We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Bleak House Fort Road, Broadstairs CT10 1EY, England
Phone Number: +44 1843 862224
Website
Description:

The summer home of Charles Dickens, where he wrote his famous novel...

The summer home of Charles Dickens, where he wrote his famous novel "David Copperfield".

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 72 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 22
    Excellent
  • 24
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Place worth a visit

great little museum home of dickens and has lovely gardens also the bleak house is also a hotel so you can stay their.

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 October 2016
Suzi_Davison
,
Forest of Dean
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 72: English reviews
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife had a cream tea here on an unseasonably warm day and sat outside overlooking the garden.We didn't visit the museum so can't comment on that but what we saw of the house impressed us and the service was excellent

Helpful?
Thank Mick853
broadstairs
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

Food mediocre, bar and hotel ok. So pretentious it calls itself Bleak House Castle. OTT to say the least. Went for a meal, never again.

Helpful?
Thank martyn h
Bleak H, General Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review

Dear Martyn, Thank you for taking time to review Bleak House, however I am bit confused as we do not serve meals here? Maybe you have the wrong venue. More 

Forest of Dean
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016

great little museum home of dickens and has lovely gardens also the bleak house is also a hotel so you can stay their.

Helpful?
Thank Suzi_Davison
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

I really liked this place. The museum is the same as I remember from 20 years ago. The models and displays are from a different era but that's what I liked. I am fed up with corporate slickness. This is definitely not that. It was very pleasant enjoying a coffee in the sitting room and I would imagine it is... More 

Helpful?
Thank EddieCafe
Bleak H, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for your positive comments. Were pleased you enjoyed your time at Bleak House and hope to see you again one day in the future. Many Thanks Maria More 

Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

we walked up to Bleak House it was a lovely walk with amazing views. We were greeted inside by a lovely young lady who explained about the museum and exhibits. We paid £4 which was a good price and we went off to explore. The smugglers cellars were dark and atmospheric and Dickens study fascinating with lovely views. We went... More 

Helpful?
Thank caroline g
Bleak H, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thanks so much for taking the time to give Bleak House such positive comments. Reviews like this are very much appreciated as we work hard to deliver the best possible service. Many Thanks Maria More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2016

This did seem more interesting in previous years than now, but then I am going back some as I am a local resident. Nevertheless it is still worth a visit to feel the atmosphere and knowledge of the past

Helpful?
Thank patmiddleton18
Bleak H, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to review Bleak House were pleased you was satisfied with your visit and do hope you come again some time. Many Thanks Maria More 

Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2016

For a very reasonable fee we were able to see Dicken's study and (because there were no B & B guests at that time) we were allowed to see his bedroom with most of Dickens' original furniture, although the bed was used by Queen Victoria. We also got to see the tunnels under the house which were used as part... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cadi H
Bleak H, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you so much for such a positive review. Please come and visit us again sometime in the near future. Many Thanks Maria More 

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2016

There are 3 elements to a visit at Bleak House...first the smugglers' exhibition down in the cellar, which contained all sorts of interesting facts about the smugglers and the Revenue men - it's not an exhibition you would necessarily find in a museum , that is what was so endearing about it - it was quirky and fun. Second, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank ANN H
Bleak H, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your positive comments. Were pleased you enjoyed your visit and do hope you visit us again sometime for more delicious cream teas. Many Thanks Maria More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2016

Staff good Stairs to travel up and down. intersting little walk around the depths and heights of this house. Would like to see some more interactive items perhaps . I know it is self funded - but it is like walking into someones home really :) ( as it is .

Helpful?
Thank Tkdreje
Bleak H, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to visit Bleak House, I do hope you visit again some time. Kind Regards Maria More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2016

Paid €4.00 each tour none existent entered via the kitchen This guy told us to go down a dusty cellar and have a look around at some musty stuff He did not know anything about the history or even Dickens come to that. Nothing looked authentic not even Dickens chair mounted on a false platform which Dickens purportedly sat on.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Storky691
Bleak H, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House Museum, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Sorry that Bleak House was not up to your standards we do aim to please everybody, however unfortunately in some cases this is not the case. I appreciate your comments and Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our team works hard to keep Bleak House at a 5* rating which was awarded to us. Sorry... More 

Travellers who viewed Bleak House Museum also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Bleak House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bleak House Museum and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bleak House Museum staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?