We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

La Cala Golf

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: urbanizacion La Noria Golf s/n | Apdo. de Correos 106, 29649, Mijas, Spain
Phone Number: +34 952 66 90 33
Website
Description:

La Cala Golf, is renowned as the finest golf complex in Andalucia, with...

La Cala Golf, is renowned as the finest golf complex in Andalucia, with three exciting 18 hole championship courses designed by Cabell Robinson, La Cala Golf Academy in Mijas, Spain. Our comprehensive golfing facilities and the inspiring mountain and Mediterranean scenery will enhance your game.

La Cala Golf hosts lots of national and international golf competitions and annual golf events, it has a golf club that is one of the most active in Costa del Sol.

Afterwards, you can celebrate a successful round in our inviting Clubhouse Restaurant and Bar Laurel, relax on our two patios or choose the Recreational Room Podio to watch your favourite sport, read or simply enjoy the company of friends.

The best location and facilities to enjoy golf in Costa del Sol:

- Three 18 hole golf championship courses offering varied challenges: Campo America, Campo Asia and Campo Europa

- Six hole par three layout offering excellent practice for beginners and experienced players

- La Cala Golf Academy with extensive practice facilities

- Putting and chipping area

- Special offers including Hotel and Spa packages

- Sports shop and club fitting service

- Andalusian style clubhouse

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 246 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 110
    Excellent
  • 68
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Top course!

Played with 5 in the beginning of November on the Asia course. Good conditions, great views, fine restaurant and nice service! Played last year America course. Next year we will... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
san69jef66
,
Vlijmen, The Netherlands
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 212: English reviews
Vlijmen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Played with 5 in the beginning of November on the Asia course. Good conditions, great views, fine restaurant and nice service! Played last year America course. Next year we will be back for course Europe!

Helpful?
Thank san69jef66
KFlockhart, Resort Director at La Cala Golf, responded to this review

Dear san69jef66, Thank you for posting your comments here. I am delighted to note that you have now been to La Cala twice and you are slowly playing all three of our courses. We look forward to welcoming you back next year when perhaps you should stay with us and tackle all three courses in one visit. Regards, Ken Flockhart,... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We play here ever year, the views and location are spectacular and the clubhouse and food excellent. But once again, the arrangements made by the golf travel agents, was different to what the course thought, has happened here twice now in the last 3 years, but nowhere else. Buggies were included in the price, but we had to pay for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
KFlockhart, Resort Director at La Cala Golf, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thank you for sharing with us some valuable feedback which has highlighted some staff training needs within our golf operations, which we will take action on immediately. Our America course has suffered a bit in recent weeks due to a higher than normal amount of play this year especially during two months of the summer when our Europa... More 

Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Played Saturday 15 October (ASIA COURSE) Arrived at buggie centre thirty minutes before official tee off time, as requested. Was told that there were no buggies available and to come back later. Came back ten minutes before official tee off time and there was utter chaos as three large groups were hovering waiting for buggies to be returned. At approximately... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TheAssessor
KFlockhart, Resort Director at La Cala Golf, responded to this review

Dear TheAssessor, Thank you for your valuable feedback. Clearly your experience did not get off to the best of starts and I would like to sincerely apologise for that. Our reputation as a leading golf resort has been established over the years by providing an exceptional facility supported by excellent service. I hope that you will give us an opportunity... More 

Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

The lady behind the counter in the pro shop had a very poor attitude and made us pay €27 extra for a buggy that we had already booked. The shop is also very overpriced; the lowest priced item is probably a hat that costs about €35! When we played the Asia course(we played all three) the starter was rude and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank heyitslara
KFlockhart, Resort Director at La Cala Golf, responded to this review

Dear heyitslara, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some valuable feedback. Clearly your experience at La Cala was not up to the very high standards that are the norm and that have positioned us as one of the leading golf resorts in Southern Spain. We are taking your comments very seriously and addressing them accordingly through... More 

East Yorks
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Question the integrity of the staff Said we haven't paid for a buggy when we had. Starter on Americas course very ignorant Pace of play very slow and greens indifferent

Helpful?
1 Thank Steveigb
KFlockhart, Resort Director at La Cala Golf, responded to this review

Dear Steveigb, We appreciate your feedback and will address the issues accordingly. Our America course has suffered a bit in recent weeks due to a higher than normal amount of play this year especially during two months of the summer when our Europa course was closed and play was split to America and Asia. This also resulted in us not... More 

Skala, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

The course itself is interesting however they are clearly trying to get as many people through the door as possible. The end result is poor greens and tees, also not enough buggies (essential as very up and down). Our buggy ran out of battery after 12 holes probably due to them not having enough and not charging for long enough.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bonobobananas
KFlockhart, Resort Director at La Cala Golf, responded to this review

Dear Bonobobananas, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some valuable feedback. Our America course has suffered a bit in recent weeks due to a higher than normal amount of play this year especially during two months of the summer when our Europa course was closed and play was split to America and Asia. This also resulted... More 

Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

We a group of 12 mature golfers of an experienced golf society turned up to play La Cala in September 2016, having had it booked through a reputable golf travel company. Upon arrival we were told we would have to wait for our buggies to come in, which was not a bgi issue. Whilst we were awaiting buggies we were... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lonetraveller12
CustomerRelationsLCR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Cala Golf, responded to this review

Dear Lonetraveller12, Thank you very much for visiting La Cala Resort and for taking the time to write your review. We would like you to know that we are trying reinforce the rules that have applied for almost 4 years now, because we have recently noticed that some golfers were not taking them too seriously and this would have kept... More 

England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Service in the clubhouse was between slow and non existent both before and after we played. We were on the Americana course and the greens were very poor, when we complained we were moved to the Asia course for the second nine, we were told that Asia and Europa were in top condition. If that was the case why were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
CustomerRelationsLCR, Operations Manager at La Cala Golf, responded to this review

Dear Steve W, Thank you very much for your comments in TripAdvisor. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations in terms of service and quality of facilities in the America course. Our goal is to make each visit of our customer a satisfactory global experience, through personalized attention and customer care in our facilities. While it is... More 

Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016

played all courses at La Cala all greens were rubbish considering the price this course is a rip off.

Helpful?
Thank martynedwards90
CustomerRelationsLCR, Operations Manager at La Cala Golf, responded to this review

Dear martynedwards9, Thank you very much for your comments. While it is true that we had problems in some greens of America due to water salinity and the continuous damage of wild boars, the other two golf courses, Asia and Europa are very well maintained as the general feedback from other customers. We trust and hope that on your next... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

Played La Cala Europa as part of large group. Really enjoyed the course. Generous fairways but just play to where you can see. Greens nice but not quick. One drawback was that buggies were not available until 30 mins before tee time and as practice ground was 1.5 km away that meant we could not use it. First tee on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank itpl
CustomerRelationsLCR, Operations Manager at La Cala Golf, responded to this review

Dear itpl, Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the game but as you well say, there are things that we have to improve. Normally we deliver the buggies to our customers 30 minutes before theit tee time, with the intention that they can use the nearby facilities to the clubhouse as putting or chipping... More 

Travellers who viewed La Cala Golf also viewed

 
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 

Been to La Cala Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of La Cala Golf and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from La Cala Golf staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?