Whitehouse Farm Centre
Whitehouse Farm Centre
4.5
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Whitehouse farm has a HUGE variety of animals from traditional farm breeds to small animals, pets and exotic species. There is something for all, Meet the Meerkats, have a Hoot with the Owls and be Mesmerised by the Marmosets and much much more!! You can join in with small animal handling everyday, go to see interactive animal talks and feeds, meet all the critters, swoop down to the bird of prey meet and greet and in spring bottle feed lambs (seasonal). There's even a chance for some Farmtastic fun for the kids to play and explore! We have a huge castle catapult toboggan slide, bouncy pillows, trampolines, go-carts, two adventure playgrounds, a soft play, race cars, Jurassic jeeps, peddle tractors and you can even hop on a real tractor ride which also run everyday. Check out our website for special events on bank holidays and in school holidays. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram for updates and adorable animal pictures.
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

See what travellers are saying
  • marielin-28
    Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom8 contributions
    Fab place, shame about the food
    Had a great day. It’s not cheap but you do get a lot for your money. The playgrounds are excellent and our little one loved seeing all the animals. You could easily spend a whole day here. The staff are friendly and helpful. The only downside is the cafe - the food is really not good. We ordered a kids meal with sausages and it came with one sausage which was rock hard. I ordered a ham salad sandwich and was given the most bizarre sandwich I’ve ever seen - huge thick cut chunks of cucumber, tomato and red onion, lots of grated carrot and two slices of cheap white sliced bread (I asked for brown when given the option). The chips were pretty bad too. For the price I’d say the food was bad value for money and the tables etc felt quite dirty. If the cafe was improved I really wouldn’t be able to fault the whole place.
    Hi! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it! We are extremely pleased to hear that you had a nice day whilst visiting us. In regards to the cafe, we can't apologise enough for the service you received on your visit. Offering a 5 star experience is extremely important to us, in all areas of the farm. We completely agree that this was not the case for the cafe. We have taken all feedback on board and are working extremely hard to improve in this area. We have hired a new experienced cafe manager and a new cook. We are re-training all staff members and also changing food suppliers. Your feedback is really important to us, so thank you for letting us know. We hope to improve massively in this area so everyone can have the best day ever when visiting us. We hope you can give us another chance sometime in the future. Thank you.
    Written 1 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Written 8 May 2023
  • Mark N
    2 contributions
    Great day out for the kids BUT - TAKE A PACKED LUNCH
    Outstanding place to visit with the grandchildren, worth every penny EXCEPT the food in the cafe........ £7.45 for a hot dog with out the advertised onions on top or onion rings and a stale bun. £5.50 for a dry tuna sandwich and late delivered salad which turned out to be just coleslaw - staff cited being busy even thought the cafe was 75% empty. So if you bring your food you'll have a great time!!
    Hi Mark, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, it is much appreciated! We are pleased to hear you typically enjoy your visits with us. We strive for 5 star service across our whole site and we are so sorry you didn't get this experience in the cafe on your visit. We are putting all our efforts into getting the cafe on the same outstanding level as the rest of the farm, it is under new management and we are currently making a lot of changes. We do hope you can give our cafe another chance in the future. We hope to see you again soon!
    Written 30 August 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Written 15 May 2023
  • Lynda
    17 contributions
    Fun for all the family
    Visited with my daughter and grandkids, we have been many times as live in area. The kids had a lovely day, they loved holding the rabbit and little mouse in the petting barn and feeding the goats. The magic show was a big hit with kids and adults too, definitely worth watching. The only reason I didn’t give 5 stars is due to our experience in the cafe. We ordered two jacket potatoes with cheese savoury and informed that there would be 5-10 min wait. 25 minutes later they arrived, the kids had finished their meals and their patience’s was running out. One of the cheese savoury potato’s also had tuna mayonnaise in it and looked like they had used same utensil for both Tuna and cheese savoury. My daughter is unable to eat fish and returned it and immediately, the girl serving did not seem happy when we requested for it to be changed. We will avoid the cafe in future and take a picnic.
    Hi! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, it is massively appreciated. We are so pleased to hear you had a lovely day with us on your visit. We are so sorry about your experience in the cafe, we absolutely understand your frustration and reasoning for giving us 3 stars. We are deeply saddened that you didn't get our usual high standard of service. Feedback, negative or positive, is extremely important to us. We take all information on board, re-train staff and improve in the necessary areas so every visitor has the best day possible. We hope this didn't ruin your visit and we hope to see you again soon!
    Written 1 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 9 August 2023
  • Marrehyo
    York, United Kingdom19 contributions
    Autism friendly and well organised Christmas event
    We went for the Christmas experience. It is so well thought out and SEN and autism friendly. It's not the sort of thing we would usually be able to manage to do because our daughter struggles with busy noisy unpredictable environments but our daughter loves the farm so much that we thought we'd try it this year and booked the earliest slot we could in the hope it wouldn't be too packed. It is expensive but it was absolutely worth it for us. It is organised so you are kept busy doing things and not waiting in a queue at all for Santa, and all the families are spread out so it is a very quiet stress minimal environment. The little things like the way the visit to the toy shop to pick a gift is managed so it's not too many people in there at once makes a big difference for our family. The elves were absolutely lovely, very accomodating when our daughter needed a few minutes to calm down when she got overwhelmed and when she announced she needed the toilet right before she was about to see Santa, nothing was too much trouble and there were no questions or judgements which we sadly have to deal with all the time elsewhere but never at Whitehouse Farm. The 'real' talking reindeer was amazing! Santa in his log cabin with a real fire was lovely, not rushed at all he had a good chat with our daughter and knew things about her.. she's excited to put her magic reindeer food out on Christmas eve. She loved elf school with the slapstick comedy (I don't know the head elf's name but she always loves his shows they are pitched just right for her to understand the humour) and making her own cuddly toy, she loved handling the animals and getting her passport stamped everywhere. The only thing that was very stressful was lunch. We got to the cafe about 1pm because of the show times and trying to manage everything at the time it would be quietest, and it was really busy with a very long queue, it was a long wait to get a table and with all the events going on there was nowhere warm indoors to go and sit to eat pack lunch if you bought it, so the cafe was the only option. Although you can get a kids lunchbox quickly and skip the hot meal queue if you want to, you still have to queue even for sandwich for adults. It's not well organised and could be done better, but the staff were all friendly and doing their best. Go early or later for lunch if you can when it's not peak time. A seating area for bringing your own lunch somewhere warm and dry, and a better organised system for the cafe where you can grab cold food quickly if that's all you want would make it much better. Also our daughter was really excited about the new softplay, it was probably top of her list and it wasn't open yet so I wish I had known that beforehand so I wouldn't have told her it would be and then she wouldn't have been disappointed. But we look forward to seeing it in the spring and all in all she had a great time and made some wonderful memories.
    Visited November 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 27 November 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
693 reviews
Excellent
497
Very good
131
Average
35
Poor
14
Terrible
16

Alan F
North Shields, UK12 contributions
Nov 2023 • Family
We are regular visitors to the farm but 1st time xmas visitors. We cannot recommend it enough, from the tractor ride to where Santa resides. The elves were brilliant really made the day . So much to do not only see Santa the elves and a naughty Prancer the reindeer. You can also build a bear watch a show decorate a cookie visit Elf school. Let’s not forget the animals as well. A fantastic day out for all the family
Written 28 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Marrehyo
York, UK19 contributions
Nov 2023 • Family
We went for the Christmas experience. It is so well thought out and SEN and autism friendly. It's not the sort of thing we would usually be able to manage to do because our daughter struggles with busy noisy unpredictable environments but our daughter loves the farm so much that we thought we'd try it this year and booked the earliest slot we could in the hope it wouldn't be too packed. It is expensive but it was absolutely worth it for us. It is organised so you are kept busy doing things and not waiting in a queue at all for Santa, and all the families are spread out so it is a very quiet stress minimal environment. The little things like the way the visit to the toy shop to pick a gift is managed so it's not too many people in there at once makes a big difference for our family. The elves were absolutely lovely, very accomodating when our daughter needed a few minutes to calm down when she got overwhelmed and when she announced she needed the toilet right before she was about to see Santa, nothing was too much trouble and there were no questions or judgements which we sadly have to deal with all the time elsewhere but never at Whitehouse Farm.

The 'real' talking reindeer was amazing! Santa in his log cabin with a real fire was lovely, not rushed at all he had a good chat with our daughter and knew things about her.. she's excited to put her magic reindeer food out on Christmas eve. She loved elf school with the slapstick comedy (I don't know the head elf's name but she always loves his shows they are pitched just right for her to understand the humour) and making her own cuddly toy, she loved handling the animals and getting her passport stamped everywhere.

The only thing that was very stressful was lunch. We got to the cafe about 1pm because of the show times and trying to manage everything at the time it would be quietest, and it was really busy with a very long queue, it was a long wait to get a table and with all the events going on there was nowhere warm indoors to go and sit to eat pack lunch if you bought it, so the cafe was the only option. Although you can get a kids lunchbox quickly and skip the hot meal queue if you want to, you still have to queue even for sandwich for adults. It's not well organised and could be done better, but the staff were all friendly and doing their best. Go early or later for lunch if you can when it's not peak time. A seating area for bringing your own lunch somewhere warm and dry, and a better organised system for the cafe where you can grab cold food quickly if that's all you want would make it much better.

Also our daughter was really excited about the new softplay, it was probably top of her list and it wasn't open yet so I wish I had known that beforehand so I wouldn't have told her it would be and then she wouldn't have been disappointed. But we look forward to seeing it in the spring and all in all she had a great time and made some wonderful memories.
Written 27 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

PaulineSelby
Sheffield, UK16 contributions
Oct 2023 • Family
Wonderful place. So much for kids to do. Loved the big castle slide with tyres to sit on. Granny (me) and Grandad enjoyed it as much as the kids!

Friendly helpful staff too.
Written 5 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

DavidMcGuire
Edinburgh, UK114 contributions
Oct 2023 • Family
As a family, we visited Whitehouse Farm in October 2023. Despite reading positive reviews on TripAdvisor, we only expected to be at the form for a couple of hours. We ended up spending 5 hours on the farm. There is loads to do (small animal petting, tractor rides, large slide, playground, pillow trampoline, Go-karts, birds of prey flying amongst other things). Most impressive of all were the staff. They were genuinely friendly, interested and happy to spend time engaging with guests. They are a credit to the farm and made the day special. We had a lovely lunchtime meal at the restaurant which was great and reasonably-priced too. Overall, we were very impressed by Whitehouse farm and delighted to spend time as a family on the farm. Thanks to all the staff for giving us a great day
Written 18 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

A M
Carlisle, UK13 contributions
Aug 2023 • Family
We had a really great time with a 5 month old and a 5 year old. There is a great mix of activities and all the animals you can see and mix with was really enjoyable. The lady taking the bird of prey shows was incredibly kind and I’d like to specially mention her, I can’t really fault the experience.
Written 24 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi, we are so pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your visit with us. The lady doing the bird of prey was Cheryl, we'll be sure to pass on your lovely comments to her. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon.
Written 8 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Barbara P
4 contributions
Aug 2023 • Family
Clean & tidy, animals seemed happy and the staff were friendly & helpful. Good selection of animals and the play area had alot to offer. Definitely would go back
Written 8 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with us, hope to see you again soon!
Written 8 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nottsgv
Notts8 contributions
Aug 2023 • Family
My girls (3&7years) had an awesome time here. Feeding and being up close with the animals but there is also so much more to do here as well. The epic rubber ring slide, Bird displays, magic shows, singing with princesses and playgrounds. It’s an amazing day tout.
Written 28 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi! Thank you so much for leaving us such a lovely review. Your support is massively appreciated by all of the team. We are so pleased you and your girls enjoyed your day with us, and we can't wait to see you again soon. Thank you again for visiting.
Written 30 August 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Claire F
1 contribution
Aug 2023 • Couples
Had a great time. Especially enjoyed watching and listening to the falconer. He was really informative and was brilliant with adults and children alike. Lots of different animals to look at and learn about. Loads for children to do. Lovely cafe and souvenir shop.
Written 28 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Claire, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, it is hugely appreciated. We are so glad you had a great visit with the Whitehouse Farm Family, David (the Falconer) is new to the team and the positive feedback we have received already is amazing. We are so so pleased we have found another amazing addition to our little team. I'll be sure to pass on your feedback to David, I'm sure he will be thrilled to hear. Hope to see you again soon!
Written 30 August 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Charlotte C
7 contributions
Aug 2023 • Family
The keepers were exceptional, the bird handler was amazing and supported every adult and child to have interactions with the birds. Also very knowledgeable in sharing fun facts. The two handlers in the barn were also amazing, entertaining the children with creepy crawlies, small animals and the goats. Great personalities and really caring with the animals. Our experience was great based on the keepers who were a credit to the farm. Our niece is 10 and enjoyed the animals (even with a bad back).
Written 27 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. We totally agree, our staff are a real credit to the farm, we really couldn't do it without them. We'll be sure to pass on your kind comments to them. Thanks again for visiting.
Written 30 August 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Passenger39510380269
Whitley Bay, UK1 contribution
Aug 2023 • Family
5 stars. Brilliant day out.
Great variety of animals, which are clearly all well cared for and happy.
The staff are absolutely brilliant, every member of staff we saw were super friendly and knowledgable, and clearly have a real love for the animals in their care. All go out of their way to make sure visitors are engaged and enjoying their day. The two girls running the petting barn were absolutely excellent with my 3 yr old (and all the other children there) and had plenty of super interesting facts about the animals there. The staff really are a huge asset for this place.
The play facilities on site are fab, two play parks (one of which is very big with huge slides) and another area with trampolines and jumping pillows (which my 3 yr old loves!). All really well looked after.
We live local and have been before, and will definitely visit again. This place is a real gem and a fabulous day out. Cannot recommend enough.
Written 24 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi! Wow, thank you so much! Your review has put a smile on all of our faces. Our staff are amazing, and it is great to see that being noticed by visitors. They deserve all the credit in the world. Thank you so much for visiting and supporting us, it us massively appreciated and we hope to see you again very soon.
Written 30 August 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 691
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

WHITEHOUSE FARM CENTRE: Tickets, Tours & Things to Know (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Whitehouse Farm Centre

Whitehouse Farm Centre is open:
  • Sun - Sat 10:00 - 17:00


Restaurants near Whitehouse Farm Centre: View all restaurants near Whitehouse Farm Centre on Tripadvisor