The School of Artisan Food
The School of Artisan Food
5
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Located on the beautiful Welbeck Estate in the heart of Sherwood Forest, Nottinghamshire, the School offers a wide range of artisan cookery courses, suitable for all skill levels. There are one-day courses in bakery, cheese making, butchery ice-cream and chocolate making, preserves, charcuterie and brewing plus advanced, professional courses in baking and cheese making. The School is also an ideal venue for bespoke courses, corporate and team building days.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
5.0
295 reviews
Excellent
276
Very good
14
Average
3
Poor
2
Terrible
0

LLMWF
Stockholm, Sweden2 contributions
Nov 2023 • Solo
Took a Historical cookery course. Everything was fantastic from the grounds, staff, refreshments, and of course the lecture/cookery course by food historian Ivan Day.
Written 13 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Vaughan C
3 contributions
Sep 2023 • Solo
I recently attended a 2 day introductory course on Charcuterie at the school which was excellent. I have tasted the salami and other products that we made and they are all delicious. I have been going to the school since 2011, primarily on short baking courses. As a result, my skills have reached a professional level and I have been running a successful Wood-Fired pizza business for 7 years as well as catering for weddings with items such as bread, quiche, pork pies etc using recipes and techniques that I have learnt on the courses. I can't recommend this place highly enough.
Written 30 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

MR&REDavies
5 contributions
Aug 2023 • Solo
The day was fantastic. I cook outside a lot but Sally was brilliant in imparting knowledge on fire management, using charcoal or wood on a mixture of different set ups from traditional Indian Kadai to the ultramodern ceramic egg BBQs.
Arrival - Parking was easy and finding the entrance to the course was also simple. There was ample breakfast and coffee provided.
Introduction - Sally and the team clearly work hard to provide the best produce with high quality provenance. Intros were swift if slightly erratic; yet Sally acknowledges how much there was to get done in the time and pushed us all hard.
Throughout the Day - There is an incredible amount of information to take away; just like the food. The notes provided are a handy help. Key note for any attenders is to take photos and videos of all recipes and demonstrations as some recipes were spontaneous.
Lunch - Impeccable
Dinner - Medieval Feast worthy (minus the flowing ale and wine).
Returning home with several small boxes of all the produce we made and cooked is the cherry on the cake and my girls were thrilled to try the "magical food" that we created.
Thank you to the whole team. Wholly recommended.
Written 15 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jan H
13 contributions
Jul 2022 • Friends
Disappointing. Today we visited the school for a cookery demonstration, an ideal location, a perfect set up but so missed an opportunity to impress us. Admittedly it was the hottest day of the year to sit in a demonstration theatre with upholstered seats & carpet which was no one’s fault. However, no microphone, no mirror to see what was being demonstrated, no TV for it to be relayed to, no aircon. Hence couldn’t see, could barely hear and was so uncomfortably hot.
Thank you for the WI committee for providing cold drinks and refreshments afterwards.
Written 11 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Jan, Re: ‘Disapointing’ Review. We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit to The School of Artisan Food for the Women’s Institute event; however, we did not design or deliver the content of this event, but were merely the hosts. Our building is historic and characterful, and we are proud of it. You are correct that we do not have air conditioning in that room or the ability to control the hottest day of the year. Our lecture theatre is really quite compact and demonstrations have been run successfully in the past many times, but we do have the facility to show images of demonstrations if these are requested by the organisers, by virtue of our large display screen. This was not requested in advance of the course, or indeed on the day. We would of course, have responded and solved this issue if it had been raised.
Written 23 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

tilley057
Nottingham, UK32 contributions
Feb 2020 • Solo
An amazing training school with specialist skills. A great range of courses throughout the year. The tutors are all handpicked for what they can bring to teaching and passing on their specialist skills. I have personally been on 4 of the courses ranging from cheese & butter, sausages, breadmaking and preserves. All of which were really enjoyable. I have also had a variety of guests stay with me from different parts of the world to learn some of these skills.
Written 14 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Lenka W
2 contributions
Nov 2019 • Friends
Brilliant course, suitable for both complete beginners and home bakers with some experience. We baked 7 loaves in two days, went through theory and various interesting "experiments" with starters. The lecturer Emmanuel is pationate, knowledgeable and led the class in a relaxed and pleasant manner, happy to answer any questions and explain things. The school provides light breakfast with pastries and tea/coffee and delicious lunch on both days. Overall, great experience, highly recommended, I will be back again.
Written 14 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

tilley057
Nottingham, UK32 contributions
Oct 2019
This is the 3rd course I have been on this year. First the breadmaking course, then the sausage making and recently the soft cheese, yoghurt & butter making. I have loved all of them.
Looking forward to the schedule for 2020 and the preserves and foraging courses....keep them coming, this is getting addictive.
Written 12 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Bobchops
Chester, UK71 contributions
Sep 2019
I can quite honestly say I have just spent three amazing days with The School of Artisan Food and Emmanuel. Every single aspect of the course was well executed and exceeded all expectations. In fact, given the quality of the course and the outstanding hospitality offered to all delegates by the School staff, I would go as far to say the course is humbly under-priced for what it offers.

Keep this excellent standard up and keep doing what you do! While I can't think of a single negative or area for improvement, it may just be worth notifying future delegates that they will need to hire a van hire, to carry the abundant amount of bread home.

Top Marks! (Don't hesitate)

Stephen Thorp
Written 23 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Sueki_999
Nottingham, UK16 contributions
Aug 2019 • Solo
A fantastic course in a lovely location. Emmanuel is a great teacher. I learned loads and came away with lots of different kinds of bread that I was really proud of having made myself. I also now have the confidence to make them again at home. If you'd like to learn how to make bread, or improve your bread making, I'd really recommend this course.
Written 25 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Londoner
UK20 contributions
Aug 2019
The course was led by Emmanuel Hadjiandreou who was inspiring, fun and very thorough. He set a busy pace and we baked hard. The workroom was air conditioned, stylish and well equipped. It was also very spacious. The school itself is set in a very picturesque location on the Welbeck Estate. The staff look after you well and the food, some of it produced by students on the professional level courses, was incredible. I came home with so much bread but I found homes for most loaves so I could set to baking again. I wish I lived a little closer, I'd do several more courses!
Written 9 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 295
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

THE SCHOOL OF ARTISAN FOOD: Tickets, Tours & Things to Know (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about The School of Artisan Food

The School of Artisan Food is open:
  • Mon - Fri 09:00 - 17:00