We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Lahaina Harbor, Slip #12, Lahaina, Maui, HI
Phone Number:
+1 808-667-2774
Website
Today
02:30 - 19:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 02:30 - 19:30
Description:

Stop Wishin' and Go Fishin'! Join us aboard one of Start Me Up Sport...

Stop Wishin' and Go Fishin'! Join us aboard one of Start Me Up Sport Fishing's 42-ft. custom sportfishers and have a hand at catching the fish of a lifetime. We provide all of the equipment you need while out on the azure blue waters of Maui - bait and tackle, ice chests, Coast Guard licensed and certified captains and deckhands with decades of experience fishing Hawaiian waters. The only things you need to bring are sunscreen, beverages (no glass bottles) and a few snacks. We offer a variety of Maui fishing trips including 2,4,6,8 and 9-hour trips. Call us today to book your Maui fishing adventure!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 406 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 196
    Excellent
  • 49
    Very good
  • 23
    Average
  • 43
    Poor
  • 94
    Terrible
Fishing

The Captain and first mate were good guys. The trip out at 6:00am winter time was beautiful. The water and the stars were amazing! The sights that morning might have been worth... read more

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
Grb5280
,
Denver, Colorado
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Lahaina

Add Photo Write a Review

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 405: English reviews
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Everyone understands that a deep sea fishing trip isn't always about catching fish. No one can control that. These guys, however, took it one step further. When booking the trip, all sounded great talking to the captain. First thing in the boat, captain says not much has been biting for awhile. Nice start that wouldn't have been so bad had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve L
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

VERY, VERY, POOR!! This outfit Literally left us siting on the pier. We booked and paid a deposit 5 days in advance, drove over an hour from Kula, paid $26 for parking, arrived at the dock 30 minutes early and paid the balance due as instructed. Captian Tim came over introduced himself and said we would be leaving shortly. 15... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
ManagerLahaina, Front Office Manager at Start Me Up, Sport Fishing, responded to this review

The part you left out of your description was the fact that we have more than one boat & when we realized the other couple booked a private trip we started to explain we were going to put you on a private trip on our other boat for the same price that you paid for a shared trip. At that... More 

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I went out with these guys this am. Once we were on the boat and underway, they informed us that they really did not think we were going to catch anything today. They then said we needed to try and catch some bait first, and if we didn't, well they could guarantee that we would not get... More 

Helpful?
Thank madisondiver
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Captain and first mate were good guys. The trip out at 6:00am winter time was beautiful. The water and the stars were amazing! The sights that morning might have been worth the price of admission. Fishing sucked. I know fishing is fishing and not catching. 1 junk tuna on board. Haven't fished there enough to know better. Captain made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grb5280
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I write my reviews for the fishermen looking for something more..... I fish all over the world and use trip advisor to find my fishing guides. First off the only reason I didn't give them 5 stars was because we didn't catch any fish. That's only part of the experience, but it's fishing and not catching. I mean we couldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert J
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went out for a 6 hr trip and thoroughly enjoyed it. Capt John and Deck hand John (easy to remember!) were very friendly and helpful from the first minute. Fishing in Hawaii is very different from fishing in Florida and apparently it is a lot of trawling for migratory fish. So there are not "fishing holes" to visit or specific... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wiveca H
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ready for a real honest review? Here it goes. I read a lot of reviews about Start Me Up and some weren't fair. We had Captain Tim "Timster" and deckhand Chris. They were great. Both seemed very knowledgeable, friendly, and easy to work with. Tim knew that the weather was going to turn a little warm on Maui and knew... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erik G
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went out this morning for a Half Day and we had a great time - The Boat was So CLEAN and the Captain Josh was super polite and professional and his Deck Hand (John) was great too! We had Two Experienced Fisherman and two that were not experienced and they (Josh and John) made everyone feel right at home -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zeke R
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

I am not sure about these guys. I have been out with them 3 times. I have found them to be inconsistent. Once we went out and puttered around the shore because it was too rough to go where the fish biting. Needless to say we did not catch anything So we drove around, saw some whales and my wife... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel S
North Pole, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

I've never gone deep sea fishing so I dont know what my expectations should be. We went out at 10:30 for 4 hrs, did hi-speed trolling with lures. We didn't catch any fish (no hits) but i know that can happen. After reading some reviews the ppl had some valid points and it's possible the reviews are proportional to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank CardboardCup

Travellers who viewed Start Me Up, Sport Fishing also viewed

 

Been to Start Me Up, Sport Fishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Start Me Up, Sport Fishing and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Start Me Up, Sport Fishing staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?