We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bar Txt

73 South End, Croydon CR0 1BF, England
+44 20 8667 1308
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic night!

A group of us booked an area for a friends birthday and had balloons etc sorted out so it looked... read more

Reviewed 4 January 2017
A TripAdvisor Member
via mobile
Lovely cocktails

We all had lovely cocktails here today, there is a massive selection, as well as non alcoholic... read more

Reviewed 7 December 2016
RainbowClownGirl
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 22 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good27%
  • Average4%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible38%
Travellers talk about
“happy hour” (6 reviews)
“few drinks” (2 reviews)
LOCATION
73 South End, Croydon CR0 1BF, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 20 8667 1308
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

A group of us booked an area for a friends birthday and had balloons etc sorted out so it looked really special. Some of us arrived earlier and took advantage of Happy Hour, so we've had most of the cocktail menu now! Definitely the best...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
BarTxt, Owner at Bar Txt, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2017

Thank you for your gret review! We all make it our purpose to ensure that everyone has the best night possible and it's always so welcome when people let us know we got it right. We are polishing the glasses, ready for your next visit!

Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

We all had lovely cocktails here today, there is a massive selection, as well as non alcoholic. Good place to sit and chat. I recommend it.

Thank RainbowClownGirl
BarTxt, Owner at Bar Txt, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Thanks! It's always great to know that you had a good time and we look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 31 October 2016

I went to Txt Bar on a Saturday night with some friends. We were dancing in a circle, with our coats in the middle. The bouncer came storming onto the dancefloor and chucked two of us out for having our belongings on the floor. We're...More

6  Thank and6709
BarTxt, Owner at Bar Txt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Hi Thank you for your comments. As a result, I have made a full investigation of your review. The result of my enquiries is that your group had been drinking in another establishment (as stated in one of your reviews) and then felt like coming...More

Reviewed 31 October 2016

Went out for a girls night with my best friends to celebrate a birthday, a reunion weekend and mostly us being asked to be bridesmaids. Were having a lovely evening at the pub across the road having some quiet drinks, decided to come across to...More

3  Thank Lucy G
BarTxt, Owner at Bar Txt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Hi Thank you for your comments. As a result, I have made a full investigation of your review. The result of my enquiries is that your group had been drinking in another establishment (as stated in one of your reviews) and then felt like coming...More

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Love popping in here with friends for a few drinks, they do such a wide range of cocktails which are all delicious, there are so many to choose from. They do a fantastic two for one happy hour. The staff are really friendly and helpful,...More

Thank LouLon1987
Reviewed 25 August 2016

I've not really got anything to say about this pretentious hole other than to advise anyone looking for a nice bar to spend an evening at to go elsewhere - there's no shortage of alternatives in this part of Croydon.More

2  Thank JamesLondonLondon
BarTxt, General Manager at Bar Txt, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Hi James, Any reason why you feel so strongly against a business that has been in and supporting Croydon for over 8 years, with a continuous and loyal customer base and constant new faces of all ages coming to enjoy what has been described as...More

Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Went here with some friends for Happy Hour (5 till 7) The choice of cocktails is vast unlike The Playground a few doors down. Served by a very friendly bartender who encouraged us to take our time choosing.I'm a gin drink so he recommended 'The...More

1  Thank Mecroydon
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Went there on 26/06/16 during the Croydon Food Festival. Staff really friendly and helpful. The Mud Slide was particularly delicious 😍😍 and I wore my flower garland until I made it home later in the afternoon. Well worth a visit and will go again.

Thank ivysdad
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Attended a birthday bash at this venue - wow! Fantastic contemporary decor, great music, friendly staff, the place was rocking. A special mention for Jonny and James for looking after us so well on the night. Great fun, will be going back soon with a...More

Thank gfrenc8106
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Popped into this bar with a friend on a girls catch up evening out. It wasn't late - about 2215hrs on a Thursday night. The bar itself was completely empty, but it looked good from the outside and was simply a "one for the road"...More

2  Thank sianalou
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Karnavar Restaurant
518 reviews
.02 miles away
Albert's Table
639 reviews
.06 miles away
Bagattis
419 reviews
.02 miles away
Navaratna
58 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Remembering 1916 Life On The Western Front
139 reviews
.34 miles away
Boxpark Croydon
189 reviews
.71 miles away
Museum Of Croydon
66 reviews
.48 miles away
Wandle Park
45 reviews
.83 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lucy G
Hello, Further to my review that you have responded to, I would like to ask some further questions. As you mention in your comment your main concern was health and safety. However, the bouncer and general manager didn't stop to enquire who the coat and bag on the floor belonged to. I was targeted and chucked out for reasons I don't understand. It was my friend's belongings that were on the floor and she was in the bathroom at the time. Perhaps if the bouncer had kindly explained we can't have the belongings on the floor to my friend (given that it wasn't actually my stuff) and then shown us to the cloakroom, this matter would have been resolved and we could have continued to have a nice night and pay into your establishment which up to the this point, we were enjoying. I would also like to point out in regards to us using your email instead of writing a review on tripadvisor - we feel that this kind of behaviour needs to be publicised so that other members of the public are aware of the attitudes of your staff. I would perhaps suggest some work on customer service etiquette for your staff. I can already see that this review and my friends' have been helpful to other tripadvisor users and have taken it into account in the decision whether to attend your establishment. It is a shame as most things about the bar were good - the drinks, the bar staff seemed friendly, the DJ was great, it is just a shame about the poor customer service skills of the bouncers and general manager.
8 November 2016|
Answer
Response from BarTxt | Property representative |
Thank you for your very positive comments about the bar in general and the entertainment that we offer. Bar Txt remains a great place to have a night out or to book for the perfect party. We do, however, hope that our... More
-1
Votes