Mother Shipton's Cave

Mother Shipton's Cave, Knaresborough: Hours, Address, Mother Shipton's Cave Reviews: 4/5

Mother Shipton's Cave
4
Historic Sites • Caverns & Caves
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
About
Mother Shipton was born in 1488, in a cave on the banks of the River Nidd, and grew up around Knaresborough. As she grew older, her prophecies became known throughout England. She foretold the defeat of the Spanish Armada in 1588 and the Great Fire of London in 1666. Beside Mother Shipton’s cave is the famous Petrifying Well, a unique geological phenomenon. Over hundreds of years curiosity has drawn millions of visitors to the well to see cascading water turn everyday objects to stone - as if by magic. Visitors from all over the world have been enchanted by the park’s natural beauty, mesmerised by the Petrifying Well and fascinated by Mother Shipton’s story. The park has several scenic picnic areas, an adventure playground and museum and gift shop. Dogs are welcome in all areas, apart from the playground, and must be kept on a lead. Themed events run during school holidays, for more information and to book tickets visit the website.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The area
Address
Best nearby
We rank these restaurants and attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this location.
Restaurants
285 within 5 kms
Attractions
37 within 5 kms
Popular mentions

4.0
1,730 reviews
Excellent
640
Very good
538
Average
265
Poor
148
Terrible
139

jayandclare13
Liverpool, UK2 contributions
Amazing experience
Aug 2021 • Family
We traveled from Liverpool well worth the journey it was the best day we have had in the 6 weeks holidays our son loved every minute of the experience and the views are amazing
Written 17 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for contacting Mother Shipton’s. We are over the moon to hear about your amazing experience visiting Mother Shipton’s and that you found the journey all the way from Liverpool to be well worth it! It’s so lovely that this was your favourite day of the Summer holidays and that you and your son loved every minute. We do hope we will see you both again, perhaps for a spooky trip this Halloween! Kind Regards, Mother Shipton’s.
Written 10 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Nic D
Dunstable, UK89 contributions
Best for young children. Nothing for teenagers
Jul 2021 • Friends
Pros - nice walk along the river to a little cave and well.
Cons - expensive for a walk along the river. Ok value for a young family with young children as the play area looked good. But for teenagers, nothing to keep their interest.
We parked and took a very slow stroll through the walk but were still finished in 40 mins.
Written 16 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for contacting Mother Shipton’s. We are happy to read that you found the path through the ancient attraction to see the incredible geological phenomenon of the Petrifying Well and the Cave where Mother Shipton was born to be a nice walk. As you walked through the ancient attraction you may have noticed that such a site requires a great deal of maintenance and upkeep to continue enchanting visitors for all of these years. We are a privately owned attraction, and all admission fees go back into protecting the attraction for future generations to enjoy. We do try to have something for everyone, and we see plenty of teenage visitors who do enjoy their visit and find the history and stories around the park interesting. Kind Regards, Mother Shipton’s.
Written 10 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

TinaHH123
London, UK375 contributions
Lovely forest setting
Aug 2021 • Couples
Came across this place by chance as driving past. The charge is per car so for 5 people it could be only £30. However you need to book online to get a parking spot, we hadn’t so we parked in the local carpark 2mins away £1.80 for 2hrs & walked in which was £10pp so actually was cheaper to do it that way. The grounds are lovely, lots of things for children to do, if you took a picnic you could spend the day... there was an ice cream van & a refreshment van if you hadn’t brought anything. The waterfall and cave is cute, can get quiet crowded, but people were being sensible with the one way system.
It’s basically a lovely forest next to the river with a bit of an adventure playground & a Alice in Wonderland themed big for younger kids. The scenery is lovely and it was well run. So glad we stumbled across it
Written 16 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for contacting Mother Shipton’s. We are thrilled to read about your serendipitous visit to Mother Shipton’s birthplace. We are delighted to read that you found the grounds so lovely with lots of things to do. We do hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Mother Shipton’s.
Written 10 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

LenkaZ
London, UK1 contribution
Lovely outing
Aug 2021
A magical place set in a lovely Knaresborough. What a find! I would suggest to park at Waterside car park and enjoy a lovely casual stroll along the river and across the bridge to Mother Shipton's Cave. I wasn't sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews but I am so pleased we went and visited the place. A lovely walk through the tree lined path, gorgeous views, a picnic spot by the river, an option to buy refreshments and a playground for children. The town itself is also worth the visit. I highly recommend!
Written 15 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for contacting Mother Shipton’s. We are delighted to read that you found this a magical place set in the lovely town of Knaresborough. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the peaceful walk through the ancient royal forest, with gorgeous views alongside the River Nidd. We hope you enjoyed your picnic and we look forward to seeing you again soon, Kind Regards, Mother Shipton’s.
Written 10 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Emma C
Pompeii, Italy70 contributions
A magical place
Aug 2021 • Family
We loved the whole site and there was more than we thought with the addition of the Alice in Wonderland stuff but at £40.00 for a family of four it was a little expensive for only an hour and half’s entertainment. The playground was brilliant for my 8 year old and we all loved the magical feel of the petrifying well would have enjoyed a bit more of a museum.
Written 12 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for contacting Mother Shipton’s. How lovely to hear that you found this to be a magical place and that you enjoyed the whole site! We are pleased that you enjoyed the Alice in Wonderland themed trail and hope you will be back to see our other themed events, including Halloween, Christmas and Easter! We are continually adding to our museum to show more celebrity petrified items and hope to show more of the story of Mother Shipton too. The price for a group of up to 5 people is just £30 in the school holidays, or £25 during term time weekdays, which is great value for money. We hope to welcome you back again soon, Kind regards.
Written 10 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

jess242018
Yorkshire, UK82 contributions
lovely place to visist with younger children
Jul 2021
lovely place worth a visit although mainly for the walk and scenery the cave itself was tiny so a little disappointed. The gift shop was also tiny so a bit difficult to look properly as it is busy. We took our own picnic which i recommend as there was a big queue for food. lots of picnic tables around. I would recommend for younder children rather than teens
Written 9 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for contacting Mother Shipton’s. We are happy to read that you found this a lovely place to visit with gorgeous scenery along the walk through the ancient royal forest. We welcome visitors to bring their own food, and we have plenty of room for picnics, but we do also sell our own food, including handmade sandwiches, delicious brownies, artisanal coffee, and ice cream. We are not sure what you were expecting from the birthplace of the Yorkshire Prophetess Mother Shipton, as we do not advertise this as an underground cave network. The cave is only small, and it is where Agatha Sontheil sought shelter in a thunderstorm in 1488 to give birth to her baby. The attraction of the cave is not its size, but its historical significance and the incredible story surrounding it. We aim to have something for all ages, and have lots of teenage visitors who appreciate the history, geology, and legends of the attraction, as well as the photo opportunities within the park. Kind Regards, Mother Shipton’s.
Written 10 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lindseyxoxo
Harrogate, UK40 contributions
Alice in wonderland
Aug 2021 • Family
Polite, helpful staff. Easy booking. Great theme and visit as always, lots to see and ice creams, cleanest port a loos ever.
Written 9 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for contacting Mother Shipton’s. We are delighted to hear about your great visit, and that you found our staff so helpful and polite. Our team all work hard to put on these events, serve customers with a smile, and keep the park looking spotless! It’s brilliant that you enjoyed the Alice in Wonderland theme for the Summer and we do hope you will be back again to see our next themed events, such as Halloween and Christmas! Kind Regards, Mother Shipton’s.
Written 10 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

jade b
2 contributions
Good, but too expensive!
Aug 2021 • Family
It was really difficult to rate our visit if I’m completely honest.

We went as a family of 3, with a 5 year old and paid £30 for the vehicle entry ticket.
Luckily for us, there was an Alice in Wonderland theme which thoroughly entertained my step daughter. We actually spent most of our time there and in the play area which speaks volumes when the attraction is called ‘Mother Shipton’s Cave’.
Our slot was 10-12.30, however we arrived at 10.30 and left at 12.15. The attraction is clearly well looked after and maintained to a high standard with safe footpaths and walk ways.
The coffee/ice cream food trucks were lovely, although 2 coffee’s, 1 hot chocolate and 2 ice creams cost near £20.
We loved the AiW theme; it was obvious a lot of time and effort had been put into creating the scenes.

We felt a tad let down by the cave unfortunately. We had massively built up the suspense for my step daughter all the way around reading the story, down the stairs, to the petrifying well, made a wish and then got to the cave and it was….. absolutely tiny! It resembled a small hole/area in a rock face more than a ‘cave’ which felt like a tight squeeze with anymore than two people inside. We stood in the entrance and my partner said ‘is this it?’ Baffled, expecting to be able to walk through it.

Mostly, the reason for the 3 stars is the cost. I honestly don’t believe £30 is warranted. I think £5 (or £7 at a push) per person is sufficient. If filling a car with 5 people, then yes £30 is okay. But for a family of 3 to pay £10 each to then only spend 1.45hr inside, mostly in the play area, sadly we left feeling slightly robbed.

It’s a shame as we did enjoy it, but just not at the price it came. We would of happily paid £20. I wish I’d read the reviews beforehand.

*The picture below is of the wishing well behind the petrifying well. The cave in comparison is probably 2/3 times the size.*
Written 9 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for contacting Mother Shipton’s. We are pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed the adventure playground and our themed adventure trail. We put on different themed events for each of the school holidays, including Easter, Summer, Halloween and Christmas. It’s good to know that you can appreciate the hard work that goes into the attraction and that you noticed how well looked after this ancient site is, as well as how much time and effort that goes into curating our themed event displays. We are a privately owned attraction, and all admission fees go back into protecting this ancient attraction for future generations to enjoy. Our admission fees are within market rates and we hope that you can understand how much work such a site requires to be safe, clean and running smoothly. The cave is small, it is not advertised as an underground cave network. The significance of this small cave is that it is the birthplace of the Yorkshire Prophetess Mother Shipton! Can you imagine giving birth inside this cave, then living there with the baby for 2 years? The name of the attraction is ‘Mother Shipton’s Cave’, but the main attraction is the Petrifying Well, which has been on show to visitors since 1630. We hope your wishes come true! Kind Regards, Mother Shipton’s.
Written 10 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Corrine B
11 contributions
Very enjoyable
Aug 2021 • Solo
On Monday, I went to Knaresborough, where I had a great day out. A friend if mine had mention Old Mother Shipton's Cave, & I went. I liked it, I love the walk up to the cave. It is full of curios, Humpty-Dumpty, Alice, the hares & rabbits, the petrified well where all sort of objects are turned to stone. A great day out.
Written 8 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for contacting Mother Shipton’s. We are very happy to hear about your enjoyable visit to Mother Shipton’s and seeing all of the curiosities within this ancient attraction! It’s great to know that you found the petrifying well so fascinating and we can’t wait to welcome you back to see even more curiosities on your next visit. Kind Regards, Mother Shipton’s.
Written 10 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lily G
Leeds, UK3 contributions
Wonderful place
Aug 2021 • Family
I had always wanted to visit Mother Shiptons and finally got there this year and it was a magical experience if you haven't been i highly recommend you give it a try the atmosphere is tranquil and the walk up to the petrifying well and mother Shiptons cave is lovely lots to see and explore i give it 10 stars 😊
Written 8 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for contacting Mother Shipton’s. We are thrilled to hear about your magical experience visiting us! It’s great to know that you felt it is a wonderful place with a tranquil atmosphere. It’s amazing that you would give us 10 stars! We can’t wait to welcome you back for another wonderful visit. Kind Regards, Mother Shipton’s.
Written 10 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 21-30 of 1,715
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing