We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Eddystone Cafe | Tregonhawke Beach, Whitsand Bay, Torpoint PL10 1JZ, England
Phone Number:
+44 7722 913206
Website
Today
09:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 17:00
Description:

Whitsand Bay's premier Surf School and Coasteering provider in SE Cornwall...

Whitsand Bay's premier Surf School and Coasteering provider in SE Cornwall specialising in surfing lessons from age 7 upward, surf hire and exciting coasteering routes around Rame Head. We are a small school with a big personality and are only 5 miles from Plymouth, open year round (by appointment from 31st Oct - 1st Mar)

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 40 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 39
    Excellent
  • 1
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Great instructor, fun lesson

The beach was beautiful, the waves were great and Dan was an awesome instructor. After a short lesson on the beach to run through safety signals, how to position myself on the... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 September 2016
A TripAdvisor Member
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 40: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

The beach was beautiful, the waves were great and Dan was an awesome instructor. After a short lesson on the beach to run through safety signals, how to position myself on the board, how to stand up etc we went out into the water. Dan was a super friendly guy and was really good at watching what I was doing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Had a great time, excellent advice from the guys made us feel very safe at all times, whilst completing challenging and interesting activities, all in all making this a massively fun and enjoyable trip along the coast. This is a must visit, we all had an amazing adventure and will be recommending to all friends and family, all at a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Oliver H
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Booked a lesson with adventurebay and i felt like i was in the wilderness of Australia...it was great only about 30people in the sea and 7 of us were in a surf lesson with adventure bay. Dan the teacher was great and good tips and kept a good eye on all students and kept a fun moral going and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank DipeshShah
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Never ever even tried to surf before and wanted to try it out and it was sooo fun! Both surf instructors were lovely and funny and really helped me out when we was in the sea! Even though I didn't manage to stand up it was still really fun on my knees but a lot of people stood up in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellaklusiatis
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

My three girls had a brilliant surfing lesson with Dan earlier this week. The weather was terrific although on the day we booked the surf was down so Dan offered the alternative of coasteering or change to the next day which we did. He was so helpful texting me with weather updates. They also hire boards out which the girls... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tricia W
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

My wife booked this as an added bonus for the family, it's good to try something new. What a great time we all had, it's not easy but it's fun and challenging. Brilliant! The instructors, Dan & Will were very helpful and understanding of our novice abilities, we didn't feel out of place at all. We will definitely be returning... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark T
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2016

Saw the great reviews for this surf school and me and my 8 year old daughter were not disappointed, having not surfed before. Dan is very friendly and easy going and offered great advice to help us. Tom got my daughter up very quickly and she loved it. Will go back, I cannot recommend them highly enough. Whitsand Bay is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sally66
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2016

Booked a 3 hour intro lesson with the Adventure Bay Surf School and we were not disappointed. We were 15 hungover girls in the water and they ensured we all had a fair chance of catching a wave and stand up on the board (some more successful than others :)). Dan and Dan were really patient and had a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elodie S
Abaysurf, Owner at Adventure Bay Surf School, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review girls, we're so pleased you had such a good time. I know Dan and I had fun sharing your first surfing experience with you all! See you again soon we hope!! More 

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2016

My son and I (age 16 & 43) booked a 2 hour introductory lesson, myself being a little apprehensive not having been in the surf for years! I needn't have worried - we had a fantastic time. The booking process was very efficient. We booked in advance by email and directions & instructions were clearly sent. Wetsuits & shoes are... More 

Helpful?
Thank HKevin
Abaysurf, Owner at Adventure Bay Surf School, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review Kevin. We're so glad you had a ball and hope you didn't get too sunburnt! We'll be sure to pass on your praise to young Matt and hope to see you guys again More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2015

Myself and 3 friends visited Cornwall (early November), all of us had a little experience so decided to rent some boards and do a little surfing, after checking the website I decided to get in contact with an instructor to ensure availability of boards, wetsuits e.c.t. we were then told that they were closed for the winter (contrary to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gmepps
Abaysurf, Owner at Adventure Bay Surf School, responded to this review

Thanks for your top review! We've made some adjustments to our out of season opening hours so hope it'll make things clearer to future customers. Glad you had a good time doing THE best sport in the world! Hope to catch you guys again soon More 

Travellers who viewed Adventure Bay Surf School also viewed

 
Torpoint, Cornwall
Torpoint, Cornwall
 

Been to Adventure Bay Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Adventure Bay Surf School staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?