We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tekapo Bike Hire

12 Aorangi Cres, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
+64 22 046 8302
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
MTB hire

Hired a hardtail MTB size L in arvo. Was the only one available @ bikehirenz.com / Tailer Madw... read more

Reviewed 14 January 2018
Luuk d
via mobile
I had a wheelie good time!

Me and the Mrs took the tandem out for a lake side ride to the hot pools because the Mrs made me... read more

Reviewed 3 January 2017
eyreport
,
Brisbane, Australia
Read all 3 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Hire bikes in Lake Tekapo by the hour or by the day. Late model comfortable bikes, mountain bikes and tandem. Go further around Lake Tekapo and enjoy the remoteness of the MacKenzie country.
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good0%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible33%
14 Jan 2018
“MTB hire”
3 Jan 2017
“I had a wheelie good time!”
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 18:30
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
12 Aorangi Cres, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 22 046 8302
Write a ReviewReviews (3)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Hired a hardtail MTB size L in arvo. Was the only one available @ bikehirenz.com / Tailer Madw Backpackers. Good suggestions provided for MTB trails. During the ride I found out it was worn out gear. Crank creeking. Gear (shark teeth), pinion and chain worn...More

2  Thank Luuk d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake-Tekapo-NZ, other at Tekapo Bike Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Hi, sorry to hear that you had trouble with the bike. You were charged for the time you had the bike which was just shy of 4 hours. The hire is charged for the time you have the bike, not actual riding time. If there...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Me and the Mrs took the tandem out for a lake side ride to the hot pools because the Mrs made me. She was right once again and I really did have an awesome time. I really liked being able to hire the bike by...More

6  Thank eyreport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

I enjoyed bike riding in tekapo so much! Easy to bike around with nice trails!! The bikes are very nice and comfortable for cheap price!!! Must do attraction in tekapo! And i want to come back and do it again ;-)

3  Thank Tomoyo U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Lake Tekapo
The Godley Hotel
552 reviews
.18 miles away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
732 reviews
.21 miles away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
3,619 reviews
.26 miles away
The Chalet Boutique Motel
351 reviews
.47 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Kohan Restaurant
1,083 reviews
.20 miles away
Run 76 Cafe
582 reviews
.19 miles away
Mackenzies Cafe Bar Grill
1,152 reviews
.18 miles away
Reflections Restaurant
692 reviews
.21 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lake Tekapo
2,172 reviews
.39 miles away
Church of the Good Shepherd
1,667 reviews
.47 miles away
Mackenzie Sheep Dog Statue
359 reviews
.47 miles away
Earth and Sky
822 reviews
.27 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Tammy D
1 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Lake-Tekapo-NZ | Property representative |
Hi, for short term hire (a few of hours) bookings are not required. If you require them for a day or longer, then a booking is recommended.
0
Votes
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor