We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Green Island Gardens

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Green Island Park Road, Ardleigh, Colchester CO7 7SP, England
Phone Number:
+44 1206 230455
Website
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Description:

Recommended in Great British Gardens 2015 and Essex Days out as well as...

Recommended in Great British Gardens 2015 and Essex Days out as well as visit Essex. Featured on front cover of Homes and Gardens 2012 and Ma Maison Ma Jardin 2013. 20 acres of professionally designed gardens within woodland destroyed by the 1987 Hurricane. Now laid out with terrace, japanese garden, seaside garden, water gardens, gravel garden and extensive woodland gardens. It is a plantsman's paradise with a host of unusual plants in all seasons often of borderline hardiness thriving in the unique island microclimate. Special highlights include, snowdrops, Bluebells and Azaleas in May and spectacular Autumn colour.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 138 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 81
    Excellent
  • 39
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
An autumn paradise

Went here today to see the autumn colour. " beautiful " The owner and the staff were really friendly and very helpful The gardens are well laid out an varied in plantings Well... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 November 2016
alex2442016
,
Basildon, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 138: English reviews
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Went here today to see the autumn colour. " beautiful " The owner and the staff were really friendly and very helpful The gardens are well laid out an varied in plantings Well maintained and easy to use a mobility scooter on Nice tea room, moderately priced Well worth the cost of entry Well worth a visit

Helpful?
1 Thank alex2442016
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

The entrance price was much too high for what was on offer. Some pretty trees but the gardens looked scruffy and the hard landscaping looked jaded. We were done in about 20 mins ... I wouldn't return Much nicer gardens in the area- and much better value are Beth Chatto and Marks Hall.

Helpful?
2 Thank Chatopotato
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2016

I did enjoy the woodland walks and the water garden was pretty, but found the main gardens to be a bit disappointing, very few plants were looking their best mainly I am sure because of the hot summer. The owners and staff were very friendly and served us a super cream tea!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
Stowmarket
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2016

I have been to Green Islands of several occasions and it is so relaxing, very interesting plants, trees and walks. The grounds are kept to a very high standard and the owner always seems to be there to guide, help and be of service to you. Highly recommended if you have love gardens and gardening

Helpful?
Thank PianomanRob
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2016

Large gardens comprising 10 acres of informal gardens behind the owners house comprising woodland and island beds and water garden with plenty to see even in mid September. At the front another 10 acres of woodland of less interest when we visited as summer was ending but Autumn hadn't begun but still good for walks. Well stocked nursery well worth... More 

Helpful?
Thank gary r
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2016

The gardens were beautiful, especially when viewed on a beautiful sunny autumnal day. The acers were outstanding, and the eccentricity of the owners added a uniquely charming ambience to the place. The hot baguettes were another highlight. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah C
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2016

Very peaceful garden. Enjoyed our tour , and had a lovely lunch in the café. Our visit was on a nice day, and we spent a couple of hours enjoying the flower beds .

Helpful?
Thank ned781
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2016

I've been to the gardens today I was quite disappointed by the lack of interesting plants and flowers. There was barely nothing in bloom, it was all dry and nothing that caught the eye. I had to wait 2 hours to get the bus back so I spent time reading sitting on a chair in front of the pond as... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Alice D
Fiona E, Owner at Green Island Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. You mention that the garden was dry! Sadly we are limited by the rainfall that comes from the sky and with 20 acres of gardens it is not possible to water everything! It has not rained here since July and actually most of our visitors have commented how well that garden has stood up to... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2016

The garden had started to go over due to the time of year. However, our tour company did not tell Fiona she had 43 guests arriving on Thursday 30th August until the day before !!! AND the fact my wife requires gluten free food of which Fiona obviously wasn't aware until we arrived. My wife and I can't praise Fiona... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2016

Visited for an afternoon. We walked around the island beds that have been created by the present owner. There was some woodland that was planted with interesting shrubs which was very tranquil. After we had walked around we were served a good selection of home made cakes in the room overlooking the gardens. Would be good for children as there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Valerie A

Travellers who viewed Green Island Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Green Island Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Green Island Gardens and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Green Island Gardens staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?