We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Ice Factor

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Leven Road, Kinlochleven PH50 4SF, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 1855 831100
Website
Today
09:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Thu 09:00 - 22:00
Fri - Mon 09:00 - 19:00
Description:

A must visit for adventure seekers of all ages. World's biggest indoor ice...

A must visit for adventure seekers of all ages. World's biggest indoor ice climbing wall, Rock Climbing and New Aerial Adventure Course. Taster and skills classes every day.Free children's play area, cafe, cosy climbers bar/restaurant, sauna and steam room. 4 star activity centre, 5 times winner of top tourism award for tourism excellence

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$71.10*
and up
Full or Half Day Adventure Bundle - Rock Climbing, Ice Climbing and Aerial...
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 416 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 354
    Excellent
  • 41
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Taster ice climbing session was fantastic.

This taster ice climbing session was a charity auction prize and we decided to give it a go even though it was a 4hr round trip to get there. We are so glad we did as it was a... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
rob77656
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

416 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 408: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This taster ice climbing session was a charity auction prize and we decided to give it a go even though it was a 4hr round trip to get there. We are so glad we did as it was a great session and a real adrenaline buzz. Early worries about fitness levels were soon eased by top tips on technique by... More 

Helpful?
Thank rob77656
Kat_Dickson, Marketing Assistant at Ice Factor, responded to this review

Hello Rob, Thanks for taking the time to review us, it means a lot :). We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your taster session - what a thrilling prize to win! Mark will be pleased to know he helped make your experience a relaxed and fun one, we will be sure to pass on a thanks... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I pre-booked climbing wall and ice climbing sessions of an hour each with a break for lunch in between. My instructor was Rachel who was very good at explaining and demonstrating use of the wall and facilities, tying in, safe belaying etc. (Thanks also to Rebecca-Louise for leader belaying practice) On the ice wall, after some basic revision, Rachel gave... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trevor_RTI
Kat_Dickson, Marketing Assistant at Ice Factor, responded to this review

Hello Trevor Thank your for taking the time to leave your kind review, it means a lot. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed both your ice climbing and climbing wall sessions with Rachel during your recent visit to Ice Factor. We will pass on a thanks to Rachel on your behalf, she will be happy to... More 

Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

Whilst visiting Scotland to Climb Ben Nevis with my 11 year old son, I thought it would be a great surprise to take him for an Ice Climbing taster session, which I had kept a surprise until we walked into the reception at The Ice Factor. His face lit up when he found out and saw what he was about... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robin T
Kat_Dickson, Marketing Assistant at Ice Factor, responded to this review

Hi Robin, Thanks so much for your kind review - we really appreciate it. We are so pleased to hear how much your son enjoyed his Ice climbing session and how much he progressed during the hour - what a great surprise! Mike will also be glad to hear that he was able to help make the session a fun... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016

Was up in the Highlands with my teenage lad on a Boys Own road trip - camping, biking, sailing, boozing, driving my M6, and while we were camping in Kinlochleven, I remembered a female friend of mine mentioning The Ice Factor. Tent pitched, we set off and booked ourselves a session. The Tailrace Inn beckoned but we thought it prudent... More 

Helpful?
Thank mikedmeechan
Kat_Dickson, Marketing Assistant at Ice Factor, responded to this review

HI mikedmeechan Thanks for taking the time to leave your kind review, what a great read on a Tuesday morning! We are glad that Ice Factor was able to feature in the Boys Own Road Trip. We are very pleased to hear that both you and your son enjoyed your Ice climbing session, even if it knackered you both. A... More 

Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

The kids had an afternoon on the climbing wall and in the bouldering room at this super attraction. The adults enjoyed the tea, coffee and food on offer in the cafe (also served with smile).. A great place to visit on a wet afternoon, and I am sure on a dry one as well...

Helpful?
Thank jhcfemington
Kat_Dickson, Marketing Assistant at Ice Factor, responded to this review

Hi jhcfemington Thanks for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it. We are really glad to hearr we could help make a wet afternoon a fun one for you and your kids. We hope to see you all back in soon, where we will welcome you back with an even bigger smile! Have a great day, Kathleen More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Hi would just like to say had an amazing time here. My son Ryan had an hour lesson with instructor Rachel and he thought it was great. Definitely recommend a visit here xx thanks again Hamilton family xx

Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
Kat_Dickson, Marketing Assistant at Ice Factor, responded to this review

Hello Margaret, Thanks for getting in touch to leave your kind review - we really appreciate it. We are so lead to hear how much you and your family enjoyed Ice Factor, particularly your son on his climbing lesson with Rachel. We will be sure to pass on your thanks to Rachel. Come back and visit us soon :) Have... More 

Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Great day, staff so helpful and delicious coffee while the kids climbed an ice wall!! Good choice in the shop too.

Helpful?
Thank Emma S
Kat_Dickson, Marketing Assistant at Ice Factor, responded to this review

Hello Emma, Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are so happy to hear that you had a great day a Ice Factor and you were able to relax with a coffee with the kids were on the ice wal. Come back and visit us soon. Have a great day, Emma. Best, Kathleen More 

Glasgow
Level Contributor
550 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed a well earned cup of tea here at the end of our day's walk. While I'm not a fan of being given a cup with a teabag in it - why should I make my own tea? - I have to mark the cafe up for its beautiful sponge cakes. The passion fruit cake was particularly delicious. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank fmck49
Kat_Dickson, Marketing Assistant at Ice Factor, responded to this review

Hi Fmck49, Thanks for getting in touch to review us - we really appreciate it. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the cakes at the Ice Factor café - we like to think we have the one of the best cake selections in the Western Highlands! Hope to see you back soon, Kathleen More 

Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
732 reviews
363 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2016

We visited the café in the Ice Factor, but it was nothing special. The area was quite busy, and it was difficult to find somewhere to sit. The tables were not being cleared, and it was not a welcoming environment. Probably not enough staff to cope with all the visitors.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
Kat_Dickson, Marketing Assistant at Ice Factor, responded to this review

Hi Andrew, Thank you for getting in touch to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear that you didn't feel welcomed during your recent visit to the Ice Factor Café. Would you be so kind by contacting us with full details regarding your visit to Michael.McManus@snowfactor.com so we can investigate the matter, we'd really appreciate it. We hope you... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2016

Shocked as I have been a visiting kinlochleven for the last 40 years and after a recent visit I will not be returning. Overpriced food which is of poor standards.

Helpful?
2 Thank hugh m
Kat_Dickson, Marketing Assistant at Ice Factor, responded to this review

Hi Hugh, We're sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your recent visit to the Ice Factor Café for breakfast. Our biggest breakfast dish on the menu is The all day belly buster which is priced at is £7.95 and has proved popular amongst out customers. We justify our price as we know we are using top quality... More 

Travellers who viewed Ice Factor also viewed

Glencoe, Scottish Highlands
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Ice Factor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Ice Factor and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ice Factor staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?