Came here on Sat as it was our 10th wedding anniversary which is symbolised as Tin. Nice large car park and easy to enter attraction. We had called and booked in advance as didn't... read more
Tour Times in half term are from 11th to 25th daily - 11.00 12.15, 1.30...
Tour Times in half term are from 11th to 25th daily - 11.00 12.15, 1.30 and 2.15 - please check our Facebook page. Poldark Mine is the only complete underground tin mine open to the public in Europe and offers memorable atmospheric underground expertly guided tours through several levels of the 18th century parts of the mine labyrinth. One of the oldest educational visitor places in Cornwall, it was founded in 1966 & opened over 40 years ago by the late Peter & Jose Young with the help of many volunteers. Peter coined the phrase ‘a little piece of heaven on the B3297’
Fame came due to the use of the mine by the BBC for all of the underground sequences for the current 2015-2016 BBC Poldark series, and for the original 1977 production.
Winston Graham, the author, launched his twelfth final book in the mine's gardens in 2002 when he was 94, the books are available in the mine's bookshop.
The unusual setting in a wooded riverside South facing demesne filled with birds & wildlife is in the heart of rural Cornwall & forms a gateway to the Lizard Peninsula which is a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). Nearby is the lovely Helford River famous for Daphne Du Maurier's 'Frenchman's Creek'.
The mine, museum & country style gardens are filled with oodles of history, the garden is dominated by an 1846 Cornish Beam engine, the very last to work commercially in Cornwall to 1959, static engines, picnic lawns & even a new bandstand used for performances & Sunday afternoon brass band concerts. The Trenear Mortar, a unique 4000 year old Bronze Age Scheduled Ancient Monument to tinning is in the grounds.
The millrace, aqueduct & ponds date from before Tudor times when the world's first water powered tin stamp mill was established here over 500 years ago before being recorded in the Royal Duchy Rolls in 1493 & are believed to have been created by innovative Cistercian monks experts in early hydraulics and metal working from early times.
The museum has a collection of historic mining artefacts & ancient machinery, its core is from the acclaimed Holman Museum which was gifted in 1979, with unique historic mine & beam engine models & more.
Since rescue & re-opening of the Mine and Museum under new management & ownership in summer 2014 some buildings & the gardens are being restored. New sections such as the history of Methodism in Cornwall are now included due to the profound effect it had on the lives of the mining community, the collection of artefacts includes a complete chapel organ.
Restoration of the mine & the historic underground guided tour has taken priority. The small staff team is aided by friends & volunteers under the guidance of a philanthropic custodian. Volunteers are always made welcome.