We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Zealand Diving

Features Animals
Warkworth, New Zealand
More
About New Zealand Diving
Welcome to New Zealand Diving! We offer charters and training for all divers, whether you are a complete beginner or an experienced diver. This includes spearfishing charters in addition to scuba diving charters to a wide range of destinations including the Hauraki Gulf and Poor Knights Islands. We also offer a number of shipwreck charters for the underwater rust junkie. Our boat Midnight Diver is a Humber Destroyer 7m RHIB, and is ideally suited for use as a dive charter boat. She is very seaworthy and a fast ridged hull, inflatable craft with full safety equipment on board.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 08:30 - 17:00
See all hours
Travellers talk about
Tours and Tickets by New Zealand Diving

Full-Day Scuba Diving Charter to Goat Island Marine Reserve from Warkworth

Enjoy two dives in Goat Island Marine Reserve on this scuba diving tour from Warkworth. In the protected waters around Goat Island and Tawharanui, you'll have the chance to spot marine life such as stingrays, snapper, crays, and maybe even dolphins or a shark. This area does not have a strong current and is suitable for all levels of diver, but please note that if you are a beginner diver who has logged fewer than 10 dives, you must pay for a dive guide (own expense) in order to participate in this charter.
Read more
7 hours 30 minutes
from US$125.83

Poor Knights Dive Charter

Once described by Scuba-inventor Jacques Cousteau as one of the top ten dive sites in the world, the Poor Knights Islands should be high on any diver’s bucket list! Boasting an array of dramatic volcanic topography and rock formations, underwater arches, and colorful marine life, the clear water is washed warm by gentle currents and is in many areas sheltered - ideal for all levels of certified divers.
Read more
1 day
from US$186.95

Nitrox Diver

EXTEND YOUR BOTTOM TIMES AS A NITROX DIVER

TDI Nitrox Diver course is an entry level course for divers wishing to utilize enriched air nitrox as a breathing gas, understand how the use of increased oxygen levels benefit you during diving
Read more
1 day
from US$179.76

Full-Day Scuba Dive Charter to Hen Island

Charter a private boat and dive into the dramatic scenery of the remote Northland. With this full-day trip that includes lunch in between two scuba dives to Hen and Chicken islands, you’ll have access to underwater topography and sizable shoals of fish. Please note, this tour is for experienced divers but a local scuba diving guide can be hired with this charter.
Read more
1 day
from US$179.76

Full-Day Scuba Dive Charter for Crayfish and Scallops from Warkworth

Spend a full day scuba diving off the coast of Auckland, New Zealand. Experienced divers with at least 10 dives and an open water certification will be able to dive for crayfish and scallops to bring home for dinner. Your guide will show you how to collect the catch; no experience necessary. The dive includes two tanks of oxygen and dives at two locations in the Hauraki Gulf, as well as a light lunch.
Read more
1 day
from US$125.83
48Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Antonio M wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
Good dive tour of Little Barrier Island. Saw some juvenile hammerhead sharks while in the boat but as soon as we got in the water they swam away. Animal, plant life as well as the topography was amazing. Wonderful conversation about sharks and conservation efforts from the skipper (Niel). He was very knowledgeable and was very familiar with the area. Very professional. I would definitely use this company again for another dive!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil11486, Owner at New Zealand Diving
Responded 3 Mar 2021
Thank you for the great feedback and we look forward to diving with you again
Read more
Jessica S wrote a review Feb 2021
4 contributions
Such an amazing day out! It was absolutely beautiful and we were extremely lucky to see common dolphins, pilot whales, Bryde's whales and even penguins on the surface during our experience!! Although we didn't see any hammerheads while scuba diving we saw loads from the surface and could not recommend this tour more!! Such an amazing day out 10/10.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil11486, Owner at New Zealand Diving
Responded 23 Feb 2021
Hi Jessica. I am so pleased you enjoyed the trip! We all look forward to diving with you again.
Read more
Waka Goldsworthy wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
We booked solely for the hammerhead shark experience, however both being experienced divers understood there is no guarantee catching a glimpse of the elusive creatures. Great weather conditions and maybe a tad of luck allowed us to see various marine mammals (common dolphins, pilot whales, Bryde's whales), and avian species (shearwaters, gannets) on our trips to and from the dive sites, and the knowledgeable staff informed us of lifecycles, feeding and migratory patterns of these animals - when asked. We also saw a hammerhead, underwater! There were many soaking-up the sun on the surface and we were given the opportunity to snorkel with them, however they kept their distance.. There were many recreational fishers near one of the dive sites, apparently this is unusual, but given the recent lockdown and great weather it wasn't surprising. Neil and Jacqui were exceptionally helpful, friendly and kind. 5/5, highly recommend.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil11486, Owner at New Zealand Diving
Responded 21 Feb 2021
Thank you very much for a lovely review. Really pleased you had a great time and got to see so much. I look forward in diving with you both again
Read more
Daydream37457291028 wrote a review Feb 2021
7 contributions
We chartered a boat through NZ Diving a couple of weeks back. Initially we were heading to Great Barrier island, but re-routed to Hammerhead bay , Little Barrier island due to weather. Our skipper and dive guide was amazing. He shared information about the geography and maritime life around the area. The boat ride out of sandspit was not rushed, we took our time exploring and enjoyed seeing quite a few common dolphins and bottlenose dolphins. At the bay, there were hammerhead sharks, they were human-shy and swam away when we entered the water, but kept coming back to enjoy the warm weather. Our dive was relaxed, we saw sting rays, puffer fish and various other species. Would go back again, and highly recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: February 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil11486, Owner at New Zealand Diving
Responded 11 Feb 2021
Thank you, it is great to take people out who appreciate what they see & enjoy the wildlife of NZ
Read more
Kristina wrote a review Feb 2021
4 contributions7 helpful votes
Terrible experience. Do not book with them, instead take your custom to Dive! Tutukaka I booked for the hammerhead shark dive. It got cancelled due to bad weather. Fair enough. Rearranged trip the next month also got cancelled due to bad weather. Fair enough. There was 1 date left in the year and I wasn’t able to make it (I live here and it was actually commutable to try another time, unlike a lot of tourists). So I couldn’t make the 3rd rearranged trip, so I asked for my money back. They said no, they’re keeping it. Even though the next trip wasn’t for another year. I have dived all over the world, and NEVER has anyone else taken my money, and not given me a dive. That doesn’t happen! If it doesn’t run, you don’t pay - that’s the norm, but this company was more than happy to take your money anyway. My friend was able to come another time (not written her own review). She has done over 100 dives and done her dive rescue course, and said it is the worst dive she has ever done. She said she felt completely unsafe, old gear, team didn’t look after her and felt if she wasn’t experienced it could have gone very badly. She also didn’t see any hammerheads (not their fault) but said it was a very boring dive without seeing them. If you aren’t convinced - just look at the 5 star PADI rating given to the other company in Tutukaka, not this one. The sites are the same.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil11486, Owner at New Zealand Diving
Responded 9 Feb 2021
Hi Kristina It is unfortunate that you have fallen victim to weather conditions, which, as you have specified are beyond our control. We always try to accommodate people onto other dates wherever possible, even if it means delaying to the following season. However we would like to address the comments you have made. 1. You have NEVER dived with us 2. You have NEVER used any of our equipment. To describe our equipment as unsafe or old is extremely inaccurate To suggest we are unsafe is liable and we will enforce this should you continue to lie. If your "friend" wishes to contact us we will discuss with them their experience. 3. Dive Tutakaka DO NOT run trips to this destination or for the hammerhead experience. 4. We have NEVER said we will not host your trip. We cannot be accountable for weather conditions & the tour is still running with spaces still available for you to book should you wish to do so. Our policies are strict & were available to you before you decided to book. For weather cancellations you have three options: 5. Re-book the date, which is still an option for you 6. Change the tour to a different destination if this helps with date limitations. 7. Exchange the booking for products within our store To summarise you have never dived with us or used our equipment. You have no experience with us operationally and there are several options still available should you take the time to contact us. Regards Neil Bennett
Read more
Previous