We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 440 Aleka Pl, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1420
Phone Number:
+1 866-826-2505
Today
07:00 - 19:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 07:00 - 19:00
Description:

Kayak Adventures has been established since 1996. We are an all inclusive...

Kayak Adventures has been established since 1996. We are an all inclusive quality, guided tour company. I am blessed as an owner to have such great guides and employees. We have become a true ohana (family)over the years. Safety is our #1 priority along with exceptional customer service and an unforgettable experience with your guide. Chris & Thomas have been guiding since 2004, Davey & Andy since 2008, Kahi & Christian since 2010, Matt & Jeremy since 2014. We welcome our new guides: Ryan, Austin, Scott & Nathan. I have an amazing team which also includes our customer service department. When contacting us via phone or email, you will either speak with my niece, Brittany, Sheila, Elana or me. We will make you feel welcome when you visit our shop and check-in for your kayak tour. Aloha and hope to see you soon on Kauai! God Bless! Gayle Mitzel, owner.

PLEASE BE ADVISED AT ANY TIME TRAIL CONDITIONS CAN CHANGE DUE TO EXCESS RAIN IN THE WAILUA VALLEY. GUESTS ARE EXPOSED TO STREAM CROSSINGS, STEPPING OVER ROOTS AND ROCKS ALONG THE TRAIL. TRAIL CONDITIONS CAN BE MUDDY AND SLIPPERY AFTER NIGHTS OF RAINFALL. PLEASE FEEL FREE TO CALL US IF YOU HAVE ANY CONCERNS BEFORE YOU BOOK YOUR TRIP DIRECTLY WITH US OR THROUGH YOUR CONCIERGE. PROPER FOOTWEAR IS A MUST! NO FLIP-FLOPS OR CROCS! SNEAKERS, HIKING SANDALS WORK BEST OR WATER SHOES. GUESTS MUST BE IN PHYSICAL CONDITION TO DO THIS TOUR ROUND TRIP: 4 MILES OF KAYAKING AND 2 MILES OF HIKING. WE WANT EVERYONE WHO GOES OUT WITH US TO HAVE A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE! MAHALO :)

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$93.64*
and up
Guided Kayak Adventure on the Wailua River
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 345 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 292
    Excellent
  • 31
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Kayak Adventures and Guided Waterfall Hike

Started our trip out here with a kayak trip up river to hike to sacred falls. It was amazing, very relaxed with a great guide who was very personable and told us a lot of facts... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 days ago
robertbaker2
,
Texas

Similar Things to Do in Kapaa

Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 341: English reviews
Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Started our trip out here with a kayak trip up river to hike to sacred falls. It was amazing, very relaxed with a great guide who was very personable and told us a lot of facts about the island. The scenery was amazing and the falls beautiful, we would recommend this trip to all.

Helpful?
Thank robertbaker2
Wauwatosa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything about the tour was very beautiful. We loved the combination of kayaking and hiking to the waterfall. Lunch was delicious. Most importantly, our guide, Matt, was awesome!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank KimThies
KayakAdventuresKauai, Reservation Staff at Kayak Adventures, responded to this review

Awesome...sound's like you had lots of fun with Matt. We would like to say Thank you for joining us at Kayak Adventure, and taking a moment out of your schedule to share your experience. We hope to see you again. Have a wonderful day and god bless! Mahalo, Sheila Fernandez More 

Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Guide: Matt Tour: 12/26/2016 7:45am Our Group: 3 couples (4 in their 30s and 2 in their 60s) Whole Group: 4 couples (including ours) and a family of 4 (2 kids being somewhere between 7-10) The whole trip was great but there are two things that we have a unique perspective on that make me say with confidence THIS IS... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia W
KayakAdventuresKauai, Reservation Staff at Kayak Adventures, responded to this review

Yay I'm glad that you and your family enjoyed your trip even though your mother was unable to enjoy the hike to the waterfall. We would like to Thank you for choosing Kayak Adventures, and taking some time to share your wonderful experience with us. Yes we make sure that the safety of our guests are top priority. We hope... More 

Lafayette, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately we didn't get to hike to the waterfall due to weather concerns but the kayaking portion was lovely.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Jacquie D
KayakAdventuresKauai, Reservation Staff at Kayak Adventures, responded to this review

Aww... We are sorry you did not get to go to the waterfall due to weather conditions. Our company makes the safety of our guests top priority. If you return to Kauai, please give us a call! We hope you enjoy your day and god bless! Mahalo, Sheila Fernandez More 

Mukilteo, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The kayaking part was fun, although kayaking in a wide slow river isn't much different than kayaking in a lake. It did get better once we pulled off the main river and things narrowed up a bit. The hike to the falls is, as others are saying, VERY slippery and tricky in places, so don't expect a "moderate walk". If... More 

Helpful?
Thank dajamira
KayakAdventuresKauai, Reservation Staff at Kayak Adventures, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to join us at Kayak Adventures, and for taking a moment out of your schedule to share you experience. We hope to see you again! Have a wonderful day and god bless. Mahalo, Sheila Fernandez More 

Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our Kayak Tour which I made with my friend in December was a huge success. However, I would recommend you not to go with small children or with people who are not well on their feet, because the hike is very slippery. Have fun while booking and wear good shoes:)

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank selina741
KayakAdventuresKauai, Reservation Staff at Kayak Adventures, responded to this review

Thank you for joining us at Kayak Adventures, and taking a moment out of your day to share your experience with us! Yes definitely the trail conditions can change at any time and become very muddy, slick, and slippery. We highly recommend that everyone wear good footwear. Have a great day and god bless! Mahalo, Sheila Fernandez More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I will agree with the other reviews that this is an absolutely beautiful kayak tour and when you finally reach the waterfall it is gorgeous. What they don't tell you is that it can be a little bit treacherous getting there. Extremely muddy and slippery. This is not a moderate hike for somebody who is not used to hiking. There... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lauradavenport
KayakAdventuresKauai, Reservation Staff at Kayak Adventures, responded to this review

We would like to apologize that you and your family for any inconvenience and discomfort you may have felt. Our management team is taking care of the issue with your guide. We hope that you can forgive us for the lack of attention you may have gotten and we hope your daughter is feeling good it wasn't our intention to... More 

Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Be prepared to get muddy but well worth it They guide was great and the waterfall destination is worth all the paddling and hiking.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank vtman2015
KayakAdventuresKauai, Reservation Staff at Kayak Adventures, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Kayak Adventures. We are happy to hear you had a great time. We hope to see you again. Have an awesome day and god bless. Mahalo, Sheila Fernandez More 

Winnemucca, Nevada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice way to visit a bit more of Kauai. Knowledgeable guide Thomas explained so much about this marvelous area. Go early in the day as it gets crowded later on. Be sure to wear good footwear as trail is slippery and muddy. You are bound to get rained on which is an added, inclusive bonus. After a swim in the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Gini C
KayakAdventuresKauai, Reservation Staff at Kayak Adventures, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your day out with Thomas! Yes this time of year the trail conditions definitely get very muddy and slippery with all the rain. As for me I prefer the early morning tour because for one you are one of the first groups to get to the waterfall and it's not as crowded,... More 

Glen Rose, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our intro to kayaking and now we're hooked. Time on the river was fun and beautiful. Our guide Matt was helpful in every way. The hike to the falls was muddy and slippery but we took it slowly. Secret Falls was an inspiring place. This activity is well worth the time and money for healthy active people.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank 878lowellc
KayakAdventuresKauai, Reservation Staff at Kayak Adventures, responded to this review

Sound's like you had a wonderful time with Matt. Thank you for taking some time out of your day to share your experience with us! We hope to see you again. Have a great day and god bless! Mahalo, Sheila Fernandez More 

Travellers who viewed Kayak Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Kayak Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Kayak Adventures and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Kayak Adventures staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?