We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Excellent - great guided tours, extremely interesting

We have been meaning to visit for some time but keep missing the limited opening season. Finally... read more

Reviewed 21 August 2016
Loddington, United Kingdom
educational guided tour

Have driven past Boughton House on many occasions en route to sunny Norfolk. Finally decided to... read more

Reviewed 19 August 2016
Robert W
Rugby, United Kingdom
Read all 127 reviews
All photos (73)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good23%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
One of Britain’s grandest and best-preserved stately homes with a fabulous art collection and a restored 18th-century designed landscape gardens, woodlands and a grand country park. It is open every Easter and August for guided tours and at other...more
Boughton House Boughton Park, Kettering NN14 1BJ, England
+44 1536 515731
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Boughton House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate roomsrose gardenno photography allowedguided tourknowledgeable guidegrand etanggift shoplimited opening timesvan dyckground floorlovely groundsstately homegrand buildinggreat guideextensive groundshome madeenjoyable visit
Updating list...
51 - 60 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2016

I love visiting beautiful gardens and historic country homes and have visited many so was looking forward to visiting Boughton House as it is only open to the public 1 month of the year, which is August. I found it was totally over priced. We...More

Thank Susan M
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Visited here today not realising that it didn't open until midday. However, we were able to book tours of house and state rooms both of which last about 45 minutes. The gardens were quite extensive and we had a pleasant walk around them

Thank Val509
Reviewed 23 August 2016

My daughter's school, had their Prom night here, and we were invited to see them arrive. It is a beautiful place, even better close up. Well worth a visit.

Thank malc1005
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We visited as part of a group booking on a coach trip. I think it is very expensive and has several different entry price levels, depending on what you wish to see, not worth the money quite honestly. Our tour guide was awful, an elderly...More

2  Thank Nannyhenny
Charles L, Manager at Boughton House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Thanks you for your feedback and I am sorry you did not enjoy the visit. I will indeed look into the matters you have raised in particular in relation to the guided tours as we receive a considerable amount of unsolicited positive feedback on this...More

Reviewed 21 August 2016

We have been meaning to visit for some time but keep missing the limited opening season. Finally managed to go and it was lovely. The 2 guided tours (great hall and state rooms) were excellent and the guides were very good, enthusiastic and knowledgeable. I...More

1  Thank miffy71
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Guided house tour and walk around the gardens for £10. The house tour was good with a friendly knowledgeable guide. The gardens were slightly disappointing, but that's maybe because we've been spoiled by visiting RHS gardens!! Good tea and selection of cakes in the tea...More

Thank Louise T
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Everything about this place was exceptional, from the welcome onwards. The house tour was detailed and given by an excellent guide and the estate tour was lovely. The contents of the house are of first class quality and the history fascinating. The lunch was wonderful...More

Thank poppy92016
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Having planned for the M in Law to come and stay this week end a visit to boughton house was always on the cards. We had tried to get her and the F in Law down to visit the gardens and in particular the Opheous...More

1  Thank interferingidiot
Charles L, Manager at Boughton House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to Boughton and in particular in relation to Orpheus. Unfortunately the landform has suffered damage and is in the process of being repaired, we do clearly state on both the website and the map that...More

Reviewed 19 August 2016

Have driven past Boughton House on many occasions en route to sunny Norfolk. Finally decided to visit, and it was well worth it, albeit no concessions for o.a.p's. Tour of the gardens prior to our timed tour's of the house were a little disappointing as...More

Thank Robert W
Charles L, Manager at Boughton House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2016

Thank you for your feedback and comments. I should point out that the Walled Garden was open to visitors as normal - I shall ask the events team if they can make it clearer that their fences do not obstruct access to this feature and...More

Reviewed 15 August 2016

This was our first visit to Boughton House and it was very enjoyable - will definitely go again. The £10.00 charge for the gardens and the Grand Hall tour was excellent value - the guide was knowledgeable, informative and very easy to listen to. We...More

Thank annieh310
View more reviews
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Kettering
Holiday Inn Express Kettering
479 reviews
2.11 miles away
Barton Hall Hotel
270 reviews
2.75 miles away
Hawthorn House Hotel
45 reviews
2.90 miles away
Premier Inn Kettering Hotel
563 reviews
3.31 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 227 restaurants in Kettering
Sage & Brooke
257 reviews
1.65 miles away
Mexican Fire Garden
22 reviews
1.71 miles away
The Warren
161 reviews
2.10 miles away
Miller & Carter
90 reviews
2.15 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 145 attractions in Kettering
Church of Mary Magdalene
11 reviews
.56 miles away
Geddington Bridge
5 reviews
.94 miles away
Eleanor Cross
50 reviews
.98 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Christine B
14 August 2018|
Response from Charles L | Property representative |
Thanks for your enquiry - we have a number of lovely lawns where you can enjoy a picnic lunch but no specific picnic facilities. best wishes
Jyliet S
27 July 2017|
Response from Charles L | Property representative |
Dear Jyliet - Thank you for your email - the ground floor of the house and much of the gardens are accessible - for more information please see our website which has a comprehensive document on accessibility in the "Plan a... More
10 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Charles L | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry - we do charge admission - full details can be found on our website: House and Gardens Includes access to the Gardens, Handel Exhibition and Armoury Adults £10.00 Children (5 – 16) £8.00... More