We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Inn Pub

Craven Road | Lower Green, Inkpen, Hungerford RG17 9DX, England
+44 1488 668326
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
One of the worst pubs in Berkshire

Not been to this establishment for a while but thought we would give it a go after a 6 mile walk... read more

Reviewed 30 September 2017
386jon_n386
,
Newbury, United Kingdom
proper country pub

the locals were friendly and welcoming, especially the cow man Andy, Its nice to find a quality... read more

Reviewed 13 May 2017
liam m
,
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Read all 5 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good20%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible20%
30 Sep 2017
“One of the worst pubs in Berkshire”
13 May 2017
“proper country pub”
Closed
Hours
Hours Today: Closed
LOCATION
Craven Road | Lower Green, Inkpen, Hungerford RG17 9DX, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1488 668326
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Not been to this establishment for a while but thought we would give it a go after a 6 mile walk today. I knew the pub had deteriorated a bit but i wasn't prepared for just how much. It certainly doesn't look anything like the...More

Thank 386jon_n386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theswan01, Owner at The Swan Inn Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

I suspect that this was a group of 4 people who arrived 1 hour or so after we had closed after a busy Sunday lunch. As a courtesy although we had finished cashing up the tills and were about to leave we offered to serve...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

the locals were friendly and welcoming, especially the cow man Andy, Its nice to find a quality traditional pub that hasn't gone down the soulless trendy wine bar route, good food, nice atmosphere and local beer. I will definitely be back.

1  Thank liam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

When we walked in, this was just the pub that you imagine in the English countryside. Warm, inviting and rustic. Lots of character and characters! Run by an organic beef farmer so you can only imagine how good the steaks are. We were fortunate to...More

1  Thank tazanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theswan01, Owner at The Swan Inn Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the pub and Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

My husband and I visited this pub last Sunday lunchtime out of curiosity on my part as I am researching my family tree and one of my ancestors was the pub landlord back in the 1800's. We were able to leave our car in the...More

1  Thank schatzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theswan01, Owner at The Swan Inn Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Always a pleasure to see satisfied customers taking the time to acknowledge the efforts of our staff and the rural ambience we offer at The Swan Inn. Hope to see you at our 20th Anniversary celebrations on St George's Day 23rd April with Morris Dancing...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Well tucked away in the country but worth searching out, this very old pub retains its character and charm. Mine host is very welcoming and happy to chat with his customers. He owns the organic beef farm next door. Try his beef sandwiches - delicious...More

4  Thank Philfromsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Inkpen Hotels
Three Swans Hotel
141 reviews
2.76 miles away
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
358 reviews
2.92 miles away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
916 reviews
3.83 miles away
Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel
1,428 reviews
4.83 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Honesty Inkpen
18 reviews
1.34 miles away
The Blue Ball
118 reviews
2.08 miles away
The Swan Inn Restaurant
12 reviews
.23 miles away
The Dundas Arms
401 reviews
2.40 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Combe Gibbet
34 reviews
1.53 miles away
Kennet Horse Boat Company
79 reviews
2.34 miles away
Hungerford Wharf
87 reviews
2.78 miles away
Littlecote Roman Villa
15 reviews
4.50 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Swan Inn Pub staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;