We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crooked River Winery & Cellar Door

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 11 Willowvale Road, Gerringong, Kiama Municipality, New South Wales 2534, Australia
Phone Number:
+61 2 4234 0975
Today
10:30 - 16:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:30 - 16:30
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Description:

Crooked River Wines was established in 1998 and is a proud family owned and...

Crooked River Wines was established in 1998 and is a proud family owned and operated winery. It is situated on the beautiful south coast of New South Wales, Gerringong.

Our vineyard was established in 1998 in the rich volcanic alluvial soil of Gerringong, – a valley between the mountains and the sea.

The commercial winery was completed in 2001 and now consists of 280,000 litres of stainless steel fermentation and storage tanks and 70,000 litres of oak barrels. After 16 years of business Crooked River Winery has won multiple awards and is now the largest vineyard on the South Coast.

Crooked River produces premium quality red and white wines.

OUR VINES = Natural methods. Hand beaten grapes. Premium French & American oak barrels

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 105 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 44
    Excellent
  • 28
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Great wines

A very good winery and cellar door. Great views of the vineyards. Sales person who knew the wines well. Suggested we try types we hadn't had before and they were great. Bought 6... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
simba6
,
australia
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 105: English reviews
Sydney Markets
Level Contributor
97 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stopped in on our way back to Sydney today and from the moment you access this vineyard It is simply amazing. The property is well maintained and truly loved and the spectacular view from the restaurant is breathtaking. Staff were really friendly and went out of their way to make you feel really special. We missed having lunch but met... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoeCoze
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

They tried to compensate for mistakes made (like telling us the wrong special but trying to serve it to us anyway, and an extended wait that made us feel forgotten about) but the damage was already done. It made what was supposed to be a special family occasion into a really average time. Still, the view was lovely.

Helpful?
Thank Bobby P
CrookedRiverR, Marketing & Events at Crooked River Winery & Cellar Door, responded to this review

Hi Bobby, We are so sorry for the issues experienced through your special family occasion! We would love the opportunity to make it up to you and your family! Please feel free to contact us on sales@crookedriverwines.com should you wish to discuss your experience further. We hope to see you again soon for a much more enjoyable experience. More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing views. Average to terrible wines over priced, great music but SO loud we couldn't yell our conversation, food is bus, average & expensive. Our side dishes came out when we'd almost finished our main meals. Eye fillet was tough, pork over cooked, cheese cake dessert awful. Staff are young & attentive but treat diners like its a cheap café.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane L
CrookedRiverR, Marketing & Events at Crooked River Winery & Cellar Door, responded to this review

Hi Jane, We are so sorry that you were let down by your dining experiences with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback. More 

australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very good winery and cellar door. Great views of the vineyards. Sales person who knew the wines well. Suggested we try types we hadn't had before and they were great. Bought 6 bottles and some of beer they also brew. $5 dollars to taste their wines which is reimbursed if a purchase is made.

Helpful?
1 Thank simba6
CrookedRiverR, Marketing & Events at Crooked River Winery & Cellar Door, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review Simba! :) We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A must see and taste in the local area the cellar door was great and food was amazing well done for the hard work put in

Helpful?
Thank Jindaleespa K
CrookedRiverR, Front Office Manager at Crooked River Winery & Cellar Door, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review Jindaleespa, hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Crooked river wine team. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

As usual fantastic service. We have been visiting off and on over the past 15 years abd it is great that we are able to spend our 19th wedding anniversary at this beautiful establishment. As always the staff are fun and attentive. Food and wine is delicious. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Geoff R
CrookedRiverR, Events at Crooked River Winery & Cellar Door, responded to this review

Thank you Geoff for the wonderful review! We hope to see you again soon! :) More 

Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2017

Lovely place, wonderful staff and excellent views.Most importantly excellent wines. This is one place you must not miss.

Helpful?
Thank hsmith6169
CrookedRiverR, Front Office Manager at Crooked River Winery & Cellar Door, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Hsmith. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers Crooked River Wine Team More 

Mosman, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

A great destination for a long lunch. Excellent food, views, wine and service. If you like long lunches and you are in the Kiama area this is a must. Start with a tasting at the cellar door then work your way down to the restaurant for a long lunch. Then take a stroll in the vineyards with a cleansing ale.... More 

Helpful?
Thank CDTaylor80
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

As a break from the sunshine and outdoors, visit the cool and comfortable wine tasting bar and restaurant at The Crooked River Wine Estate in Gerringong. Easily found , just off the highway. Wines are average to good to interesting. Surroundings are extremely pleasant and comfortable. Service is good. And food can be anything from a cheese platter (local produce)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frances M
Forbes, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Visited today and we were by great staff who explained the available wines.. Our selection process was assisted with information and wine tasting.. Well priced.. Great venue.. Excellent staff.. We will be back for sure!!

Helpful?
Thank hoopssteve

Travellers who viewed Crooked River Winery & Cellar Door also viewed

Gerringong, Kiama Municipality
Gerringong, Kiama Municipality
 
Gerringong, Kiama Municipality
 

Been to Crooked River Winery & Cellar Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Crooked River Winery & Cellar Door staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?