We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Reef Aquarium

Features Animals
Share
Review Highlights
Smaller than Expected - Not as Good as a Sea Life Centre

We visited with a 19 month old after he loved the Scarborough Sea Life Centre during the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
JimboG84
,
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
A lot smaller than i thought it would be.....

A little disappointed today. Paid online to get 10% discount. Arrived to be told it was Toddler... read more

Reviewed 18 September 2018
Cpatz78
,
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 593 reviews
164
All photos (164)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good24%
  • Average26%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“sea lions”(23 reviews)
“feeding times”(14 reviews)
“otter talk”(8 reviews)
About
Enjoy close encounters with incredible creatures from around the world at the award-winning Blue Reef Aquarium in Tynemouth. Explore the drama of the British coast, the underwater gardens of the Mediterranean, the dazzling beauty of a spectacular...more
Contact
Grand Parade, Tynemouth NE30 4JF, England
Website
+44 191 258 1031
Call
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveller rating
94
141
151
101
101
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
94
141
151
101
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea lions feeding times otter talk marine life small monkeys staff were friendly take your time per hour sea front animals talks nemo rubbings crayons dory starfish
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 588 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited with a 19 month old after he loved the Scarborough Sea Life Centre during the summer. The Blue Reef is much smaller and it very much feels like a series of tanks rather than more open pools. There are only a couple of...More

1  Thank JimboG84
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Living about an hour away we visited due to the good marketing advertising the attraction. What a mistake! Outside it looked small and rundown. Firstly for two parents and a 13 year old it cost over £30 just to get in. Then we had a...More

1  Thank Excursion623739
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went to the aquarium with my two young children and thought it would be a interesting, informative and fun day out....I was wrong. We walked around the place in 45 mins, looking at the displays, reading the information and listening to one of the...More

1  Thank Happiness29686008007
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For a relatively small space, there really is plenty to see. I was pleasantly surprised to even see some cute Tamerin monkeys too! You can get up close and personal with plenty different species of marine life, which was great. We also enjoyed the seal...More

Thank debsalain
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely disgusting! This is probably my 4th visit in the last 6 months. Got there today at 10.45am today with my 3 year old grandaughter. Paid just under £20. No seal show. Benches to stop you walking through different areas. The tunnel was so dirty...More

1  Thank Alison2511
Mark S, Public Relations Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Alison Thank you for getting in touch. I am sorry that you didn’t enjoy your recent visit. We close our seal pool for cleaning twice a year to ensure that it is looking its best for our visitors. We ensure we let all customers...More

Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

Went today with my husband and father. We had a slow walk round, saw everything there was to see, took us just under two hours. We saw Ben give the otter talk, very informative!! There was obviously signs up about the smell, but what else...More

Thank Punkbiznitch
Mark S, Public Relations Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thank you for leaving your review and for your lovely comments. I'm glad you enjoyed seeing our wonderful animals and took in some of our talks and feeds. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

We visited in 2013 and had a wonderful day out for my daughters first birthday so we decided to repeat it for our youngest today. We wish we had not bothered. We hung around waiting for the monkey talk and feed which did not take...More

1  Thank melalderson
Mark S, Public Relations Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Hi Mel Firstly I would like to apologise for the missed Reptile Talk, the staff member who was due to do this talk on this day was unavailable and this was not communicated efficiently to our front of house team. When you alerted our team...More

Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

A little disappointed today. Paid online to get 10% discount. Arrived to be told it was Toddler Tuesday so actually would’ve been cheaper on the door. Was actually a lot smaller than i thought it would be. Some lovely fish & animals though. We walked...More

Thank Cpatz78
Mark S, Public Relations Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Thank you for leaving your review. Every Tuesday in term time we run a promotion for parents with toddlers and offer a discount. We do advertise this on our website, but the tickets are only available to purchase on the door. We know, especially with...More

Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Visited here just last weekend and can’t begin to explain how disappointed I was. The smell was absolutely dreadful, it was highly over priced and staff were unhelpful and rude. This place has not changed a single bit since I first came as a child....More

Thank hma1620
Mark S, Public Relations Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Thank you for leaving your review. The smell your refer to comes from our otters. This is a natural smell which they use to mark their territory. We have notices around the area to explain the science behind this and we also talk about this...More

Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

The missus and I went to blur reef with adult son and daughter with the youngest grandbairn. Thoroughly enjoyed the day. Fish, marine life in general, otters, seals and monkeys all very impressive. Staff were good. A little pricey but need funds to feed and...More

Thank David B
Mark S, Public Relations Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Hi David Thank you for your review. I'm glad you all had a good visit. We find both kids and adults enjoy themselves and with our 12 talks and feeds there is something for all ages. Your entrance cost goes towards the upkeep of all...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
The Montagu Park Hotel
15 reviews
.05 miles away
The Grand Hotel
879 reviews
.45 miles away
The Chedburgh Hotel
127 reviews
1.11 miles away
Oaktree Lodge
263 reviews
1.12 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 56 nearby restaurants
Grand Sultan
126 reviews
.18 miles away
cullercoats coffee
177 reviews
.56 miles away
The Boatyard
228 reviews
.54 miles away
Surfcafe Tynemouth
181 reviews
.14 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 20 nearby attractions
Long Sands Beach
609 reviews
.48 miles away
Cullercoats Bike & Kayak
247 reviews
.69 miles away
Cullercoats Beach
87 reviews
.22 miles away
Tynemouth Markets
423 reviews
.73 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
davidwise162
30 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Amelia N | Reviewed this property |
ok?
0
Votes
stephenun
1 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Amelia N | Reviewed this property |
I don't know I bought my tickets there
0
Votes
joanne40402015
6 June 2015|
Answer
Response from steve b | Reviewed this property |
hello, if i remember rightly it should be all ok by now, however worth checking website or perhaps a telephone call, enjoy regards steve
0
Votes