Picton Castle & Gardens
Picton Castle & Gardens
4.5
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
PICTON CASTLE AND GARDENS A Magical Day Out for all the FamilySituated close to the Cleddau Estuary Picton Castle and Gardenscomprise 40 acres of some of the most beautiful gardens and grounds surrounding the great 13th century castle. Much like the castle building itself, the gardens of Picton are a fusion over many centuries of different gardening styles and periods. The gardens are now acknowledged as one of the most beautiful and atmospheric in Wales and on the strength of the collections are a Royal Horticultural Society Partner Garden.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

See what travellers are saying
  • Sara W
    Stadhampton, United Kingdom24 contributions
    Okay, outdoors better than the castle which was disappointing
    The grounds and things to do outside are actually quite good (score of 4) whereas the castle is very disappointing. We were only allowed in the main room plus one other, to get the full tour you had to pay extra. Not ideal for a family who expected a castle.
    Thank you for taking the time for writing a review and giving us your feedback. I was particularly interested in your thoughts on the range of rooms available in the castle. This is the first year we have been able to open the castle to the public, inclusive with the admission: prior to this year the only access was by a guided tour. So this is a learning curve for us as well. The number of rooms we can open to the public is determined by the number of volunteers we have on the day. We always have one paid member of staff and the other stewards are volunteers. We are trying to recruit more volunteers to enable us to open more rooms. I can see from the feedback that this is an area of discontent. We are a small charity restoring and conserving the heritage of the castle and gardens as a place we love. So thank you for your feedback, we will endeavour to improve the experience for all visitors. Director Picton Castle Gardens
    Written 5 June 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited April 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 5 April 2023
  • Gareth Davies
    63 contributions
    Amazing grounds but castle was a bit disappointing.
    I began my tour by visiting the gardens which including the amazing glasshouse area and walled garden which was beautiful and contained a wealth of interesting information. I then went into the castle where only 3 rooms were open unfortunately. I had chosen to visit the castle on "free-flow" when I bought my ticket, and whereas I was made aware some additional parts of the castle could be viewed if I'd booked a castle tour (at additional cost to my ticket), I was not made aware just how little of the castle was viewable on free-flow, so that was a bit disappointing. I then visited the zoo (which focuses on owls) which was quite interesting - there is a good collection of owls there with a small number of other ad hoc animals, although quite a few seemed to be hiding from me. Overall, there is a lot of stuff to do at Picton, comprising gardens, zoo and castle (and lawnmower exhibit), and I regret not being able to spend a full day there as there is certainly enough to keep someone occupied for a whole day. It is a shame that there is no concessionary rate for disabled visitors as some parts of the grounds are inaccessible for wheelchair users.
    Thank you for your time in writing a review. I am sorry that there are elements of the day which was disappointing but I appreciate the feedback. We are a small charity and we do not make a profit. Please let me assure you any money we make is solely used to maintain and restore the castle and gardens. The number of rooms we have available to the public is entirely dependent on volunteers. We normally have 1 paid member of staff and the other stewards are volunteers. The number of rooms we can open are determined by the number of volunteers we have. We are trying to make as much open as possible and we will endeavour to improve the access by recruiting more volunteers. This is the first year we have been able to open the castle to the public in this way: prior to this year the only access was by a guided tour. Thank you for your comment about introducing a concessionary rate for disabled people. Whilst around 75% of the gardens is accessible, I agree that some is not. I think that this is a good idea and I will explore the possibility of introducing this concessionary rate. kind regards Director, Picton Castle Gardens
    Written 5 June 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited April 2023
    Travelled solo
    Written 30 April 2023
  • Wibby
    15 contributions
    Not worth the money
    This place is a rip off. £14.90 for an adult entry and it is not made clear from advertising literature that this only allows you into 3 rooms in the castle. £5 extra if you want to see the rest. An expensive day out and in my opinion not worth the money
    Thank you for your time in writing a review. I am sorry that you had a disappointing day but I appreciate the feedback. We are a small charity and we do not make a profit. Please let me assure you any money we make is solely used to maintain and restore the castle and gardens. On a normal day we have the following rooms open in the castle for people to visit: the Library, the Great Hall, the White and Gold Drawing Room and the China Corridor. This is the fist year we have been able to open the castle to the public, inclusive with the admission. Prior to this year the only access was by a guided tour. The number of rooms we can open are determined by the number of volunteers we have. We are trying to make as much open as possible and we will endeavour to improve the access by recruiting more volunteers. In addition to the castle we also have 50 acres of historic gardens that we maintain, and the Welsh Owl Garden and Zoo. I am sorry that you did not have a good day. I have taken on board your comments, particularly about the number of rooms open in the castle and will endeavour to improve the visitor experience. kind regards Director, Picton Castle Gardens
    Written 5 June 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 4 May 2023
  • David H
    Christchurch, United Kingdom10 contributions
    2 for 1 offer not accepted
    Started off badly because 2 for 1 offer no longer accepted even although advertised by Gardners World. £29 is a lot of money for two people who just want to see the gardens. Not worth it. The gardens are pleasant but nothing exceptional. Will probably be better in July/August. No wonder it was so quiet!
    Thank you for your review. I do understand that many people who are disappointed that we only offer the 2-for-1 offer in the low peak season rather than all year round as we used to. I appreciate that it seems unlikely to each individual person who wishes to use these offers, but the accumulative effect on our loss of income runs into the many, many thousands. As a small charity, we are not looking to make a profit but simply maintain and restore these historic gardens and castle. We did inform the magazine months ago on our renewal I do hope they have not printed erroneous information. Your admission entitles you to access to 45+ acres of historic gardens, the castle and the welsh owl garden, so there is a lot more to what we offer. I will take on board whether we need to impoverish the publicity over only accepting 2 for1 in the low season. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Director, Picton Castle Gardens
    Written 5 June 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Written 21 May 2023
  • DaisyMonmouth
    Monmouth, United Kingdom147 contributions
    OK, could be better
    A rather mixed experience. On the positive side, the team have clearly been working hard to conserve and develop the gardens and outside space. The food at Maria’s was good, the WCs near the entrance spotless. On the negative, don’t imagine that for the entrance fee you get to see the castle. At the gate, we were told we could view ‘free-flow’ or pay extra for a tour. What wasn’t explained is that with ‘free-flow’ you get to see just three ground floor rooms (the tour apparently includes more of the ground floor, the upper floor and the basement). The Owl Sanctuary/Zoo was depressing as such places often are. The wooded area (from the pond to the tree ferns and beyond) seemed a myriad of paths and, despite having a rough map in our hands, a few small signs along the way wouldn’t go amiss.
    Thank you for your time in writing a review. I am sorry that you had a disappointing day but I appreciate the feedback. Since 1st June we have expanded the number of volunteers who are stewarding rooms and have been able to open more rooms to the public. On a normal day we have the following rooms open in the castle for people to visit: the Library, the Great Hall, the White and Gold Drawing Room, China Corridor, the Grand Staircase, the Dining Room and the Grand Drawing room. This is the fist year we have been able to open the castle to the public, inclusive with the admission. Prior to this year the only access was by a guided tour. The number of rooms we can open are determined by the number of volunteers we have. We are trying to make as much open as possible and have improved the access by recruiting more volunteers. We do take on board the question of signage in the eastern part of the gardens. We do have a programme in place for not only expanding the number of signs but ensuring they are all bilingual as well. This is an expensive process and is due to be phase. I would like to re-assuare you that the Welsh Owl Garden is fully and regularly inspected by the zoo authorities who are happy with the care given to the birds but I will pass your comments onto them (they are a separate business). I am sorry that you did not have a good day. I am have taken on board your comments, and particularly about the number of rooms open in the castle. We now show all of the principal rooms every day. kind regards
    Written 27 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 8 June 2023
  • nellie
    United Kingdom6 contributions
    Not worth the money
    Over priced for what there is. And to have a guided tour of the castle it’s another £5.00. The bird displays need a better sound system as every thing the lady said, echoed. The owl, bird and animal enclosures were very small.
    Thank you for taking the time for reviewing our day out. We are a small independent charity managing and conserving a unique grade 1 listed building. We open as many rooms as possible but we are dependant upon volunteers staffing those rooms. We allow access to all of the principal rooms on the 1st floor. This includes the library, the great hall, the white and gold drawing room, the china corridor, the dining room and the grand drawing room. Other upstairs bedrooms are currently derelict and unsafe for visitors. All of the principal collection of art and antiques are displayed in the rooms you have visited. In addition to this you have access to 50 acres of historic gardens (we are an RHS Partner Garden), the lawnmower museum, the heritage centre, and the Welsh Owl Garden with 2 owl flying displays and an otter talk. I will pass your comments onto the Welsh Owl Garden about the sound system. I can only apologise that you felt what was on offer was not value for money.
    Written 27 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 5 July 2023
  • canariestravelers
    28 contributions
    Wish we did not go
    Visited here a few days ago the house is lovely and there are some very nice rooms and paintings, the walled garden steals the show it is one of the best I have seen. I did not not know until we got there that they have a Zoo I must say we were quite upset to see some of the larger Hornbills showing signs of distress and repeatedly doing the same actions one or two of the other big birds too. I have no knowledge of birds in a professional capacity but it left us feeling very sick in your stomach you an just tell when something is unhappy. Unpleasant viewing and very sad to witness. I hope someone reading this can visit or pass on this information to someone with a grater knowledge and make an assessment of the situation. It feels like a throwback to a Victorian curiosity I wish I had not seen it in some regard as it has left a an image and memory that I do not want, but it does enable the issue to be raised, I would bet the RSPCA would shut it.
    Thank you for your time in writing a review. I will pass on your comments to the Welsh Owl Garden, which is a separate business. I am sure that they will want to respond directly to you. The zoo is regularly inspected by appropriate authorities who are content with the standards and care for the birds in their care. However, I will let the Welsh Owl Garden who are the experts respond fully to you. I am however, very sorry that you had a distressing experience there and I will take your review to the owner for comment. kind regards
    Written 27 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 7 July 2023
  • Chris
    Somerset, United Kingdom22 contributions
    Short and stingy
    Slightly disappointed, was expecting more for the money. The owl exhibit was interesting, some animals behind really dirty glass. The owl flying display, which we’re were told would last 25 minutes, had only 2 birds and was over in 10 mins. The castle/house is interesting, only because it’s first house I have seen where they block off most areas unless you pay extra for a tour. All done in 5 minutes. The walled garden is very good, loads of medicinal plants with explanation.
    Thank you for taking the time for reviewing our day out. We are a small independent charity managing and conserving a unique grade 1 listed building. We open as many rooms as possible but we are dependant upon volunteers staffing those rooms. We allow access to all of the principal rooms on the 1st floor. This includes the library, the great hall, the white and gold drawing room, the china corridor, the dining room and the grand drawing room. Other upstairs bedrooms are currently derelict and unsafe for visitors. All of the principal collection of art and antiques are displayed in the rooms you have visited. In addition to this you have access to 50 acres of historic gardens (we are an RHS Partner Garden), the lawnmower museum, the heritage centre, and the Welsh Owl Garden with 2 owl flying displays and an otter talk. I will pass your comments onto the Welsh Owl Garden about the display. It is usually much longer with more birds flying. I can only apologise that you felt what was on offer was not value for money. kind regards
    Written 27 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 13 July 2023
  • LynnG
    Berkhamsted, United Kingdom24 contributions
    Great Day Out
    Lovely family day out with the children (aged 3 & 5) The gardens are great to explore but unfortunately the QR code does not work for the Fairy Door trail. The children loved the idea of finding the fairy doors but sadly many are in need of repair with numbers missing. If you’re advertising this as a fun game for children then surely you should ensure everything associated with it is up to scratch. The adventure playground was enjoyed as was a visit to the castle (the staff there were very welcoming). The restaurant too is very good. All in all we had a great time and we would have loved to score 5/5 however, we did have to knock a star off due to disappointment with the Fairy Door Trail
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 21 August 2023
  • Tanya R
    10 contributions
    Picton castle Pembroke
    The advertisement states it is dog friendly however there are areas where dogs are not allowed I felt this should be stated beforehand. I arrived three minutes before it opened my mother has had a stroke and cannot stand for long we sat on the beach near the hut and the Lady was so rude even though I stayed we where waiting until she opened which dampened the day slightly. It is 15 pounds each to enter the gardens are lovely however we walked them in half an hour we are not fast due to my mother disability the castle only opens infrequently I felt the entrance fee should be half of the price they are charging. Lovely morning out lovely gardens however Pembroke shire castle was more value for money with free tour more to do. Pictor castle overpriced little to do once you seen gardens rude staff.
    Visited September 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 6 September 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
926 reviews
Excellent
550
Very good
261
Average
61
Poor
26
Terrible
28

bash5061
Wolverhampton, UK30 contributions
Nov 2023 • Couples
A day out that would rival a national trust. Even through castle was closed getting prepped for the weekend Christmas Fayre their annual event we didn't feel short changed.
The grounds and wall gardens had lots to offer. Nice walks with lots of places to sit and relax. MAZE was fun. A few play areas for children with interactive themes activities for budding adventurers. The restaurant is first class with home cooked Mediterranean food and they cater for life style choices and dietary needs.
Zoo of rescue owls and other species was really interesting. Never seen a tawny frogmouth owl before. Would recommend for families and couples
Written 15 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Miltonmusketeer
St. Davids, UK9 contributions
Oct 2023 • Family
I feel increasingly sad when I bring my family here as the animals always seem distressed. We were particularly saddened this time by a wasp nest in the snake enclosure which was really bothering the poor things! Care doesn’t seem to be to a high standard and we have decided not to come back for a while in the hope that things improve. The walled garden and cafe are always lovely, however the house tour is very short and poor value for money. This historical and important Pembrokeshire landmark could offer so much more!!!
Written 1 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Hannah A
3 contributions
Oct 2023 • Friends
Lots of new beds and planting schemes every time I come! Fantastic gardens to wander through, walled garden getting a big overhaul, looking forward to seeing that next Spring! Masses of autumn colour. Know its wonderful in Spring too!
Written 3 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Julie B
4 contributions
Sep 2023 • Family
The place that just kept on giving! Excellent place to visit. Totally unexpected animals and birds in the sanctuary. Excellent presentation and flying/demonstrations by the guide. Extremely informative and funny. He absolutely made the day!
Tour around the gardens after made the day.
Written 21 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Andrew W
Devon, UK18 contributions
Sep 2023 • Friends
The gardens are beautiful but the castle has only 5 rooms the public can view. The price of £14.50 per adult is over priced especially when there is an extra charge of £5 per adult for tours of rooms not included in the £14.50. Really not worth the money. Would not return and would not recommend.
Written 15 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Magenta56
Cheshire,England229 contributions
Sep 2023
The small zoo was very good, some unusual animals to see. There were lots of different varieties of owls which was interesting. We enjoyed the owl display. The gardens were nice, as was the house although there weren't a lot of rooms to see in the house. We enjoyed our visit here.
Written 15 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jan H
2 contributions
Sep 2023 • Friends
Disappointed with the guided house tour. Felt like I was being ushered through far too quickly. The zoo, though, is quite sweet and the gardens are really beautiful. Nothing much going on in the gift shop. And finally take a picnic. The cafe is soooooo slow, nothing happens here quickly. Rather overpriced and mediocre quality. For me it would not be a place I would want to return to or recommend to my other friends
Written 10 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tanya R
10 contributions
Sep 2023 • Family
The advertisement states it is dog friendly however there are areas where dogs are not allowed I felt this should be stated beforehand.

I arrived three minutes before it opened my mother has had a stroke and cannot stand for long we sat on the beach near the hut and the Lady was so rude even though I stayed we where waiting until she opened which dampened the day slightly.

It is 15 pounds each to enter the gardens are lovely however we walked them in half an hour we are not fast due to my mother disability the castle only opens infrequently I felt the entrance fee should be half of the price they are charging.

Lovely morning out lovely gardens however Pembroke shire castle was more value for money with free tour more to do.

Pictor castle overpriced little to do once you seen gardens rude staff.
Written 6 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Clare A
Oxford, UK92 contributions
Aug 2023 • Family
This attraction is owned by a private trust and is reasonably priced (we got a family ticket, £38) compared to some other places. There is a zoo which is mostly birds, a maze and jungle broadwalk and a beautiful walled garden. This was filled with flowers and trees and a large lily pond. The house is very interesting and included in the price, though you see more if you pay extra for a tour.
There are knowledgeable guides in the rooms. I was struck by the 4 sided musical stand for a string quartet and the beautifully carved fireplace. You can see the "Renoir" that was the subject of an episode of "Fake or Fortune".
Written 28 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

williamskdn
Pontypridd, UK986 contributions
Aug 2023 • Couples
This is an amazing place to visit. The owl’s were amazing and so many to see. The grounds and gardens were also amazing. The staff were friendly. Will return as weather was not fully on our side.
Written 27 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 922
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

PICTON CASTLE & GARDENS: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Picton Castle & Gardens

Picton Castle & Gardens is open:
  • Sun - Sat 10:00 - 17:00