We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterside Bar & Restaurant

Save
Share
Review Highlights
Meal out

Excellent service and great food you must book as it is only a small place but well worth the visit.

Reviewed 3 March 2018
Martinwar
Just for drinks.

Three of us stopped in here while coming back from Dumfries. We didn't eat but sat outside and had... read more

Reviewed 14 January 2018
Bobby31225
,
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Read all 105 reviews
4
All photos (4)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good33%
  • Average8%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“great service”(5 reviews)
“burger”(4 reviews)
“pre theatre”(4 reviews)
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
16°
10°
Jul
17°
10°
Aug
15°
Sep
Contact
31 Waterside Street, Strathaven ML10 6AW, Scotland
Website
+44 1357 529000
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
47
35
9
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
47
35
9
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat serviceburgerpre theatrehigh standardlovely meala la carteportion sizestaff were friendlybeautiful surroundingshaddocklook forwardoutdoor areawaterside bara nice touchlunch menuchildren's menuwell worth a visit
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went again with my wife and son. Brilliant.! Great Twisted Thistle beer, great food and exceptional pizza !! Who knew !. Would recommend and if you like Pizza you will not be disappointed. Also the weather helps because it's a great beer garden.

1  Thank Mike F
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Food standard, pleasant staff, great day out until we went back to car and got hit with a £60 fine, really disappointing as we were having a great day, no signs visible regarding parking, won’t be backMore

Thank Louise C
Chantelle M, Manager at The Waterside Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Louise You had a great day out in our restaurant however have left us one star and have stated you won’t be back. You received a parking ticket on a public road. This has nothing to do with the restaurant. Your issue is with South...More

Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

We stopped at the Waterside today for the first time , certainly not disappointed , the bar and restaurant was spotless , the service was excellent , meals was prompt after ordering . The presentation and standard of food was very high , and certainly...More

1  Thank Ally S
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We were three hours into a four hour drive and needed a stop for lunch. I remembered this place from a trip 10 years earlier so we returned. First, Strathaven is a pleasant place with free parking shortly after you turn off the A71. The...More

1  Thank prjandglj
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Excellent service and great food you must book as it is only a small place but well worth the visit.

2  Thank Martinwar
Reviewed 24 February 2018

Beautiful surroundings and pleasant attentive staff. The portions were small and overpriced with the exception of the fish and chips. I notice portion size mentioned in a fair few reviews but obviously not being taken on board by the restaurant. Vegetarian options are limited and...More

Thank jabbamax
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Three of us stopped in here while coming back from Dumfries. We didn't eat but sat outside and had a couple of drinks. The weather was quite nice and a beautiful view by the river and a park. Real nice setting. enjoyed it!!

1  Thank Bobby31225
Reviewed 12 November 2017

visited the waterside on saturday and even on entrance the wee sign saying dogs welcome but a 3 bark policy is enforced started the visit well. We decided on the lunch menu and i must say for the people who haven't visited you can't go...More

1  Thank davyHamilton
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Food just not up to the standard it used to be. Scallop and Black Pudding Dish very poor. Must have run out of Black pudding, as was only a sprinkle not enough to make up 1 eighth of a slice. Haddock in Batter not nearly...More

Thank nicotiff3
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Fantastic food - a little pricey but it was very good. There were lots of outside dining tables but as it was raining we ate inside. Outdoor eating area looks over a river - I expect it would be lovely on a sunny day.

1  Thank Sue H
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Waterside Bar & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines