We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Virgin Balloon Flights - CLOSED

Virgin Balloon Flights
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
132
All photos (132)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good4%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible37%
22 Apr 2017
“Enjoyed the balloon ride- but there is lot more to it”
29 Mar 2017
“Inflexible Customer Services”
About
Stowmarket is set on the banks of the River Gripping. Flyers can expect to have good views over Bury St Edmunds to the west and Ipswich and the Suffolk coast to the east. Appreciate the beauty of Eastern England on your flight as you take in the...more
Contact
| Stowmarket Recreation Ground, Off Finborough Road, Stowmarket IP14 1JR, England
Website
+44 844 576 7535
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
150
12
7
5
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
150
12
7
5
105
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 279 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Let me narrate the positives first- Superb ride - the wind was just right and we covered almost 4 miles in one hour. The landing was absolutely amazing - didn't realise that we had landed. Great idea of clicking a selfie of the balloon- pilot...More

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank ssarguro
Reviewed 29 March 2017

I have tow tickets that had expired by 3 months so I contacted customer services today. I offered to pay an admin fee to have them extended but they refused and said there was nothing they could do for me. I am so disappointed with...More

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank Helen B
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

I would urge everyone to take their business elsewhere. Do not be conned like so many of us have been. Virgin Hot Air Balloon Flights customer services are rude, aggressive, and unprofessional. So needless to say, you will never see your money again and certainly...More

Date of experience: December 2016
3  Thank Mauvell1668
Reviewed 10 February 2017

When i booked two tickets I specifically asked if there was an expiry date and was told explicitly that "no there was not" so i went ahead and booked. I therefore had no reason to check that there would in fact be an expiry date....More

Date of experience: February 2017
9  Thank kessawessa1
Reviewed 13 December 2016

We were given two tickets for a wedding present. Two years on and we still haven't flown. I even upgraded the tickets so I could fly on a Saturday and stop taking days off from work for no reason. So it certainly has been a...More

Date of experience: December 2016
5  Thank MrSpud1969
Reviewed 11 January 2016

I bought 2 luxury balloon flight tickets for my wife at christmas 2014, when we went to book the flight the very rude person on the phone said we had already booked a flight and didnt turn up so we had nothing to book this...More

Date of experience: January 2016
7  Thank Karl P
Reviewed 2 January 2016

we booked to go onto the hotel air balloon in august in knebworth house but it got cancelled booked to go in septmeber to milton keynes so that was us travelling for nearly 45 min. when we arrived we was 10min late tried to call...More

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Kelly S
Reviewed 22 October 2015

Just had a fantastic balloon experience, flying on the first day I had booked for. Everything worked just as the website said and I thought it was all superbly organised. Russell Collins and his crew were so professional and calm that I didn't feel nervous...More

Date of experience: October 2015
2  Thank emmylou778
VirginBalloonFlights, Public Relations Manager at Virgin Balloon Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2015

Hi EmmyLou We're thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time on your hot air balloon ride from Ludlow. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review of your experience. We agree, Russell and his crew...More

Reviewed 20 October 2015

Not been able to fly due to weather for over a year now. Had bought this for a special occasion long gone. Asked for a refund as i can't fly pregnant now and they said no but offered to extend the voucher dates. For what...More

Date of experience: November 2014
4  Thank radhika p
VirginBalloonFlights, Public Relations Manager at Virgin Balloon Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2015

Hello Radhika Sorry to hear that you haven't been able to fly as yet. As we explain at the time our passengers buy their flight vouchers, hot air ballooning is a weather dependent activity and we simply won't fly you if it is not safe...More

Reviewed 18 September 2015

Virgin is absolutely hopeless, beautiful weather again today - low wind speed and glorious sunshine, but cancelled AGAIN. This is beyond a joke - extremely expensive gift for an anniversary 3 years ago! Extremely rude and impatient man on phone, also.More

Date of experience: September 2015
3  Thank Freya B
VirginBalloonFlights, Public Relations Manager at Virgin Balloon Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Hi Freya, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Hot air ballooning is a weather dependent activity - our balloons travel with the wind and it's vital that we put passenger safety first. Although it may look like a nice day...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
The Cedars Hotel
230 reviews
1.45 miles away
Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel
171 reviews
2.28 miles away
Limes Hotel
109 reviews
3.79 miles away
Travelodge Ipswich Beacon Hill
136 reviews
5.08 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 59 nearby restaurants
Petite Pancakes
80 reviews
.67 miles away
The Shepherd and Dog
287 reviews
.69 miles away
Chinese Chequers
196 reviews
.81 miles away
Osier cafe
44 reviews
.66 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 24 nearby attractions
Museum of East Anglian Life
190 reviews
.62 miles away
The Regal Theatre
81 reviews
.85 miles away
John Peel Centre for the Creative Arts
15 reviews
.74 miles away
Rattlesden Gliding Club
7 reviews
.21 miles away