We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
nice beer garden

popped in for a bite to eat on a Sunday afternoon. The place was bouncing but we found a table... read more

Reviewed 16 December 2018
happy2holiday
,
Cardiff, South Wales
Wales watching!

Needed a pub with a large screen TVs, Wales were playing SA and we wanted a good seat! We started... read more

Reviewed 24 November 2018
kazzy8
,
Royston, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 64 reviews
11
All photos (11)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good35%
  • Average21%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“beer garden”(7 reviews)
“lounge bar”(4 reviews)
“quick service”(2 reviews)
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
Feb
Mar
10°
Apr
Contact
1 Plymouth Road, Penarth CF64 3DA, Wales
Website
+44 29 2071 1824
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
16
21
14
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
16
21
14
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden lounge bar quick service priced drinks steak
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

Popped in for lunch, good, varied menu, l had curry, my wife had chicken burger, good portions, friendly staff, quick service. Excellent value for money!!!. Nice pint of proper beer! , Thanks,😀😀😀😀

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Nicholas W
Reviewed 16 December 2018

popped in for a bite to eat on a Sunday afternoon. The place was bouncing but we found a table easily enough and ordered the steak and stout pie. Cheap food but good for the price

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank happy2holiday
Reviewed 24 November 2018 via mobile

Needed a pub with a large screen TVs, Wales were playing SA and we wanted a good seat! We started in the lounge bar, order food plenty of choice it came quick and hot ... we had off the lunch menu so nothing fancy but...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank kazzy8
Reviewed 14 November 2018 via mobile

Visited here on the 10th November with my partner as I hadn’t been here for a while,and thought it would be a nice treat. How wrong was I. The food beef in my wrap was so tough I could have soled my shoes with it,the...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank ABaos
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

Awful food, terrible service, bad attitude from staff, returned food and drinks to the lounge bar, will never recommend this establishment to anyone. Bloody awful!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank PaulH9813
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

This establishment is so poor ,i have given it 2 stars only because they have sky sports. The food ,service and beer are all poor , the place itself needs a total refurbishment , is is a dirty and rundown pub, that could be so...More

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Paul e
TomGalloway87, General Manager at Railway Hotel Penarth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Hi Paul I'm sorry to hear that you were unhappy on your last visit. We take pride in our food service and beverages at the Railway so I'm disappointed that my team let you down on your last visit with what sounds like sub-standard items....More

Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

Been going to the railway for years for beer and food occasionally. Tonight’s food and last one were not good though. I’ll give food a miss in the future and go to The Lion. Manager needs to sort this out!!More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Richard J
TomGalloway87, General Manager at Railway Hotel Penarth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Hi Richard I'm sorry your recent experiences here did not reach your expectations. Could you please email with your visit dates, times and what food you ordered so I can fully investigate why you were let down on these occasions? Our email is railwayhotel.Penarth@stonegatepubs.com. Kind...More

Reviewed 18 August 2018

A popular venue for the budget end of the market, good choice and quick service, has lots of grans and grandads with the grandkids during school holidays

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank happy2holiday
TomGalloway87, General Manager at Railway Hotel Penarth, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Thanks for the review guys. Glad you enjoyed your time with us over the summer, and hope to see you again!

Reviewed 11 April 2018

Went in for a cold refreshing beverage after a long day in the van with Louis only to find, what can only be described as an establishment which is inadequate and downright disgusting. At this bar, I called out a pompous Stanwell student who’s talking...More

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank jamesmarr2716
TomGalloway87, General Manager at Railway Hotel Penarth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Hi James. Stanwell students always trying to get one up on everybody else. We hope you and your mate Louis are doing ok, and will join us for another cold beverage again soon.

Reviewed 5 March 2018

Sports bar and Lounge with friendly Staff. Reasonably priced drinks and Pub Grub, Plenty of screens for various sports if they clash at the same time. Its a large Pub built in Victorian Times and kept up with modern needs. Beer Garden for warmer weather...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 168daveh
TomGalloway87, General Manager at Railway Hotel Penarth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Hi Dave, thanks for the feedback.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 nearby hotels
Glendale Hotel
120 reviews
.02 miles away
Cefn Mably Hotel Penarth
22 reviews
.61 miles away
The Manor House Hotel
190 reviews
1.05 miles away
voco St. David's Cardiff
65 reviews
1.70 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 80 nearby restaurants
Etc... Penarth
448 reviews
.03 miles away
Bar 44 Penarth
474 reviews
.19 miles away
Paramount Tandoori
224 reviews
.04 miles away
Ocho Lounge
331 reviews
.19 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 18 nearby attractions
Penarth Pier Pavilion
404 reviews
.34 miles away
Glass By Design
38 reviews
.07 miles away
The Golden Lion
44 reviews
.41 miles away
Challenge Wales
13 reviews
.29 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Railway Hotel Penarth staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines