HAPPA - Shores Hey Farm
HAPPA - Shores Hey Farm
4.5
11:00 AM - 3:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 3:30 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 3:30 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 3:30 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 3:30 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 3:30 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 3:30 PM
Sunday
11:00 AM - 3:30 PM
About
Based in the stunning location of the Thursden Valley, Briercliffe, Burnley, the Charity welcomes thousands of visitors each year. HAPPA is urging supporters to show their support by coming to see the resident horses and ponies, enjoy a lovely meal in The Café or shop at the The Fussy Filly tack and gift shop. Visitors of all ages are sure to have a great day out at HAPPA, meeting all the resident horses and ponies, chatting to our dedicated team of professionals and completing fun onsite educational activities. Families can have a great time on the playground or just relax in a unique rural location. To top your visit off relax in the onsite Café where you can grab lunch, coffee and cake. The free ‘Facts with Fergus’ trail will keep everyone entertained, seasonal events are held all year round (charges apply). Booking a visit can be done through the website www.happa.org.uk
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

See what travellers are saying
  • Katherine F
    96 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Fantastic place
    Love coming to HAPPA as I don't ride now so it's a chance to spend some time with the horses. Absolutely fantastic place to visit real life Follyfoot! We had lunch in the cafe too which was really outstanding and a little browse in the second hand bookshop. Will be back soon thank you x
    Visited April 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 30 April 2023
  • DavidSchofield
    Bacup, United Kingdom10 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Lovely food and beautiful horses
    The food served at the cafe is excellent and at a reasonable price. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We visited all the horses at the farm and we were able to stroke most of them. Their stories are heartbreaking but the staff are dedicated to their rehabilitation. We visit regularly and donate as much as we can. Well worth a visit.
    Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are very proud of the value we offer here in the cafe! We hope to see you again soon 😊😊
    Written 4 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 17 August 2023
  • Trawdeners
    Trawden, United Kingdom18 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Lunch with granddaughter
    Lovely lunch with granddaughter. I had reserved a table and found it very easy to order and received fast and friendly service. Drinks were brought quickly while meals were made to order. Food was lovely and reasonably priced. We will be back.
    Thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again soon 😍😍
    Written 4 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 31 August 2023
  • Janice C
    Manchester, United Kingdom668 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great cafe but watch out for toddlers underfoot!
    First time at this lovely cafe in the middle of the hills. Very good menu and very reasonable prices. Hot sandwich and pie and peas were piping hot and well served by friendly staff. The only downsides for me were no latte coffee available and a toddler charging around the cafe on a bike- unsafe.
    Visited January 2024
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 30 January 2024
  • Laura F
    2 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Cheap and nice horsey day out
    We visited as a family of 4, thought the entrance fee was a bargain just £6 for upto 6 people! We paid extra for pony grooming for the 2 children, again very cheap at £3 each, the lady who was doing the grooming was very friendly and informative and they really enjoyed that. We all got to stroke lots of friendly horses and ponies and really enjoyed the whole experience despite the weather being awful. We were going to eat lunch in the cafe but it was so busy we went elsewhere we know to book upfront for next time and Definately will as I've heard fab reviews of the food. Thanks for a great visit!
    Visited April 2024
    Travelled with family
    Written 11 April 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles217 reviews
Excellent
169
Very good
35
Average
6
Poor
5
Terrible
2

Laura F
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2024 • Family
We visited as a family of 4, thought the entrance fee was a bargain just £6 for upto 6 people!
We paid extra for pony grooming for the 2 children, again very cheap at £3 each, the lady who was doing the grooming was very friendly and informative and they really enjoyed that. We all got to stroke lots of friendly horses and ponies and really enjoyed the whole experience despite the weather being awful.
We were going to eat lunch in the cafe but it was so busy we went elsewhere we know to book upfront for next time and Definately will as I've heard fab reviews of the food. Thanks for a great visit!
Written 11 April 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

samnkaz
Burnley, UK60 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 • Family
It’s good that the money helps a charity but terrible service …and food underwhelming for the wait of over 90 minutes. They seem to not have enough staff and plenty of tables were left without clearing, with staff that were available turning lots of blind eyes to the mess.

No organisation would be a reasonable assessment given that food was left under the warmer whilst the staff served new customers asking for ice cream.

Shame, if it wasn’t for the charitable cause I’d have given a 1.
Written 22 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Good Morning, Thank you for your review. Unfortunately on the day of your visit we were extremely short staffed both Front of House and Kitchen, which was totally out of our control, this coupled with a new chef on his first Friday lead to the issues you have raised. I can assure you this isn't the usual experience we expect our diners to have and we have reviewed and implemented new procedures following this. We really appreciate your feedback and would like to invite you to give us another chance to rectify your experience and show you we have learned from the mistakes and lack of organisation on your visit. If you would like to contact me directly on thecafe@happa.org.uk or call me on 07736888917. Kind Regards Andy Cafe and Kitchen Manager
Written 26 March 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Michelle M
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 • Family
My husband sent my mother-in-law and I here for an afternoon tea for my birthday. We were very much looking forward to it but that was short-lived. When we arrived we waited at the till to be seated. On looking around we could see that there were several tables occupied but for most of those that weren't, they were still full of used crockery and eaten food. There was also a large amount of food and debris on the floor. Some 5 minutes later we still had not even been acknowledged by the 3 staff that continued to walk past us. Eventually, a young staff member stood in front of us and waited in silence - no hello, no sorry for waiting, no how can I help you. I explained that we had a reservation for afternoon tea. The staff member asked if I was sure and I showed her the confirmation. She looked again, asking me to confirm the name, and said there was no booking. I asked her to check again and she then found it after asking again what time it was for. She then proceeded to tell us that there were no tables ready and we would have to wait. We ordered tea each and waited for the table. We were told where to sit and that was all we saw of that staff member - or the milk that should have gone with my tea!

There was a chalkboard on the counter which stated to inform staff if there were any allergies. I told the staff member that I was unable to eat pork or chicken and that my mother-in-law did not eat meat at all. The staff member said she would tell the chef. All good I thought but I have never been so wrong! We were first told that the tea had sausage rolls and pork pie on it; no problem, take them off I said. The staff member went to the kitchen. We were then approached by an angry chef. We were told that we should have said at least 24 hours before arrival if there were any allergies or intolerances. I explained that this was a gift for my birthday so I was not aware however, as this had been booked by my husband I am very confident that, if there had been this information requested then he would have provided it. The chef then began raising his voice and arguing with me to tell me I was wrong. The food was already made - and had been since first thing in the morning (so definitely not fresh as it was now mid-afternoon) so there was nothing he could do. I politely pointed out that he was a chef and that surely replacement food could be made. I was then told that he did not have the facility in his tiny kitchen to cater to allergies. I was shocked at his response and asked how they dealt with it when a customer who hadn't booked had an allergy - his response was disgraceful... He said he would ask them to leave and refuse to make their food; this also applied to vegan and vegetarian food as he didn't have the space to do this type of food!!! I asked the chef to leave us as he was beginning to distress me in the way he was speaking to me - he refused and kept telling me that I was wrong and the website clearly states about allergies. I proceeded to check the website and the booking confirmation - including the terms and conditions - and at no point, anywhere, does it state about allergies.
So, if you have allergies or intolerances, if you are vegetarian or vegan then you must go elsewhere - actually, based on the shocking behaviour of the chef and the way the other staff completely ignore you, I would highly recommend that everyone go elsewhere!!!
Written 14 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Good Morning Michelle We’re very sorry that you felt so let down by your experience whilst visiting us recently. I would like to take this opportunity to address a couple of the points raised in your review. • When greeted by our staff member you were asked if you had a booking, you responded yes with your name and surname, the booking made by your husband online was simply under the name of PAUL, this caused some confusion when trying to locate your booking on our system. • Your table was booked for 2pm so we had used the table before hand, the previous customers being asked to leave by 1.45pm to allow clearing and clearing of the table ready for your arrival. You arrived at 1.45pm and the customers had only just left so your table required resetting for you. • On seeing the sign for Allergies, you did indeed inform the member of staff you suffered with an Allergy or Intolerance to meat and chicken. Due to the size and layout of our kitchen, and inline with guidance from the FSA and EHO we are unable to safely say that products will not come into contact with any allergens during busy service times, if preprepared we are able to meet allergen requests. Had this been brought to our attention at the time of booking we would have been able to prepare the afternoon tea considering your allergen request. We take allergens extremely seriously, should you have instead said that you were a vegetarian and not alerted us to allergens then we would of prepared your afternoon tea. I’m sure if you read through our previous reviews you will see that our service and food are always received positively and this is by no means a normal experience.
Written 21 February 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Janice C
Manchester, UK668 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Couples
First time at this lovely cafe in the middle of the hills. Very good menu and very reasonable prices. Hot sandwich and pie and peas were piping hot and well served by friendly staff. The only downsides for me were no latte coffee available and a toddler charging around the cafe on a bike- unsafe.
Written 30 January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Bez H
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2023 • Friends
Their cafe deserves easily 5stars, both for value and quality.
All the staff are brilliant at the whole facility
Written 17 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much, much appreciated ☺️☺️
Written 23 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Trawdeners
Trawden, UK18 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Family
Lovely lunch with granddaughter. I had reserved a table and found it very easy to order and received fast and friendly service. Drinks were brought quickly while meals were made to order. Food was lovely and reasonably priced. We will be back.
Written 31 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again soon 😍😍
Written 4 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SandraLes
Burnley23 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023
Visited happy today for the first time very disappointed small breakfast was very small half a rasher of bacon 26 beans half a small tomato and one sausage .The tea was cold and my chips had a very strange taste like they had been cooked in old fat .sorry but we wouldn’t recommend and won’t be returning the food does not warrant the cost .
Written 28 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Sandra We are so sorry that we have failed to meet your expectations in The Café. We hope that you can see, from our other reviews, that your experience is certainly the exception rather than the norm here at Shores Hey Farm. Please be assured that we have taken your comments extremely seriously. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know the issues that arose. Yours The HAPPA Team
Written 4 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DavidSchofield
Bacup, UK10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Family
The food served at the cafe is excellent and at a reasonable price. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We visited all the horses at the farm and we were able to stroke most of them. Their stories are heartbreaking but the staff are dedicated to their rehabilitation. We visit regularly and donate as much as we can. Well worth a visit.
Written 17 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are very proud of the value we offer here in the cafe! We hope to see you again soon 😊😊
Written 4 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Explore66968954488
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2023 • Family
Friendly staff, very helpful and accommodating. The Cafe is extremely clean, bright and welcoming. We have visited several times and it never disappoints. The food is amazing! And very affordable. Can not fault it thankyou.
Written 27 June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are very proud of the value we offer here in the cafe! We hope to see you again soon 😊😊
Written 12 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

GazBouch
Yorkshire, UK277 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2023
Lovely veggie breakfast and value for money; eaten here several times including lunch and the food is always good, but my favourite is the fussy filly large veggie.
Written 21 June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are very proud of the value we offer here in the cafe! We hope to see you again soon 😊😊
Written 12 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 217
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

HAPPA - SHORES HEY FARM: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about HAPPA - Shores Hey Farm

HAPPA - Shores Hey Farm is open:
  • Sun - Sat 11:00 - 15:30



All Burnley HotelsBurnley Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Burnley
All things to do in Burnley
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire