We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Air Force Museum

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Shifnal TF11 8UP, England
Phone Number:
+44 1902 376200
Website
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 17:00
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,729 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 1381
    Excellent
  • 290
    Very good
  • 26
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Fantastic day out.

Had an amazing day out. I went with my 8 year old son. We were really impressed with the displays and the information given. The interactive bits were good also. They were busy... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed yesterday
mabelle223
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Shifnal

Add Photo Write a Review

1,729 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,710: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Had an amazing day out. I went with my 8 year old son. We were really impressed with the displays and the information given. The interactive bits were good also. They were busy when we 1st went in at 11am as was the 4d experience. So we went back at 315pm and was really quiet. We were the only ones... More 

Helpful?
Thank mabelle223
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Just 3 pounds to park no admission charge. Fantastic displays with so much information. Clean and welcoming. Well worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank alimbutt
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Travelled all the way from North Staffs and arrived to find that the Museum was closed due to High Winds. We went up to the car park to turn the car around and along with other very disappointed customers, we were turned away. We couldn't understand why we couldn't at least go in the hangers to see some of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank jandj707
karen c, Public Relations Manager at Royal Air Force Museum, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were disappointed that we had to close on 23 February. This is the first time in five years that the museum has had to close the whole site owing to severe weather conditions. The decision was taken on the Thursday morning after assessing the weather conditions on site and the forecast warnings. Our priority is... More 

derbyshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went here for an afternoon out and was impressed with the exhibits, however less impressed with the dirty toilets and the lacklustre cafe that does not have any gluten free options. It is free entry, but several activities are charged at random prices, either £5 or £6.99 to experience, and there is the obligatory over priced gift shop. £2.95 for... More 

Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireFlyboy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Kids love looking at all the aircraft, been a fair few times and each time they enjoy it and the 4d cinema part

Helpful?
Thank 196rachaelm
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Great collection in the midlands biggest air museum including some very rare and interesting British prototype aircraft. This museum has a large collection including all 3 of the V bombers the victor, valiant and the legendary vulcan! A great day out, most of the exhibits are indoors, excellent facilities, ample parking and free entry.

Helpful?
Thank Nick G
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We spent about 3hours here. Entrance is free, you only need pay for parking which cost £3. The hangers are full of fantastic looking aircraft. There are clear descriptions of each one on a board in front of each plane. Most of them also had a brief summary written in French, German and Japanese. I found it all very interesting.... More 

Helpful?
Thank penelope_pit_stop123
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We pay one or two visits to Cosford a year, one for the air show in June and at least one more for other events or new exhibits. The museum's main focus is Cold War aircraft and some really beautiful and rare development aircraft. The displays are well laid out and if you go into detail on all them you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
Plympton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

In a moment of weakness offered to drive the wife up to Telford for a conference so needed to find something to do for a few hours. Very happy that I made the decision to visit. Excellent range of interesting exhibits covering a wide range of aviation history. Particularly impressed by the Vulcan. Was busy in the café as expected... More 

Helpful?
Thank jmtc68
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Although male oriented this attraction has something that will appeal to most people. Cold War exhibits fascinating. Catering rather lacking. At 1pm on a weekday lots of food had run out. No rolls for the soup. The advertised baked goods had gone. Take a picnic there are tables outside. A good free day out. You just pay fpr parking.

Helpful?
Thank safariUk

Travellers who viewed Royal Air Force Museum also viewed

 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to Royal Air Force Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Royal Air Force Museum and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Solihull, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Birmingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Air Force Museum staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?