We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ferry Boat Inn

4 Strand, Shaldon TQ14 0DL, England
+44 1626 872340
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Rude

Just popped in for a beer-the door was unlocked and the garden had loads of people in it-rude woman... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
mm100mm
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
New landlord

Sunday afternoon at the Ferry boat inn order larger beer Coca-Cola larger shandy beer was to warm... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Joanna J
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 58 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
We are Shaldon's only pub right next to the beach. There is no better place to sit and have a drink in Shaldon. The pub is friendly and frequented throughout the year by the locals. In the summer we run BBQs outside and also put on live music in the garden (weather permitting). We are dog friendly!
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good24%
  • Average15%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“great pub” (7 reviews)
“beer garden” (7 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 12:00 - 23:00
LOCATION
4 Strand, Shaldon TQ14 0DL, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1626 872340
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great pub"
in 7 reviews
"beer garden"
in 7 reviews
"new management"
in 3 reviews
"lovely food"
in 3 reviews
"steak"
in 2 reviews
"outside area"
in 2 reviews
"menu"
in 7 reviews
"ferryboat"
in 5 reviews
"ales"
in 4 reviews
"beach"
in 13 reviews
"estuary"
in 3 reviews
"fab"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just popped in for a beer-the door was unlocked and the garden had loads of people in it-rude woman just barked "We're closed!" at us and immediately walked off. I asked what time they opened twice but she completely ignored me. It's a boiling hot...More

5  Thank mm100mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferry B, Manager at The Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I'm sorry about this and will investigate to make sure it doesn't happen again, we obviously want to be friendly and welcome our customers with a smile. Our opening times are 12 to 11 daily and information about goings on and live music can be...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Sunday afternoon at the Ferry boat inn order larger beer Coca-Cola larger shandy beer was to warm second pint was the bottom of the barrel could not see through it later overheard that the seller chiller was broken no food coffee machine was also broken...More

4  Thank Joanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferry B, Manager at The Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Joanna. I'm sorry you felt that you had to put a review on TripAdvisor. We had hoped that our response to the email you sent us may have placated you, so I can only repeat what was said before and hope you will return:...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love his pubs location it's in my favourite place right on the beach you couldn't get a nicer location. My only gripe is that recently the exterior pub garden is looking tired and a bit messy. It's like it's missing a bit of love and...More

Thank devondumpling2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferry B, Manager at The Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are indeed blessed to be in such an amazing location. You may or may not know that the since the end of February the pub has been under new management and we have put together a lonnnnng list of...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Came here after first going to The Ness Hotel which had shut its kitchen at 1-30 and wasn't going to re-open til 3. Glad we did as the three quarters of an hour wait was well worth it. The food was excellent and as the...More

1  Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Came here a couple of Ines while on holiday at Devon valley, lovely food and kids loved playing on beach next to garden!

Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Good drinking place by the beach. Great staff. Great guinness . Good outside area as well. od drinking place by the beach C

Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

With friends staying with us we chose The Ferry Boat Inn for its picturesque location. We had sat in the beer garden on previous occasions, which overlooks the pretty Exe Estuary, and thought they also would enjoy this. So we decided to eat there. We...More

Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferryboatshaldon2017, Manager at The Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

We're really sorry you were disappointed, our aim is to produce better than average tasting pub food using locally sourced ingredients. You didn't say whether you visited for lunch or for an evening meal but in the evening we have a choice of eleven main...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Ate in the restaurant recently & I was so impressed! The food was amazing & the waiting staff were so professional and definitely give the whole atmosphere a very personal touch. I cannot wait to go back to try other dishes. Highly recommended by me!

Thank _ange_jk28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

My husband and I live locally and the Ferryboat has always been a favourite place to visit for lunch. We went with our daughter and her children on a lovely sunny day and very much enjoyed sitting outside while the children played on the beach....More

Thank DevonEnglandSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ferryboatshaldon2017, Manager at The Ferry Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the mussels. They are one of our best sellers and we hate to think that you felt they were overcooked on this occasion. We would have been happy to replace them if you'd brought it to our...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Popped in for a brew while walking in the area, good choice in ales, perfect after a long stroll! Nice friendly lady behind the bar who was cheerful too!

Thank Jam-Pott85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Shaldon Hotels
Potters Mooring Hotel
348 reviews
.13 miles away
Bay Hotel
231 reviews
.40 miles away
Brunswick House
15 reviews
.42 miles away
Cliffden Hotel
284 reviews
.91 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
ODE dining
166 reviews
.20 miles away
London Inn
600 reviews
.13 miles away
Clipper Cafe
774 reviews
.06 miles away
Fresco
368 reviews
.42 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Teignmouth - Shaldon Ferry
120 reviews
.05 miles away
Ness Cove
139 reviews
.39 miles away
Teign Heritage -Teignmouth & Shaldon Museum
74 reviews
.68 miles away
Shaldon Wildlife Trust
278 reviews
.30 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Ferry Boat Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;