We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wheal Martyn

Is this your business?
Wheal Martyn | Carthew, St Austell PL26 8XG, England
+44 1726 850362
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great little find

Lovely staff, great facilities with a charming cafe and shop The museum is great for the kids and... read more

Reviewed 2 June 2017
Mark E
,
Uley, null, United Kingdom
via mobile
Really Good

Very interesting a fab day out. Loved the site and found the layout great. Would defiantly go again.

Reviewed 2 June 2017
sarah f
,
Truro, United Kingdom
Read all 422 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...

Overview

More
The Park tells the story of the men, women and children who lived worked and played in the shadow of the clay tips around St Austell. With a history dating from 1746 to the present the museum is situated next to a modern clay pit which can be seen from a spectacular viewing platform. Cafe and shop with Cornish produce.
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good32%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“china clay” (143 reviews)
“nature trail” (28 reviews)
“working pit” (25 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:00
LOCATION
Wheal Martyn | Carthew, St Austell PL26 8XG, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1726 850362
Write a Review

Reviews (422)

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"china clay"
in 143 reviews
"nature trail"
in 28 reviews
"working pit"
in 25 reviews
"pit view"
in 20 reviews
"clay works"
in 12 reviews
"working quarry"
in 9 reviews
"clay pits"
in 9 reviews
"viewing platform"
in 18 reviews
"outdoor exhibits"
in 5 reviews
"interesting museum"
in 13 reviews
"water wheel"
in 6 reviews
"teddy bear"
in 7 reviews
"nice cafe"
in 11 reviews
"guided tour"
in 12 reviews
"country park"
in 9 reviews
"industrial history"
in 6 reviews
"coffee and cake"
in 5 reviews
Filter

71 - 80 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Lovely staff, great facilities with a charming cafe and shop The museum is great for the kids and interactive which kept them interested. The outside areas and nature trail was great but with a few sets of steps but not too much of an issue...More

Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue F, Manager at Wheal Martyn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Thank you for leaving a review. I am so glad you enjoyed your recent visit and hope we will see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Very interesting a fab day out. Loved the site and found the layout great. Would defiantly go again.

Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Please note that there are very few old vehicles. The current working mine, was not working, as this was the only things my other half was interested in, we wasted our time and money. We can see a digger down the local building site. Certainly...More

Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue F, Manager at Wheal Martyn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Thank you for leaving a review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your recent visit and felt it was not what you were expecting. We have 2 vintage lorries and various other cranes and carriages on site giving an in-site to the vehicles used...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2017

A very warm welcome. Great information boards. Really well laid out for young and old. A fantastic local pasty for lunch. Will go back with grandchildren.

Thank Titman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

We went here on the spur of the moment and had a very interesting day. We also had lunch which was really good. Walked up to the working pit so you could watch how the clay is extracted today and then you could compare it...More

Thank jacqueline a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue F, Manager at Wheal Martyn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Thank you for leaving a review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope we will see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

We had a family meet at the fun day of the May bank holiday, although it was raining there was plenty to keep an active 4 year old plus assorted adults entertained and absorbed for hours. A mix of history, active exhibits and a sense...More

Thank sarianpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue F, Manager at Wheal Martyn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Thank you for leaving a review and for supporting us on a vey wet family fun day! I am so pleased you all enjoyed it and made the most of the activities on offer. The tombola and badge making proved very popular. I hope we...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

We come here for forest school and really enjoy it. I now have a year pass which is great for days out. The children love it. Lots to see and loads of nice walks. The cafe is wonderful! The food is excellent. I love the...More

Thank minky o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

We visited the cafe as lunch time on the Easter Saturday as a 80th birthday treat. We were not given our full order and when we enquired we were asked to pay again for the missing items? Eventually they admitted they made a mistake but...More

Thank Kestel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

The Museum was very good although some of the technology needs updating . We walked into the cafe to find lots of uncleared tables from previous customers and a large group having there cream tea they had ordered 9 in total but asked when they...More

Thank wills1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Can't recommend this place enough, great walks around the grounds, insight into the past as well as the present day workings. Friendly and informative tour guides. Food in the café was good too. Genuinely can't fault this place!

Thank Postiedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Nearby

Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in St Austell
Premier Inn St. Austell Hotel
1,093 reviews
1.22 miles away
The White Hart
424 reviews
1.94 miles away
Travelodge St Austell Hotel
662 reviews
2.22 miles away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
2,204 reviews
2.58 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Knightor Winery and Restaurant
207 reviews
1.89 miles away
Moustache Jacks
172 reviews
1.88 miles away
Nepalese Gurkha Restaurant
633 reviews
1.90 miles away
St Austell Brewery Visitor Centre
104 reviews
1.77 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Knightor Winery
27 reviews
1.88 miles away
Roche Rock & Hermitage
31 reviews
2.55 miles away
Eden Project
10,014 reviews
2.68 miles away
Cornwall Football Golf
715 reviews
2.69 miles away
Ask a question

Questions & Answers

mandajanesnell
21 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from eddsup | Reviewed this property |
Id say no, even though some of it is inside, you have to walk outside between the different buildings which are not very insulated so it will be cold and drafty.
0
Votes
cornwallcrazy
11 August 2015|
Answer
Response from James G |
Hello, dogs are welcome throughout the site with the exception of the cafe, however they are allowed in the atrium area adjacent to the cafe where there are a number of tables and chairs available so that visitors with dogs... More
0
Votes
cornwallcrazy
11 August 2015|
Answer
Response from matthew l | Reviewed this property |
Yes they are, but not on the carpeted area. There is a hard floored indoors area in the reception, and a (lovely) weather dependent area outside. You can walk the dog through the cafe to get outside and the staff are very... More
0
Votes
;