The White Hart
The White Hart
3.5
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles36 reviews
Excellent
16
Very good
8
Average
2
Poor
1
Terrible
9

Izzy E
Uxbridge, UK9 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Friends
I had an unfortunate experience here as a member of staff was homophobic towards my group of friends and I. We attempted to stick up for ourselves against this verbal attack but ended up having to leave as the member of staff left our table and went around the pub, talking to different groups of people, letting them all know that we were "weirdos". She was the one who joined our table and started to talk to us, we made it clear we didn't want to continue the conversation once it got personal, but it kept getting pushed until we were forced to leave.
As a homosexual, this is the worst hate crime I have ever received.
I have hesitated to leave this review as I got in contact with the pub to explain what happened, but have had no reply; the situation has not been taken seriously.

"The Equality Act would establish sex and SOGI protections in public accommodations. This means that businesses open to the public, such as restaurants and pharmacies, would face accountability if they discriminate against, mistreat, or refuse to serve LGBTQ individuals."

No accountability has been taken.
Written 14 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Izzy Firstly my sincere apologies for not responding earlier. Unfortunately I had no access to Trip Advisor until now to allow me to reply. I was pleased that I was able to speak with you on the phone yesterday and can only reiterate that I am so sorry that you had such an awful experience at The White Hart, I can assure you that we have taken the matter very seriously and it has been dealt with. I would welcome the opportunity of meeting you all at some stage in the future if you feel able to come back into the pub and show you that we certainly are not a homophobic pub.and you are perfectly safe here. With king regards Lesley
Written 23 February 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

John C
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Friends
Visited saturday evening with friends,staff welcomed us in and made us comfortable.beer was first rate as was the sevice,also band were very good,def be returning.
Written 26 January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Hannah P
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Friends
Terrible experience will not be returning.
I went to this pub with some friends- we sat outside as there was live music on in the main pub. Outside we were approached by someone who proudly told us she was a member of staff at this pub. After some brief small talk she started verbally attacking one of my friends demanding to know what their pronouns are and ‘what they have down there’. No matter your personal views this is extremely inappropriate to say to a stranger especially at your place of work. It made us all extremely uncomfortable and though we tried to move the conversation on and didn’t rise to what she was saying she went round to other people at the pub saying not to come and sit with as as we are ‘weirdos’. We were just sat talking and trying to have a nice evening. Left after one drink and will never be returning as we were left feeling unsafe.
Written 14 January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Hannah Firstly my sincere apologies for not responding earlier. Unfortunately I had no access to Trip Advisor until now to allow me to reply. I am so sorry that you had such an awful experience at The White Hart and can assure you that we have taken the matter very seriously and it has been dealt with. I have also had a phone conversation with Izzy who also posted about the evening and hopefully have reassured her too. I would welcome the opportunity of meeting you all at some stage in the future if you feel able to come back into the pub and show you that we certainly are not a homophobic pub.and you are perfectly safe here. With king regards Lesley
Written 23 February 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MO A Z
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022 • Family
My name is Asif some people call me Mo, I have been subcontractor at the white Hart, as a door supervisor for a few months, I am currently unemployed at the ripe old age of 42, so I decided to earn money while pondering about the next chapter of my life by working as a SiA operative I was given this establishment to provide my services, all I can say is the management Lesley and Tom who run this historic pub are the most kind hearted caring individuals who have welcomed patrons from all walks of life working class, black, white, rich or poor, they have made me feel valued with a huge amount of respect, they provide a safe place for anyone and anybody who is in need of help or assistance, I know this first hand as Lesly Tom and myself have provided youngsters with help and assistance over the last few months, they work hard and do long hours thus sometimes sometimes sometimes we all find it hard to smile wen we work hard all day but they still seem to be able to smile and give warm welcome to each and every person that steps in through the door, this pub and the people who run this amazing establishment are the salt of the earth, also including the lovely local regular drinkers who prop up the bar, Greg, Tommy, Steph, Adam, Andy, Old man Ray, Kelly, Posh Martin, Jake, and many more as I can't remember all the names this pub and the people who drink in it are kind generous and big hearted, I have only known them for a couple of months so I can say this review is from my heart and head, if you have any doubts please feel free to pop in and get to know this amazing pub and the local people who I can say have welcomed me with open arms,
The white Hart also welcomes people from various backgrounds as I am English with Pakistani background, this amazing community and great pub have given me confidence in people, they welcome people from travelling backgrounds. Black minority and even if you a green little Alien they are happy for you to come in for a drink.
I didn't have to write this nore was I asked to write a review, credit where credit is due, so please come and visit enjoy the music and find out how down to earth Tom and Lesly are.
I have visited this pub with my wife and children and was welcomed by a nice man called Steve who is also a regular customer with a big kind heart, I must mention that I am of Asian background and I didn't detect any animosity towards me or my family. Great people great place please visit. This is all based on my feelings and I am more than happy to repeat myself to anyone and anybody in no way have I been asked to do this review by anyone.
Written 28 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Blacky Tobaccy
Chalfont St Peter, UK5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2022
What a super friendly village pub this is. Only been a resident just over ten years and moved over from London to Chalfont St, Peter but originally from the West Indies. I frequent most nights in The Hart and love the weekends in there because they have really good live bands and sometimes a karaoke. Bar staff are all friendly including the Pot Man Tom and the Landlady Leslie - always make everyone feel relaxed and welcomed and even newbies. Lots of families and people with dogs use The Hart.

I came on to leave a review as I was leaving reviews on other sites for local business's that have served me well and just read a review left by W1330KCnicolas. I found the review to be very dishonest as i was in The Hart the other night when her partner or he himself in the review came in staggering around all over the place bumping and pushing people out the way plus he was very loud, almost screaming. That isn't the behaviour of someone who has moved into a new area and i certainly didn't hear anybody being racist to him and like i stated above i'm from the West Indies originally and i have never been spoken to or abused by anyone in this place of drinking, certainly not of a racial kind. From watching his behaviour he was not just intoxicated but maybe on other substances and the staff asked him politely to leave but he got quite aggressive especially with the females around.

Lovely friendly pub and will continue to drink here for as long as they'll serve me.
Written 20 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Peter H
Liverpool, UK9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2021 • Friends
Visited yesterday, we were in the area visiting friends. This must be the friendliest pub I've been in in years! The landlord and staff were welcoming, asking where we were from and and why we were visiting, and the regulars all came over for a chat. I hope to visit again soon.
Written 26 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Mark S
10 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2019
we arrived at the white hart on a Saturday night to enjoy some (a lot of) drinks and some live music, only to find the pub in disrepair and closed due to tiles falling from the roof,
we could have lost £20 in taxi fare but a good friend took us there and then dropped us in Chesham where we found great live music in the red lion pub had a great time and loads of drinks hic. naughty us
Written 28 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

TheBlade
Derby, UK187 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2019 • Friends
Beer good, service friendly, good banter, sport on the tv, apparently they have fun music nights, and they love my dogs. What's not to like?
Written 20 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your lovely feedback and yes, we do love dogs!
Written 23 May 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alan W
Newcastle upon tyne2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2019 • Business
Land lady "lesley", very abrupt and rude. If you want a betting, races on the TV place then you've got it. Far more better places to go in chalfont than this place. Dont speak your mind as may cause offense and then barred.

Terrible place, and lots of alcohol troubles locals.
Written 6 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Alan We were sorry to read that you did not enjoy your visit to the White Hart and take all feedback seriously. It is our intention that every customer old or new is made to feel welcome and we do try to cater for all sporting tastes showing racing, football, rugby or any other major sporting event. We do not take the decision to bar anyone lightly. However, as I am sure you will understand there are situations which will not be tolerated and in these instances a bar is issued. If you would like to discuss this any further please feel free to email us at publican@whitehartchalfontstpeter.co.uk. With kind regards
Written 23 May 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Peter F
8 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2018 • Friends
the pub is nice inside good atmosfere but paying £3 for a half pint of diet coke was unbelievable, we checked that the bar maid did not make a mistake but she said that was correct
Written 19 December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 36
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

THE WHITE HART: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about The White Hart

The White Hart is open:
  • Sun - Sat 12:00 - 21:30


Restaurants near The White Hart: View all restaurants near The White Hart on Tripadvisor