We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Huguenot Museum visit

A little gem in the middle of Rochester High Street. Situated in the Visitor Centre on the 1st... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Danny C
,
Rochester, United Kingdom
Interesting worth a visit

Good for adults and children. Access by stairs or lift. They have access to extensive records. If... read more

Reviewed 11 October 2018
Cheryl L
,
Rochester, United Kingdom
Read all 87 reviews
21
All photos (21)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good26%
  • Average5%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
About
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
Dec
Jan
Feb
Contact
95 High Street | Above Visitor Information Centre, Rochester ME1 1LX, England
Website
+44 1634 789347
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
52
23
5
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
52
23
5
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family history the tourist information office refugee situation helpful staff great insight in house little gem rochester high street well worth a visit english history entrance fee gift shop visiting rochester alan refugees persecution ancestors
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A little gem in the middle of Rochester High Street. Situated in the Visitor Centre on the 1st floor, the Huguenot subject matter is something of an unknown to most people and we found it very informative and interesting. The staff were very friendly and...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Danny C
Reviewed 11 October 2018

Good for adults and children. Access by stairs or lift. They have access to extensive records. If you think you have ancestors you can pay for a search. Overall very reasonably priced.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Cheryl L
Reviewed 18 September 2018

This is a very interesting little museum above the tourist information office in Rochester high street. The rooms are small but have lots of interesting detail. There is also a little video featuring the experiences of various people who have traced their own Huguenot heritage....More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Lisa M
Huguenot_Museum, Learning and Community Engagement Officer at Huguenot Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you for your review Lisa, I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to us. Our shop is looking fantastic, we do have some beautiful ideas for gifts. We hope to welcome you back to the museum again soon

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We have been researching my wife’s ancestry for sometime and we came across the Hugeonot Museum in Rochester. We have learnt a lot well worth a visit.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank jduncan2
Reviewed 22 August 2018

Seemed not fully finished as lots of Ikea boxes around and path closed Helpful guides modern museam --looked well set outMore

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Mabel B
Huguenot_Museum, Learning and Community Engagement Officer at Huguenot Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Really glad you enjoyed your visit, the development on the ground floor is going to be a new cafe, hence the ikea boxes. The path towards the visitor centre is open as usual, it is only the side access to the cafe that is currently...More

Reviewed 12 June 2018

I really enjoyed this visit and thoroughly recommend it. The staff are lovely and I found the links between the Huguenots' experiences and present day refugees to be very moving, especially as there were a group of young refugees visiting at the time I was...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank janet162e12
Huguenot_Museum, Learning and Community Engagement Officer at Huguenot Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed your visit, interestingly, KRAN, the Refugee group who visited the museum and took part in a printing workshop with us, came back to the museum during Refugee Week this week to see their work on display. We have...More

Reviewed 26 May 2018

This is a small but excellent museum based in the centre of the historical High street of Rochester. The admission cost also includes an opportunity of speaking to a volunteer researcher who are both very passionate and informative about the Huguenots history. We took this...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank suttszulu
Huguenot_Museum, Learning and Community Engagement Officer at Huguenot Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thank you, it's wonderful to know you made the trip specifically to find out more about your ancestry! Our temporary exhibition also has a variety of prints on display for the Medway Print Festival, adding to our interesting artefacts.

Reviewed 22 May 2018

Nice little museum, upstairs above the Tourist Information Office. Tells the story of the Huguenot's escaping persecution and their settlement in England. Good little gift shop as well. The museum is well worth a visit.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Robert C
Reviewed 16 May 2018

A small, but well laid out and interesting museum with friendly helpful staff. I returned to consult their in house researcher who was extremely helpful, quick and above all clearly had a passion for what he does. An excellent experience.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank ahreeds
Huguenot_Museum, Learning and Community Engagement Officer at Huguenot Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and returned to continue your family research! Thank you for your lovely review.

Reviewed 22 April 2018

This museum is close to the cathedral above the tourist information office in the heart of Rochester. It is a gem. It is small, very interesting and concise. The presentation is well thought out.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Robert C
Huguenot_Museum, Learning and Community Engagement Officer at Huguenot Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our museum, I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Gordon House Hotel
140 reviews
.01 miles away
St. George Hotel
397 reviews
.71 miles away
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
1,099 reviews
1.34 miles away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
419 reviews
1.37 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 143 nearby restaurants
Tiny Tim's of Rochester
823 reviews
.07 miles away
Don Vincenzo
750 reviews
.06 miles away
Fleur de The
236 reviews
.11 miles away
Simply Italian
617 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 86 nearby attractions
Playopolis Board Game Cafe
89 reviews
.25 miles away
Rochester Cathedral
964 reviews
.07 miles away
Guildhall Museum
416 reviews
.16 miles away
Six Poor Travellers House
156 reviews
.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Tina A
6 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Huguenot_Museum | Property representative |
Hello! Yes there is a small charge for the Huguenot Museum as we are an independent charity. Adults are £4.00, concessions £3.00 and family tickets are £10.00. Visitors can gift aid their tickets which gives them entry for a... More
1
Vote