We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Manor House Golf Club

Castle Combe SN14 7JW, England
+44 1249 782982
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent Golf Club in Wiltshire

We had a fabulous 4 ball at this venue. As visitors from London the staff in the pro shop made us... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Martin D
,
London, United Kingdom
4th visit to manor house golf club

This was our fourth visit in five years and quite frankly was very disappointed with the catering... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
johnnyboypalmer96
,
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Read all 79 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Voted in 2011 'Wiltshire's No.1 Golf Course'and rated in the top 100 in England. There are some stunning tee shots and none more so than the opening drive, says Andy Ryan, Golf Professional at the course. Played by Retief Goosen and Luke Donald, who said " The Manor House is a truly stunning course and I will definitely be coming back".
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good27%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Castle Combe SN14 7JW, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1249 782982
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a fabulous 4 ball at this venue. As visitors from London the staff in the pro shop made us very welcome We stated with a nice breakfast in the club house before we tackled the course The course was in great shape and...More

Thank Martin D
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at Manor House Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Martin D, Thank you for the great review and really glad you enjoyed your time with us. Nice to hear you thought the course was in great shape. Hope we see you again soon. Best regards, Stephen General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our fourth visit in five years and quite frankly was very disappointed with the catering aspect as compared with previous years. Service was slow between courses and breakfasts were severely under par. Seemed like the left hand didn't know what the right hand...More

Thank johnnyboypalmer96
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at Manor House Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear johnnyboypalmer, Thank you for your feedback as I know you were staying with the other gentlemen who also had some negative comments. Really sorry you were unimpressed with the catering, a shame as the review above you seemed to enjoy it. I think it...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is our fourth visit in the last five years. This year was quite disappointing. We stayed in the Waterfall Lodge which, truth to say, is small but very comfortable. However, the external appearance of the Lodge is now looking neglected and really needs to...More

2  Thank GORDON B
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at Manor House Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Gordon B, Thank you very much for the forthright and constructive feedback. I am sorry it doesn't make for good reading and I know the teams responsible will be very disappointed. Without saying too much more we will take all your comments on board...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Both our partners had played golf there, we went there to meet fora drink, barman very good and new what a rock shandy was, we ordered some food which never came, no one else seemed to be eating so don't know what the problem was,...More

Thank Marijke E
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at Manor House Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Marijke, Thank you again for another of your reviews, and you were good enough to use all of our facilities. I am so sorry about the food, I have passed your review on to the Golf Club Manager and asked him to find out...More

Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Good golf course in good condition. Good buggies with satnav facilities and nice touch with pencil, card and tee pegs provided. A lot of bunkers and perhaps these could have more sand in them. I will be back!!!

Thank Hwesttravel
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at Manor House Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Hwesttravel, Thank you for the good comments about the course, and I appreciate your feedback about the sand in bunkers. Best regards, Stephen General Manager

Reviewed 11 May 2017

Came here after walking through Castle Combe (takes about 20 minutes). Staff was welcoming and attentive. They set me up with rental clubs and put me with a threesome. Course is very scenic and a bit of a challenge. Conditions with my only quibble, not...More

Thank jimbill
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

Returned to the manor house golf club as i do a couple of times a year more if i can fit it in i have been lucky enough to play some of the top courses in the world & for enjoyment levels this is up...More

Thank Mark P
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Visited this course for the second time today. Really lovely challenging course which played well for a sunny February day. However our visit was spoilt by the unacceptably long playing time where the first 6 holes took 2 hours to play. Even the clubs own...More

Thank Phil G
Stephen-Manager, Manager at Manor House Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Dear Phil G. Thank you for the feedback and I am so sorry you did not enjoy your round because of the slow play. We hope that our new GPS enabled buggies will now make a difference as we can see on a screen in...More

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

As a member of the club you can get good food very friendly staff and if you happen to play golf a wonderful golf course.

Thank maureenoconnor
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Played golf here in November after a lot of heavy rain and ate in the Golf club after 18 holes , the staff are amazing polite , and such a warm welcome nothing is too much trouble .Had a late lunch after the golf and...More

Thank Paul L L
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Old Rectory Tearoom
121 reviews
.44 miles away
The Bell Inn
297 reviews
1.80 miles away
The Crown Inn
178 reviews
2.24 miles away
The Fox & Hounds
177 reviews
3.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Castle Combe Village
895 reviews
.40 miles away
Lucknam Park Spa
43 reviews
3.31 miles away
Majors Retreat
32 reviews
4.50 miles away
The Catherine Wheel
10 reviews
4.61 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ben Sim, M
30 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Stephen-Manager | Property representative |
Unfortunately dogs are not allowed on the golf course. Thanks, Stephen
0
Votes
Ladyrothley
16 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Stephen-Manager | Property representative |
It would be £45 per person at this time of year. Do contact the Golf Club on 01249 783101 Regards, Stephen
1
Vote
Ladyrothley
16 October 2016|
Answer
Response from terence t | Reviewed this property |
Sorry , never been to a Ball. But the restaurant is a beautiful setting for a special occasion . I image the ball will be above Bar X1X , very nice views over the Golf Courses.
-1
Votes