We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Western Isles Cruises

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Office The Pier, Mallaig PH41 4QD, Scotland
Phone Number:
+44 1687 462233
Website
Today
09:00 - 16:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 09:00 - 16:30

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 116 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 100
    Excellent
  • 10
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Wonderful folk on a wonderful boat!

We caught the boat from Mallaig to Knoydart and then did the return journey a week later. We also went out for an hours round trip on a boat from Inverie whilst we were staying in... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 November 2016
Will B
,
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 113: English reviews
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

We caught the boat from Mallaig to Knoydart and then did the return journey a week later. We also went out for an hours round trip on a boat from Inverie whilst we were staying in Knoydart. The crew of the boats are very helpful, friendly and good humoured. They were so great with our children and made them feel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Will B
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Thanks to Jane, Tony etc, great customer service so we could get ourselves, bikes and dog back to Mallaig Will recommend you and definitely use your service again

Helpful?
1 Thank adventurekids
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016

Did not planned this actually. Went to Mallaig with Jacobite Steam Train and took this one hour boat ride as it was recommended by train crew. I was expecting slow loop with some views but we were lucky enough to meet whole flock of dolphins. Amazing.

Helpful?
2 Thank karosu77
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

The crew were so excited to find a pod of dolphins ,they went round all the passengers making sure we knew they were there ,

Helpful?
Thank sylvie551
Glasgow
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Went on the hour boat trip with husband & 10 year old. Was quite busy, so glad I'd booked before we went to Mallaig. Weather wasn't great, which was disappointing, but it's Scotland, we are used to it! The boarding was a tad scary, BIG step from edge to boat, but all fine. I didn't fall in! We sat indoors... More 

Helpful?
Thank mummyboogiechef
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We did this cruise inbetween the Jacobite steam train ride and the timing fitted perfectly. The boat was comfortable with indoor and outdoor seating available. The cruise takes you through stunning scenery and we were lucky enough to see seals on one of the tiny islands.

Helpful?
Thank Kim H
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2016

Took the ferry to Knoydart and Tarbet. Absolutely delightful, loved every minute of it visiting these two secluded communities and sharing something very special. Enjoyed the cheap coffee on the way back. We are sure given the right weather all their services including the evening cruise are delightful. Staff were brilliant.

Helpful?
Thank annsandell
BRIDGNORTH
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2016

Took the ferry for a day out in Inverie and thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The small boat used for this service is more like a speed boat than a ferry. I was told we were doing around 15 knots but it seemed a lot faster - Exhilerating

Helpful?
Thank CLOCKFOSSIL
Fukuoka, Japan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2016

I called to cancel a trip to Knoydart when we were stranded on another island and left a message that they apparently didn't get and refused to refund us. Not very good customer service. Also I couldn't even find any information about their cancellation policy. Apparently it is 24 hours, but make sure you actually speak to someone.

Helpful?
1 Thank David W
Joeblower2263, Owner at Western Isles Cruises, responded to this review

Hi David I am sorry you left mistreated. I can assure you we pride our-self's on our customer service as you can see from our other reports. We do have a 24 hours cancellation policy and you will find this in our terms and condition on our web site under [about us] point 9 in the terms and conditions. I... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2016

We caught The Jacobite train from Fort William to Mallaig having had some dreadful weather on Skye the previous 2 days. To our delight as we approached Mallaig the sun came out & wind dropped and we were treated to some spectacular views of the coast. As a result we made a last minute decision to do this 1 hour... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tony G

Travellers who viewed Western Isles Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Western Isles Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Western Isles Cruises and other visitors
8 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Western Isles Cruises staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?