His project was therefore abandoned. There is speculation that the 2nd Duke of Montagu may have benefitted from investment in the South Sea Company. This requires further research to understand whether any financial gains were then used to fund work on his Estates, including Buckler’s Hard as part of the Beaulieu Estate. Once we can definitively establish the facts, they will be openly acknowledged and explained as part of the Buckler’s Hard story. Finally in regards to your packed lunches, these were made as per the CET’s instructions. We’re sorry to hear your children didn’t enjoy their sandwiches, and it’s a shame this wasn’t mentioned to us on the day, as perhaps we could have swapped some of the elements of the lunch to ensure your children didn’t go hungry. We hope this didn’t spoil their enjoyment of the village too much.
Written 28 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Skampydog
Doncaster, UK2 contributions
Oct 2021 • Couples
Lovely afternoon out, looking round the old cottages, boat trip with informative commentary followed by a visit to the museum.

All very informative and well worth a visit.
Written 9 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Barbara C
8 contributions
Oct 2021 • Friends
Lovely day at Bucklers Hard - the museum is really good and informative and a super boat trip - we had lunch in the cafe - very nice and lovely helpful staff .
Written 8 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
It sounds like you had a fantastic day! Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.
Written 27 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,811
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Buckler's Hard

Buckler's Hard is open:
  • Sun - Sat 10:00 - 17:00
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking Buckler's Hard tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 1 Buckler's Hard tours on Tripadvisor