We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gladstone Vineyard

Open Now: 11:00 - 16:30
Open today: 11:00 - 16:30
Review Highlights
12000 Miles

What a drop ! The Pinot Noir, that is. Service with a smile and a wonderful atmosphere in the... read more

Reviewed 22 October 2018
GrayMcGowan
,
Timaru, New Zealand
Excellent Wine

Another vineyard with great wine and very knowledgeable and informative hosts. A little off the... read more

Reviewed 19 January 2018
Joy H
,
New Zealand
Read all 29 reviews
7
All photos (7)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good31%
  • Average0%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
About
Gladstone Vineyard is a family business with an international reputation for distinctive, high quality wines of finesse and complexity. Located an hour north of Wellington in the Wairarapa district of New Zealand’s North Island, our principal...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 11:00 - 16:30
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
Gladstone Road | Rd 2, Carterton 5792, New Zealand
Website
+64 6-379 8563
Call
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
17
9
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
17
9
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no charge off the beaten track wine tasting buy a bottle lovely atmosphere great tasting pinot noir dra lady playground
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2018

What a drop ! The Pinot Noir, that is. Service with a smile and a wonderful atmosphere in the middle of nowhere, seemingly. Nice doggy welcome too. The wines available for tasting were more than appealing and, naturally, one had to buy a bottle or...More

Thank GrayMcGowan
Reviewed 19 January 2018

Another vineyard with great wine and very knowledgeable and informative hosts. A little off the beaten track but very worth a visit. No charge for tasting, but do buy a bottle or two . . . it's great wine!

Thank Joy H
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Such a hidden gem, the lovely Dra gave us an informative and very fun tasting, then showed us around the vineyard where we camped for the night under the stars. "Push Me, Pull Me" wine and beer combo is not to be missed.

Thank Elizabeth M
Christine K, Owner at Gladstone Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Delighted you had a great time. Thanks for coming, and having a Gladstone Vineyard experience Regards

Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Really special campsite that has not been found by the masses. Only a couple of places and we were so lucky to be the only ones there for the night. Good wine tasting in a cozy outdoor setting whilst the kids were enjoying themselves at...More

Thank William O
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Loved this place. Great service, lovely atmosphere and a cool little play area for children so good for families too. Tried the white wines with cheese, yum!

Thank Tim N
Christine K, Owner at Gladstone Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Delighted you enjoyed it. Roll on better weather and more visits Thank you

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Superb wine tasting made even better by our sommelier Dra. The insights into each of the wines was extensive. We will go again.

Thank Edward H
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

Arrived at the vinyard for a bite of lunch, wine tasting with a view to purchase a few bottles. No one was in the tasting room, waited for 5 mins then a chef came out and apologised and started to tell us about the wines,...More

1  Thank Ian W
Christine K, Owner at Gladstone Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Yes we got that one wrong. I apologise. Your tasting trays were being prepared while we talked to the guys. They take a bit of time. We were sorry to see you go. I could make more excuses about how different the week was from...More

Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

We chanced on this Devine place. The welcome was genuine and warm. The wine was superb. It's the middle of winter so no cafe etc: only common sense. The piggy is gorgeous and I'd honestly buy the place if my Wellington home was in Auckland...More

Thank Gogginc
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Stopped in on a friends recommendation and ordered the anti-pasto platter, was not very impressed with the spread and the wine that I ordered was not the wine I received. When telling the waitress about the meal and wines she replied "this is my first...More

Thank BenK3045
Christine K, Owner at Gladstone Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

We are sorry you had a poor experience visiting our vineyard cafe. We had some problems with food delivery but offer no excuse that the platter was not to a good standard. We apologise. The young woman was indeed on her first day at the...More

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Went with a group of family members (all adults) to try their wines and also have lunch. Although I do not drink, apparently the wines were not all that flash and the ones people wanted to try they couldn't. The food looks like it has...More

Thank TrenchermanTravel
Christine K, Owner at Gladstone Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

We are sorry you had a poor experience visiting our vineyard cafe. We had some problems with food delivery but offer no excuse that the food was not to a good standard. We are neither 'scaling back' our operation nor do we care any less...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Gateway Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
170 reviews
5.59 miles away
Masterton Motor Lodge
91 reviews
5.66 miles away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
352 reviews
5.76 miles away
Acorn Estate Motel Masterton
48 reviews
5.81 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 18 nearby restaurants
The Clareville Bakery
226 reviews
3.01 miles away
Cafe Mirabelle
142 reviews
3.34 miles away
balter Bar and Kitchen
56 reviews
3.35 miles away
Gladstone Country Inn
167 reviews
3.14 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 10 nearby attractions
Stonehenge Aotearoa
135 reviews
4.19 miles away
Paua World
64 reviews
3.57 miles away
Johner Estate
9 reviews
2.19 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Gladstone Vineyard staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines