We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Off The Rails Cycle Tours

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 32 Charlemont Street, Ranfurly 9332, New Zealand
Phone Number: +64 800 633 7245
Website
Description:

Cycle the Otago Central Rail Trail in comfort. Our fully supported 4 day /...

Cycle the Otago Central Rail Trail in comfort. Our fully supported 4 day / 3 night cycling packages feature front suspension mountain bikes, helmet & waterproof panniers, our own superior heritage accommodation in Ranfurly, continental breakfast & afternoon tea, personalised transport & optional sightseeing excursions, all tailored for your comfort and enjoyment. Departures from Sept to May. Customised itineraries, stand alone accommodation, mountain bike hire and transfers also available.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 77 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 73
    Excellent
  • 4
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Great Experience in Central Otago

My good friend Margaret & I recently jumped at the opportunity to "tick one off the list" and booked through Off the Rails outside the peak season. We weren't disappointed! Even... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 May 2016
Julie-Anne C
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 77: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2016

My good friend Margaret & I recently jumped at the opportunity to "tick one off the list" and booked through Off the Rails outside the peak season. We weren't disappointed! Even though we were the only 2 clients on the trail at the time, the attention and service we received was excellent and what I would have expected if I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie-Anne C
Nick S, Owner at Off The Rails Cycle Tours, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your great review. Our business specializes in tours from 2 to 12 and hosting you was our pleasure. You certainly timed the weather just right as the countryside in now covered in snow! Maybe John's anti rain dance works? More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

Last week we cycled the Otago Rail Trail with Off the Rails with another couple. Highly recommend Off The Rails and we all had a wonderful experience. Sam our driver made our trip with his casual wit and local knowledge. Staying in the same cottage in Ranfurly each night was a bonus as we felt we were going home. Judy... More 

Helpful?
Thank nickyedgar
Nick S, Owner at Off The Rails Cycle Tours, responded to this review

Hi Nicky Firstly, thanks for the positive review, we always appreciate the comments our guests make. You are dead right - the trail is very peaceful at his time of year and you can be alone with the scenery. We are glad that you enjoyed your ride and our hospitality. I'll put the cake recipe in with your photos and... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2016

Sam, Nick and Amanda made our Otago cycle holiday a memory we will never forget. Perfect for our group (3 adults + 6 kids aged 8-12). Great bikes, ideal accommodation and great service. Sam was the perfect host and guide. Amanda was a great hostess at our accommodation in Ranfurly and Nick had everything organised down to a tee. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick_H_2069
Nick S, Owner at Off The Rails Cycle Tours, responded to this review

We are always delighted to work with families and we are really pleased you trip went well and that you enjoyed the service. I'll make sure I pass your kind words on to our team. More 

Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2016

Since my last visit in 2009, the business has a new owner. Nick is so dedicated to his guests and looks after your every need without any bother. His knowledge of the local area, including history, was very impressive. We asked for one day of sightseeing and got to experience off-road in the hills and some local wineries.Superb host, great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Comfy-Duo
Nick S, Owner at Off The Rails Cycle Tours, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your positive review. We are really delighted that your return to the region was enjoyable. Having return guests for our business is a great vote of confidence in us. You never know, we may see you back yet again? More 

Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

This is a must do for all Kiwis. Our hosts Sam and Judy were warm and welcoming and made us feel at home. It was great being based in the same place (Ranfurly) for the 4 days, allowing us to unpack on Day 1 and not bother repacking until we left. The gradient of the trail was easy going for... More 

Helpful?
Thank DawnBeamsley
Nick S, Owner at Off The Rails Cycle Tours, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Dawn. We are pleased that you enjoyed the trip. The trust and DOC who maintain the trail are working constantly to upgrade the trail surface and are doing a great job. More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2016

A great experience with a wonderfull host (Nick) who looked after us every step of the way and gave us an experience to remember . Stunning countryside with excellent accommodation and interesting side trips in the evenings .

Helpful?
Thank nmouton
Nick S, Owner at Off The Rails Cycle Tours, responded to this review

Thanks Nico, the side trips are that little extra that we offer and help make the experience and we enjoyed taking you on them. More 

Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2016

An amazing view of the Otago Hinterland - its barren, dry, rocky out crops, miles of flat land contrasted by stark mountains and incredible tunnels and the history of how they were constructed . Such a contrast from anything we have seen in the North Island. An unforgettable experience! Especially loved our visit to Hayes Engineering & Homestead.

Helpful?
Thank Cushla S
Nick S, Owner at Off The Rails Cycle Tours, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed our 'neck of the woods.' We have some great country down here and love sharing it with our guests. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2016

Thanks to Nick and his team for a most enjoyable and hassle free 4 days in your beautiful part of this world. Our group of 4 really enjoyed it. Everything was organised for us, as we all were coming from different parts of the globe. The accommodation was excellent and the girls who looked after us were a treat! Nick... More 

Helpful?
Thank Awatea531
Nick S, Owner at Off The Rails Cycle Tours, responded to this review

Thanks very much for the great review. I really enjoyed getting to know you all. One of the pleasures of my job is meeting interesting people such as yourselves. I will certainly pass your regards on to the girls and to Adrian at the Ancient Briton. Really glad that you enjoyed the trip and that we met your expectations. More 

Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2016

Off the Rails really looked after us and enabled total enjoyment of a fabulous cycling holiday. My friend was injured and unable to cycle but her disappointment was tempered by the helpful, thoughtfulness of our Rail Trail guide and driver.

Helpful?
Thank wolitine
Nick S, Owner at Off The Rails Cycle Tours, responded to this review

Thanks for that Wol. I hope G. is well on the road to recovery. More 

Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

Nick runs a great business. We were made to feel comfortable and welcome. Every aspect of our stay was taken care of-good equipment,fascinating history of the area,dropped off and picked up every day and yummy morning teas with home baking. We had great dinners in various places and enjoyed a night of curling which was great fun. We thoroughly enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Terri1Traveller
Nick S, Owner at Off The Rails Cycle Tours, responded to this review

Hi Terri thanks for that. We appreciate the positive feedback that you have provided for us. More 

Travellers who viewed Off The Rails Cycle Tours also viewed

 
Ranfurly, Central Otago
Ranfurly, Central Otago
 

Been to Off The Rails Cycle Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Off The Rails Cycle Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?