We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Churnet Valley Railway

Leek, United Kingdom
More
About Churnet Valley Railway
The Churnet Valley Railway takes you on a journey back to the 1950s and 1960s. Take a break from busy urban life and hop on board a steam train to ride in a heritage carriage behind one of our beautifully restored heritage steam or diesel locomotives. Pass through delightful countryside with riverside views and The Cauldon Canal. You can learn more about the history of Churnet Valley Railway and the North Staffordshire Railway Company in our small museum based at Cheddleton Station, which houses a wealth of information and memorabilia. Fancy a bite to eat during your day out? Then enjoy the traditional atmosphere in our Signals Tea Room at Froghall Station, The Tea Room offers freshly brewed coffee, cooked breakfast, lunch including hot and cold sandwiches, cream teas and a delicious selection of cakes. On a cold day bask in the warmth of an open fire and listen to some music on the wireless. Signals Tea Room is wheelchair accessible and child-friendly.
Read more
Closed today
Hours Today: Closed
See all hours
Travellers talk about

Churnet Valley Railway
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
626Reviews8Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 369
  • 139
  • 54
  • 31
  • 33
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
gezzaAfc wrote a review Yesterday
aberdeen24 contributions8 helpful votes
We were held up and the railway station staff telephone us and as we were only a couple of miles away they said they would wait for us which was customer service at its best , the staff were first class the trip was excellent the food was excellent , I would highly recommend this trip
Read more
Date of experience: October 2021
Helpful
Share
priceofcoal wrote a review 14 Oct
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom19 contributions25 helpful votes
stop ripping people off! been attending events for over 20 years but the prices now are a scandal you should be ashamed of yourselves.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Rob N wrote a review 8 Oct
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom414 contributions129 helpful votes
A nice afternoon out with a steam locomotive pulling the carriages through pleasant countryside. We had a cream tea which was pleasant and tasty, but there was a shortage of jam and cream for the four of us.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Dave M wrote a review 6 Oct
1 contribution
We are rarely compelled to write a scathing review but feel utterly let down by this poorly run company. Weeks in advance we paid for a “lunch experience” and were really looking forward to it as part of our holiday. We arrived at 1230 for a 1330 departure but didn’t discover until 1300 that there was no chef and no lunch. Some people had been informed so they bought up all the food in the cafe, we had heard nothing. We were told that there would be plenty of tea and biscuits so we went ahead with the ride. On the train we were offered tea or coffee but NO biscuits. The only apology we have ever received was from the volunteer waiter on board the train. Apparently the agency chef had not turned up but there was no Plan B leaving us very hungry, frustrated and out of pocket. To add insult to injury after three weeks we have still not received a refund or a reply to our feedback on their own website. We would NOT recommend this as an enjoyable day out.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Gregory W, General Manager at Churnet Valley Railway
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your visit. Unfortunately, as you correctly state, our agency chef was unwell which regrettably forced us to cancel the lunch service at very short notice. We did try to contact you earlier in the day to advise you of this, however we only had a landline number for you, furthermore you would have checked in upon arrival, so I struggle to understand why you were not told about the situation, when other customers were aware. You state you have not received a refund; our records indicate your booking is deferred for travel at a future date. If this is incorrect, please email our office with you booking reference number and I will happily arrange a full refund. We have tried our utmost during 2021 to maintain a service, where others have simply shut up shop, or trimmed dining services from their timetables. We like many businesses have been impacted by the availability of staff, however we have continued with a few exceptions to achieve this. Gregory Wilson Managing Director
Read more
Steve8313 wrote a review 4 Oct
St Helens, United Kingdom45 contributions81 helpful votes
What a great way to spend a couple of hours, this steam railway is a reminder of what made Britain Great. The steam engine was fantastic and the old carriages restored to a high standard. It was genuinely like stepping back in time. The people keeping this line going are full of enthusiasm, knowledgeable and helpful. Hope it keeps going well into the future to share with up coming generations how railways once were. If your within reach it really is a must visit.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456