We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stonehenge Aotearoa

51 Ahiaruhe Road | R.d.2, Carterton 5792, New Zealand
+64 6-377 1600
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
A MUST DO !!!!

soooooooooooooooooooo glad we visited - such a gem - incredible, spiritual, emotional - our teens... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
67arda
,
North Shore, New Zealand
I've been wanting to come here for a while

I self-guided, with the benefit of the introductory video and map provided. I overheard some of the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Sweetbett
Read all 126 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Take a tour into the past and discover the secrets of lost civilizations. Although similar in size and appearance to the Stonehenge on Salisbury plain, Stonehenge Aotearoa is not a replica. It is a complete and working structure designed for its precise location in New Zealand. Seasonal so check the website. Generally as follows: Peak summer: everyday, spring and autumn: Wed to Sun, Winter: weekends. Open most public holidays.
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good32%
  • Average15%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“guided tour” (27 reviews)
“worth a visit” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 16:00
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
51 Ahiaruhe Road | R.d.2, Carterton 5792, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 6-377 1600
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

soooooooooooooooooooo glad we visited - such a gem - incredible, spiritual, emotional - our teens aged 19 and 15 loved it - a little piece of paradise with super friendly hosts - will come again and recommend to all - a real Must Do !!!!!!

Thank 67arda
Reviewed 1 week ago

I self-guided, with the benefit of the introductory video and map provided. I overheard some of the nearby tour and would also recommend that. i really enjoyed it and appreciate the effort that went into its construction.

Thank Sweetbett
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your appreciation. It is what keeps us going. Love to see you again on the guided tour. I am sure that you would get a lot out of it.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A rather disappointing visit considering the pricy entry and lacklustre presentation. Wouldn't reccomend.

Thank Samuel G
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

So sorry you felt that way, but appreciate the effort of writing at all. I guess we can't appeal to all.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thought cost was $5.00 for self guided tour according to brochure. All good though. Well worth the visit, but will maybe come back at some stage for the guided tour. Wonder what cost will be? Very spiritual and lovely energy. Would've stayed longer if not...More

Thank BevT89
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for you review. We do appreciate you taking the time. All our DLE's have the date on them near the top, so you can see if they have the current prices. Yours was a VERY old one must have dated to nearly 10...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was looking for wineries but found ourselves here.Lots of lovely nic naks in the gift shop.Very interesting short film on the place and how it all works.The stars are very interesting.

Thank alan h
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate it. I remember you, it was fun meeting you. Your response makes it easier for us to keep going.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came to see this henge today with children 7 and 11 yo. It looked pretty uninspiring from the outside but we were willing to take a risk and go. That is until we were told they had no family tickets and it was a...More

Thank Olusia73
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

So sorry you felt this way but we have kept student (primary and secondary) at the same price for many years to help families. We are totally independent and have to cover all our own costs. If you had stayed then perhaps you would feel...More

Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

To be honest I wasn’t particularly fussed about visiting Stonehenge Aotearoa but once i visited, I was pleasantly surprised! The cost was $10 pp which includes viewing an informative 8 minute video and self guided tour. Very interesting!

Thank Rachel C
Reviewed 15 December 2017

Quite hard to find this place but the views of the countryside as you drive there superb. Fascinating whether you are interested in Astronomy of not. A full scale Aotearoa Stonehenge! The video explains the set up of this feature so well. The acoustics and...More

Thank ElsaMiro
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a response. It really is appreciated. Richard is a talented communicator and both his AV, presentations in person and his explanations "off the cuff" are superb. It is a beautiful place, situated in an amazing spot with...More

Reviewed 20 November 2017

We visited this Stonehenge to do some filming and were astounded by the views and acoustics. Located in the middle of nowhere in Carterton, there is plenty of parking and a movie at the beginning before you go to visit the structure. They hold concerts...More

Thank Barry D
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you for writing a response. We really appreciate it. I remember you and your video and thought it was really good. Yes, the acoustics are amazing. We have a group of musicians who want to have regular jam sessions here so I am really...More

Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

Visited this place because it was on a list of top ten things to see near Wellington. So surprised, Alan was amazing and informative. Come see and learn.

Thank michellehT7973PP
Kay L, Manager at Stonehenge Aotearoa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your response. Yes, many people tell us that they get far more than they expected. Richard is an extremely good communicator and all his presentations are fascinating. There are enough different ideas to catch everybody into the presentation.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Carterton Hotels
Greytown Hotel
26 reviews
6.13 miles away
The White Swan
174 reviews
6.29 miles away
Oak Estate Motor Lodge and Conference Centre
62 reviews
6.68 miles away
Tulloch Lodge Country Hotel
5 reviews
9.68 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Salute
274 reviews
6.26 miles away
balter Bar and Kitchen
37 reviews
5.81 miles away
French Bakery
135 reviews
6.25 miles away
Cafe Mirabelle
132 reviews
5.83 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Cobblestones Museum
72 reviews
6.49 miles away
Poppies Martinborough
136 reviews
9.75 miles away
Paua World
51 reviews
6.36 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Stonehenge Aotearoa staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit