We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Planet Ice - Ice Rink

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Jarman Park, Hemel Hempstead, England
Phone Number:
+44 845 872 5799
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 46 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 21
    Excellent
  • 12
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Enjoyable Family Activity

We visited as part of a family day out The staff are friendly and helpful We signed up online for an ice card before we visited which was free and gave us a discount The ice... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
nikd76
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 46: English reviews
Rickmansworth
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited New Year's Day, two families with kids. Rental skates were so dull they were dangerous. Would definitely not recommend.

Helpful?
Thank andre_m_roy
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited as part of a family day out The staff are friendly and helpful We signed up online for an ice card before we visited which was free and gave us a discount The ice rink is quite large and was not too busy The skates we were provided were fine but looked well used ! The ice was... More 

Helpful?
Thank nikd76
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

We went in a group of 4 adults and 6 children.... we had such fun, we are not professional skaters and so the skates were of no issue to us... we spent more time on the floor but we were happy nonetheless... we had applied for the ice card prior to our visit.. staff on the ice were attentive when... More 

Helpful?
Thank kimmygr
Planet_Ice, General Manager at Planet Ice - Ice Rink, responded to this review

Than you for taking the time to review us. It's really great to read what a fantastic time you had at the rink. Our staff are a credit to the business and always on hand to help and advise novice skaters. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Kerstin Engren General Manager More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

We had a great afternoon at Planet Ice. All of the staff at friendly. We had a three year year old and nine year old on the ice for the first time, the marshals gave us great advice and helped them to use their skates properly so she could move by themselves, plus the help of their penguin and polar... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jay_A_Daly
Planet_Ice, General Manager at Planet Ice - Ice Rink, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. Its great to read such a positive review. We invest a lot of time in recruiting, inducting and training our staff to deliver a safe and enjoyable experience. Our cafe is well priced and offers a selection of fast food, including a health soup and panini option. Next... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Nice place, staff could do with cheering up, A little bit over priced for what it is. But generally a good day out for the kids

Helpful?
Thank Gary C
Planet_Ice, Manager at Planet Ice - Ice Rink, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Here at planet ice the admission including skate hire is £11 due to being our peak season. There are no time restrictions at the rink and you can spend all day here enjoying the ice. We do have a fantastic Ice Card incentive, where you can subscribe online... More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

What a great place to visit in a rainy day. Using deals provided on Groupon and Mix96 this was actually a cheaper treat than we expected. Also signing up the the Planet Ice membership card (free) offers you discounted prices per visit. We were able to rent out the Penguins for the younger skaters which are brilliant. It was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janine T
Planet_Ice, General Manager at Planet Ice - Ice Rink, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. Its good to read of your enjoyable visit to us of the holiday periods. The Ice card is a fantastic Planet ice imitative that offer customers discount on every visit and alerts members to any discounts on offer and events at the rink. Whats even better is that... More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Arrived at 2pm during the school hols, open till 4pm. Very pricey £11 per person including skates, that was unlimited time, £2 for a spectator. Yet there's only so much your legs can cope with. £5 per hour hire for a penguin holder that steadies you if you're a novice. Staff friendly; had a hot chocolate, more like brown water.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne T
Planet_Ice, General Manager at Planet Ice - Ice Rink, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Our standard holiday admission including skate hire is, as you state, £11. Unlike many leisure activities there are no time restrictions and you can spend all day at the rink. In addition we have a fantastic Ice Card initiative, where you can subscribe online for free, giving you... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

I came here with some friends and family for my birthday as a treat for the kids - was ok and fairly busy. Have deals on for family packages- would go again.

Helpful?
Thank Louise C
Planet_Ice, General Manager at Planet Ice - Ice Rink, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. It disappointing that you only felt your visit deserved a 2 star rating, but very happy that you would visit us again. We are always grateful for customer to tell us about their experiences, if you could give us a little more information, we are in a stronger position to enhance... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

I do the lessons with my husband and we agree they could improve, but they are not that bad and we are learning. The ice rink could be better and the staff is mixed with nice and helpful people and others that are not so much (luckily we haven't encountered too many of the unhelpful ones)

Helpful?
Thank RosieGM
Planet_Ice, General Manager at Planet Ice - Ice Rink, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. We are always keen to get your feedback on all of our sessions including the learn to skate program. The management and coaching team are always available for you to talk to, we will ensure your experience is is more than 'not bad'. Your development and enjoyment on... More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

The people who work on the ice DONT help at all. The first time I went I was awful all the staff did was come up to me and watch.

Helpful?
Thank cfclbanks
Planet_Ice, General Manager at Planet Ice - Ice Rink, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. Your comments are really disappointing to read and I apologise that we did not meet your expectations. We invest a lot of time to induct, train and develop our staff. Although it is not the Stewards role to teach people how to skate, they do give tips to... More 

Travellers who viewed Planet Ice - Ice Rink also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Planet Ice - Ice Rink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Planet Ice - Ice Rink and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Planet Ice - Ice Rink staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?