We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lochranza Golf Course

Lochranza KA27 8HL, Scotland
+44 1770 830273
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely golf course

Spent a lovely morning here,a lovely course,lots of deer stags on the course.Amazing. They took no... read more

Reviewed 26 September 2017
Faymar_12
,
Fort William, United Kingdom
via mobile
Terrible condition

We played here as part of the Arran golf pass, it is without doubt the worst course on Arran. The... read more

Reviewed 26 August 2017
Adam C
via mobile
Read all 17 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good50%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“red deer” (5 reviews)
“herd” (2 reviews)
“golfers” (3 reviews)
LOCATION
Lochranza KA27 8HL, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
+44 1770 830273
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"red deer"
in 5 reviews
"herd"
in 2 reviews
"golfers"
in 3 reviews
"stags"
in 3 reviews
"holes"
in 3 reviews
"scenery"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Spent a lovely morning here,a lovely course,lots of deer stags on the course.Amazing. They took no notice of us.We were worried we would hit one with the ball,but thankfully no.

1  Thank Faymar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for reviewing Lochranza Golf. We're delighted to know that you had a lovely experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

We played here as part of the Arran golf pass, it is without doubt the worst course on Arran. The majority of the course is waterlogged, the greens are awful and generally just poor condition. It is a real shame because the location is great...More

Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

It would have been really helpful to us at Lochranza Golf if you had called in for a friendly chat to let us know what the specific problems for you were so that we could do our best to put them right. As you will...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

If I had a course in this surroundings I would play a lot more. Stunning. It has a hazard I've not encountered before. A herd of stags. !

Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you. We're really glad to know you enjoyed your experience at Lochranza Golf with its quirky wildlife hazards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Expensive for quality of grounds/greens compared to Kintyre and others on Arran Disappointed , however great for family pitch and putt standardMore

Thank Tewksgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

The fee for 9 holes is £12 as clearly stated on our website. Unlike the other six golf courses on Arran, Lochranza Golf is not a club. It does not make a profit and is kept open by goodwill because we value it as a...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Three young boys and two adults took on the golf course - well the par 3 version. One plays the same holes as on the full size course but using tee boxes closer to the green. It is very informal and may not please the...More

Thank JGrant44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thank you very much for taking time to review us- it was clear you were having fun, even in the rain. We created the pitch and putt course in response to a demand for shorter golf and golf for novices. Lochranza Golf Course is first...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I are not golfers but we had a couple of hours spare and the prospect of 'having a go' on a sunny afternoon was an opportunity not to be missed. The manager cum campsite warden was very welcoming and more than happy...More

Thank Chris_and_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Thank you for your carefully-considered review. We are glad you enjoyed Pitch and Putt. It has been very popular this summer. We are not a golf club and do not hold golf competitions but the design of the nine hole golf course does win praise...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed playing 9 holes putting for one pound. We played three times! I got better with practice. Beautiful location! We will return next year!

Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Thank you very much for writing this review about the putting. It's good to know you enjoyed it. We intend to add another putting green for next summer so you will have a choice in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Probably the best place to see wildlife on Arran. The deer use the golf course and I wouldn't like to be there in rutting season. Nice wee challenging 9 hole course with lovely scenery.More

Thank CarnegieHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath097, Owner at Lochranza Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Thank you for this. I'm very glad you enjoyed your golf here. You're right that rutting stags in October are best given a wide berth but it is an amazing time to be in Lochranza- my favourite time of year. The golf course is at...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Don't be fooled into thinking this gorgeous 9 hole course will simply be a breeze in the park. It is rated in the top 100 9 hole courses in Scotland. Yes it is gorgeous, you can just pay and play but it will test your...More

1  Thank I H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath097, Manager at Lochranza Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2016

Thank you for your enthusiasm. It's great to know that you relished the challenges of the course. We appreciate you sharing your experience in this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

this golf course is wonderful: it is a nine hole course on a natural land. That means a lot of animals on this course, sometimes you have to wait till the stags move a bit. a Standing Stone, a river where you can loose a...More

Thank Gerda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kath097, Manager at Lochranza Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2015

Thank you for your support and glad to know you had fun on the golf course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
James R
16 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from kath097 | Property representative |
Hi, I can only answer for Lochranza. You can hire golf clubs here and we do not have a dress code. If you search for Golf on Arran you'll find information about the other six courses on the island. Hope this helps.
1
Vote