We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Interesting house tour,gardens and grounds

Unable to book tour time on entry, so booked later time and walked around gardens and grounds... read more

Reviewed 21 September 2017
VHMW
,
UK
Saturday visit

This place is cracking. Tucked away in deepest Northamptonshire, it's easy to find and plenty of... read more

Reviewed 20 August 2017
manxboy
,
Cambridge, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 127 reviews
73
All photos (73)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good23%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
About
One of Britain’s grandest and best-preserved stately homes with a fabulous art collection and a restored 18th-century designed landscape gardens, woodlands and a grand country park. It is open every Easter and August for guided tours and at other...more
Contact
Boughton House Boughton Park, Kettering NN14 1BJ, England
Website
+44 1536 515731
Call
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Boughton House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
66
30
16
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
66
30
16
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate roomsrose gardenno photography allowedguided tourknowledgeable guidegrand etanggift shoplimited opening timesvan dyckground floorlovely groundsstately homegrand buildinggreat guideextensive groundshome madeenjoyable visit
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 30 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Sadly, this stately home is only open in August. There are 3 tours you can opt to go on as well as paying the entrance fee. The first at no extra cost is of the great Hall and some ground floor rooms. The second is...More

Thank adventuroushare
Charles L, Manager at Boughton House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you very much for your review - just to clarify that the most a person can pay for all three tours is £22., The Staterooms and Great Hall are £10 each but its £12 in total if you do both. The Books and Beyond...More

Reviewed 21 September 2017

Unable to book tour time on entry, so booked later time and walked around gardens and grounds first. Nice visit. Advise other visitors to obtain house tour ticket on arrival to avoid delay. We had lunch first.

Thank VHMW
Charles L, Manager at Boughton House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Thank you for your review and booking on arrival is suggested as early tours can become quickly full. best wishes

Reviewed 8 September 2017

I've lived so close to Boughton House all my life and had never looked round before. Our local Ladies Leisure group obviously felt the same, so we decided to visit while the house was open in August. I felt sorry for our organiser. She couldn't...More

Thank ellie_bennett
Charles L, Manager at Boughton House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you very much for your review and glad you enjoyed your visit. I am very sorry that there seemed to be a mix up with the booking process - did you arrive before noon as that's when the entrance gates open? We do open...More

Reviewed 6 September 2017

The Great Hall and State Rooms tours enable wonderful paintings, furniture and tapestries to be seen, but the size of the groups means that it's necessary to peer around other visitors. The website states that each tour is approximately an hour but one tour was...More

Thank Anon_Bristol_12
Charles L, Manager at Boughton House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for your review. Tour times can be variable and we are currently trying to get the balance right with a variety of visitors in the tours between those people who seem to find half an hour tour a strain and those would like...More

Reviewed 1 September 2017

Beautiful house all round. We had seen the place from the road with impressive lawn and view to the house. Lovely gardens around the house and park land and lakes beyond. We did a house tour led by a very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly man...More

Thank Liz H
Charles L, Manager at Boughton House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you very much for your very kind review - glad you enjoyed the visit!

Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

I had been looking forward to this visit for a while especially with the statement about it being 'England's Versailles'. Who wouldn't be. I was curious about having to pay separately for each of the tours which could work out to be quite expensive if...More

Thank tlouss
Charles L, Manager at Boughton House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you for your review and I am sorry it was not all completely to your satisfaction. We do try to strike a balance between visitor enjoyment and the necessary security and I am sorry if in this case it has not worked. The tours...More

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

We went to visit the gardens on a beautiful sunny day, the plan was to have a walk and enjoy the peace and tranquility of an English garden. We were told the Orpheus was out of bounds due to a festival taking place. In fact...More

Thank Lesley G
Charles L, Manager at Boughton House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit due to the other activity on site. We did try to alert visitors in advance that Orpheus would not be available due to the festival. I should confirm that...More

Reviewed 25 August 2017

The house is impressive - it was designed to impress. Paintings by Van Dyck, tapestries and porcelain. But what took our breath away were the gardens, and the flair of the gardeners. The white enclosed garden, the pinks and purples of the rose garden and...More

Thank Lynda J
Charles L, Manager at Boughton House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you very much for your most kind review, glad you are enjoyed it.

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

The gardens are outstanding. The Head Gardner is to be congratulated on the wonderful colour combinations and stunning vistas. He is obviously a plantsman who takes great joy in his work. My particular favourites were the rose garden and the walled garden.

Thank Elizabeth E
Charles L, Manager at Boughton House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review, glad you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

This place is cracking. Tucked away in deepest Northamptonshire, it's easy to find and plenty of parking. Nice gift shop and ticket sells local beers, vodka, Gin, honey and ice cream. I bought three bottles of beer and honey, beer is good, haven't tried honey...More

1  Thank manxboy
Charles L, Manager at Boughton House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you very much for your very kind review - glad you enjoyed it :)

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Kettering
Holiday Inn Express Kettering
479 reviews
2.11 miles away
Barton Hall Hotel
270 reviews
2.75 miles away
Hawthorn House Hotel
45 reviews
2.90 miles away
Premier Inn Kettering Hotel
563 reviews
3.31 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 227 restaurants in Kettering
Sage & Brooke
257 reviews
1.65 miles away
Mexican Fire Garden
22 reviews
1.71 miles away
The Warren
161 reviews
2.10 miles away
Miller & Carter
90 reviews
2.15 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 145 attractions in Kettering
Church of Mary Magdalene
11 reviews
.56 miles away
Geddington Bridge
5 reviews
.94 miles away
Eleanor Cross
50 reviews
.98 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Christine B
14 August 2018|
Answer
Response from Charles L | Property representative |
Thanks for your enquiry - we have a number of lovely lawns where you can enjoy a picnic lunch but no specific picnic facilities. best wishes
0
Votes
Jyliet S
27 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Charles L | Property representative |
Dear Jyliet - Thank you for your email - the ground floor of the house and much of the gardens are accessible - for more information please see our website which has a comprehensive document on accessibility in the "Plan a... More
0
Votes
02kiki
10 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Charles L | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry - we do charge admission - full details can be found on our website: House and Gardens Includes access to the Gardens, Handel Exhibition and Armoury Adults £10.00 Children (5 – 16) £8.00... More
0
Votes