We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

J F Polo Academy

Features Animals
Closed Now: 10:00 - 20:00
Open today: 10:00 - 20:00
Review Highlights
Gallops Experience

I had a great time this morning galloping round Kelsall on Loki with James. The facilities there... read more

Reviewed 23 May 2018
Richard W
,
Warrington, United Kingdom
Client Hospitality Day

We recently took a group of 6 clients to the JF Polo Academy as a thank you. All of them absolutely... read more

Reviewed 22 May 2018
eleanor374
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
Read all 91 reviews
38
All photos (38)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent99%
  • Very good0%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“james”(61 reviews)
“riders”(13 reviews)
“horses”(51 reviews)
About
The polo academy is offering outstanding tuition for all levels of rider and player, including absolute beginners with no riding experience wanting a 'taste' of one of the most glamorous, fast-paced and skillful sports in the world.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 - 20:00
See all hours
Contact
Swinford Stables Nortons Lane | Norton's Lane, Great Barrow, Chester CH3 7JZ, England
Website
+44 7946 424740
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
90
0
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
90
0
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews james riders horses skills field fun teacher gallop hints school
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2018

I had a great time this morning galloping round Kelsall on Loki with James. The facilities there are great, and Loki was wonderfully responsive as well as being completely without vices, which was good for the confidence. I was nervous about how flighty polo ponies...More

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Richard W
Reviewed 22 May 2018

We recently took a group of 6 clients to the JF Polo Academy as a thank you. All of them absolutely loved the experience and all commented how great James was as a teacher. The day ran really smoothly and flowed well from matching riders...More

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank eleanor374
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

I have been back so many times to the academy. Omg. It's so much fun. James looks after you so well. And the horses are so highly trained. I have my favourite and he makes sure I get him! I just meet them at the...More

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Sheena C
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Extremely poor customer service...Be warned if you are booking a solo experience. We travelled 2 hours to get to Chester and our experience was cancelled 45 mins prior to our start time...NOT ACCEPTABLE JF! 2 weeks on and I am yet to receive a refund...NOT...More

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank H3010HCleed
jamesfpolo, Owner at J F Polo Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

I'm afraid we cannot control the weather conditions. The forecast was good but the actual weather was terrible so we had to cancel. A full refund was issued once bank details were finally provided. Apologies for the inconvenience and your comments have been noted.

Reviewed 27 January 2017

I have been giving thought to having a go at Polo for quite some time as the game really appealed to me. However, having never ridden a horse in my life, I kept putting it off. My initial conversation with James really put me at...More

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank tssam2003
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

From a fun insight into the sport to refining your skill set at a high level this is a great place. I have enjoyed going there many times both to play and also to make the most of James' talent for choosing and making polo...More

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank cuppateaman
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Awesome. Was looked after every moment. Food , entertainment and polo all sorted. Best holiday of my life 👌

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank Sheena C
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

I tried one session of polo with James and even though I'd never ridden properly before, I was hooked. I've had a number of lessons with James and he's really brought me on. The horses are beautifully turned out and he matches the horse and...More

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Sara J
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Having ridden a little in the past, and with friends playing polo, i decided to take a few lessons at JP Polo Academy James was patient and supportive and always happy to explain and reiterate what I needed to do in a constructive way -...More

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank Scott831890
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Definitely recommended whether you're a complete beginner or experienced! James was a caring and professional instructor!

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank Joe C
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Days Inn Chester East
224 reviews
2.60 miles away
George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin
84 reviews
2.66 miles away
The Royal Oak Hotel
500 reviews
2.89 miles away
Highfield Hall Hotel
83 reviews
3.31 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
The Wheatsheaf Inn
178 reviews
1.36 miles away
The Bluebell Cafe at Barrowmore
466 reviews
1.53 miles away
The Goshawk
767 reviews
1.64 miles away
The Hornsmill at Helsby
1,692 reviews
1.81 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Manley Mere
270 reviews
.42 miles away
Tarvin Sands
60 reviews
2.41 miles away
Beer Heroes Helsby
24 reviews
2.71 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from J F Polo Academy staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines