We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Refreshing walk & sightseeing

Plenty of parking, lovely restaurant / cafe with sun terrace overlooking Lake. Easy walking around... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
M23bnt
,
Okehampton, United Kingdom
kayaking

A lovely day spent paddling on the lake my mum hired a paddle board which was good value, I found... read more

Reviewed 8 November 2018
MlleJacqui
,
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Read all 175 reviews
33
All photos (33)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good33%
  • Average10%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“water sports”(6 reviews)
“function room”(5 reviews)
“bird hide”(5 reviews)
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
Mar
11°
Apr
15°
May
Contact
Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton PL6 0JL, England
Website
+44 1409 211507
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
76
58
19
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
76
58
19
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water sports function room bird hide cake lovely spot parking fee gift shop wedding party lovely walk weather permits nice family panini ice creams are beautiful area great place to visit os map excellent food
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Plenty of parking, lovely restaurant / cafe with sun terrace overlooking Lake. Easy walking around Lake on good footpath. Very relaxing visit.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank M23bnt
Reviewed 22 November 2018 via mobile

Lovely area but a distinct lack of dog poo bins, our dog had a bad stomach and my poor girlfriend had to carry a full carrier bag full of runny smelly poo all the way around the lake and couldn't dispose of it until we...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Paul W
Mike W, Manager at Roadford Lake Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2018

Thank you for your review. As an environmental charity, we try to encourage visitors not to leave litter or dog mess around the lake at all where possible, however, we do understand that it is not always feasible for visitors to take away all of...More

Reviewed 8 November 2018

A lovely day spent paddling on the lake my mum hired a paddle board which was good value, I found it expensive taking my own kayak and kit and having to pay a launch fee of £7. The launch area is opposite side of lake...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank MlleJacqui
Mike W, Manager at Roadford Lake Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2018

Thank you for your review, we are glad you had a nice time on the water. The £7 charge for self launch is not just for launching your kit on the water, but also the safety cover and staff time that the members of staff...More

Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Lovely setting. Good facilities. Had loads of fun sailing dinghies around. Tranquil and when weather permits great for a picnic and camping

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Serena L
Mike W, Manager at Roadford Lake Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2018

Thank you for your lovely review - see you at the lake soon

Reviewed 6 November 2018

We have stayed at Roadford Lake in our motor-home on many occasions. The location is wonderful, the facilities are not worthy of the AA 3 stars. When the place is busy, the toilets and showers are inadequate. The newest block is often taken over by...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank 956RichardH956
Mike W, Manager at Roadford Lake Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2018

Thank you very much for your review, we are so glad you like the location of our lake. The camping shower block is the cream building opposite the BBQ area with the washing up area on the outside. The AA inspector comes randomly and unannounced...More

Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

Nice food, generous portions in very pleasant surroundings followed by a walk in the woods and alongside the lake.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Mike B
Donna S, Manager at Roadford Lake Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Hello, Thank you very much for your feedback. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards

Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Beautiful day, fantastic scenery and a lovely try at paddle boarding with Matt as our instructor. Facilities were great just a fab day all round!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank traceytsh
Mike W, Manager at Roadford Lake Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2018

Thank you for your excellent review, hope to see you at the lake soon!

Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Visited on the first full day of our holiday and ended up staying all day. Although you cannot walk right round the lake without going onto roads, the walks are great. Dogs are on a lead for lots but there are places where they can...More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Greg0309
Mike W, Manager at Roadford Lake Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we hope to see you at the lake soon

Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Absolutely love this area! We live not far from here and come up every Sunday with our children, in all weathers! There are several lovely views of the lake and plenty of places to have a picnic if the weather permits, if not there is...More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Rebecca C
Reviewed 17 August 2018

Residents who live within travelling distance of Roadford Lake Country Park, I hope, appreciate what a wonderful outdoor facility they have here. We visited a couple of times during our holiday in the area and were very impressed with the Park. The cafe and shop...More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank dollychops
Donna S, General Manager at Roadford Lake Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Hello, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you and your mutts enjoyed your visit to Lakeside. Although I am sure our locals would like to keep Roadford Lake to themselves, we do advertise to the wider audiences. This is something our...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 nearby hotels
Percy's Hotel
160 reviews
2.32 miles away
Lewtrenchard Manor
489 reviews
3.86 miles away
Lifton Hall Hotel
423 reviews
4.06 miles away
Arundell Arms Hotel
654 reviews
4.11 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 68 nearby restaurants
Percy's Restaurant
20 reviews
2.31 miles away
Village Inn
125 reviews
3.44 miles away
Pint & Post
103 reviews
3.63 miles away
Lewtrenchard Manor Restaurant
194 reviews
3.86 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 31 nearby attractions
Dingles Fairground Heritage Centre
650 reviews
2.76 miles away
Lydford Gorge
920 reviews
6.85 miles away
The Granite Way
207 reviews
7.21 miles away
St Michael de Rupe Church
114 reviews
7.25 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Elly W
18 November 2018|
Answer
Response from MikeW9876 | Property representative |
Hi Elly. Yes we do. Most of the items on our menu can be catered for gluten free so long as you let us know when you place your order.
0
Votes
_terrywatters
14 July 2018|
Answer
Response from MikeW9876 | Property representative |
Hello, Thank you for your enquiry. The only power boats permitted on our lakes are for the activity safety boats. We do however allow kayak's, sailing, stand up paddle boards and canoes. Kind regards
0
Votes