We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Montalto Estate

Closed Now: 10:00 - 16:00
Open today: 10:00 - 16:00
Review Highlights
Great place

Lovely place to visit with kids. Restaurant really nice, good home cooked food, well organised... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Beaded
,
Belfast, United Kingdom
Excellent House Tour

We were lucky to snap up the tickets for the house tour as they sold out so quickly online. We... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Daytripper24182
,
Belfast, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 53 reviews
180
All photos (180)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good16%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“tree house”(4 reviews)
“scones”(4 reviews)
About
Slow down and take comfort in the natural beauty around you. When you visit Montalto, you will truly feel as though you are stepping into another world. You'll leave feeling happy, reconnected with nature, making memories on each and every visit...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 - 16:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
Spa Road, Ballynahinch BT24 8PT, Northern Ireland
Website
+44 28 9756 6100
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
35
9
4
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
35
9
4
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree house attention to detail scones beautiful drive spacious cafe grounds are immaculate previous reviews open to the public afternoon tea per head annual membership reception area gift shop play facilities play area dog walkers walled garden
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 53 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

We visited Montalto during half term week. It was a sunny day so thought it would be a nice place to take my nephews who were visiting. I’m a member so had been before and recommended the playground which they were quite excited to see....More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank HOMEWITHKIDS
Reviewed yesterday

Lovely place to visit with kids. Restaurant really nice, good home cooked food, well organised, great kids menu.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Beaded
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We were lucky to snap up the tickets for the house tour as they sold out so quickly online. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour, which was expertly organised & delivered. Hopefully the tours will be run again, and I’d definitely be interested in running for...More

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank Daytripper24182
MontaltoEstate, Manager at Montalto Estate, responded to this reviewResponded today

Yes indeed, we do plan to run our house tour a number of times throughout the year along with a range of other workshops and tours. They do indeed sell out quickly. Members who are signed up to receive email will get notification of our...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Just been to Montalto today with kids 14/11&5 yo and had an absolutely fantastic day out. Walks obviously new and beautifully planted. Kids play park exceptionally good with coffee van and loos there - very well thought out. Had lunch in the cafe. Very busy...More

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank spolley
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had heard a lot about this place so went for lunch today, we couldn’t get through the door because it was too busy so we left, as did other people we met. The car parking spaces are also very slim considering most people drive 4x4s...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank weekendaway81
MontaltoEstate, Manager at Montalto Estate, responded to this reviewResponded today

Firstly, thank you for deciding to spend time at Montalto. It’s great that you have heard a lot about us from other people and that this encouraged you to visit. Our café is indeed very popular and on busier days both this and our car...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We didn’t even know this place existed until we booked a talk there. It’s a bit tricky to find but once there, it’s absolutely gorgeous. The house is magnificent. We were lucky enough to be given a tour by one of the owners sons. It’s...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Diana M
MontaltoEstate, Manager at Montalto Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Diana. We are delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon tea and tour of Montalto House. Our group afternoon teas are always very popular. We look forward to welcoming you to the estate in the future where you can explore what else Montalto has to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were given yearly membership for Christmas. This beautiful woodland park has lots of beautiful walks and trails to walk or cycle. Luckily for us it also has an enclosed doggy park which is brilliant. The coffee shop is lovely food is wonderful and as...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank christopherwelsh3
MontaltoEstate, Manager at Montalto Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to recommend a visit to Montalto. The fact that you have said you enjoyed your experience of the trails and cafe means a lot to us as we have put a lot of thought and effort into making it...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Estate is lovely well set out lot of money spent good day out but. Went into cafe had a overpriced cottage pie ruined because so spicy asked for tomato lettuce had none , potato salad coleslaw just average. Paid over £20 for this for two...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Robert T
MontaltoEstate, Manager at Montalto Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Robert. Welcome to Trip Advisor and thank you for making us your first review. Unfortunately you didn’t highlight your issue to any members of staff at the time which means it is very hard for us now to act upon this. We assume you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As a member since it opened I was really annoyed to have to have paid rip off prices in Cafe. I understand that they need to make a profit but at 7quid for 2 rounds of brown bread, 1 poached eggs and 2 sausages is...More

Date of experience: February 2019
3  Thank TomM2995
MontaltoEstate, Manager at Montalto Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Tom, In relation to the TripAdvisor review above; believe me, I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our Café. If I may retort however; I am not sure how your position as a member is relevant but I wonder, was...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was recommended to visit here and was truly pleased I did. If I lived in the area I would definitely recommend annual membership as it's a lovely place to relax & unwind. Enjoyed browsing through the gift shop en-route to the café and was impressed...More

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank CaptMish
MontaltoEstate, Manager at Montalto Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review of the estate. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Montalto. Hopefully you will visit again soon.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Denvir's Hotel
133 reviews
8.05 miles away
Dunleath House B&B
10 reviews
8.15 miles away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
297 reviews
9.75 miles away
Premier Inn Lisburn Hotel
867 reviews
10.17 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 26 nearby restaurants
Primrose
233 reviews
1.35 miles away
Hollys Coffee Co
92 reviews
1.34 miles away
Taj Mahal
13 reviews
4.37 miles away
La Pizza Mia
48 reviews
1.17 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 4 nearby attractions
Rademon Estate Distillery
72 reviews
4.16 miles away
Rowallane Garden
123 reviews
5.07 miles away
Seaforde Tropical Butterfly House
151 reviews
5.73 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Montalto Estate staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines